J'aime

Valentino : The Time We’re In

1 year ago by

Valentino : The Time We’re In

Vous avez vu le défilé Valentino ? (sur Internet, Instagram, pour de vrai… ou par-dessus l’épaule d’une copine qui le regardait sur son téléphone pendant le dîner ?)

 Moi, c’est attablée devant des tartines grillées que j’ai pris le temps de bien observer la collection… et ça m’a fait quelque chose. Bon, c’est vrai, j’ai un petit faible pour tout ce qui est inspiré de l’univers de la danse classique, mais au-delà de ces références assumées, c’était élégant, romantique, d’une façon qui semblait assez accessible.


L’idée de superposer une robe ajustée drapée taupe sur un justaucorps décolleté de la même nuance … c’est sublime. Les gros manteaux en cuir portés avec des jupes en tulle délicates, ça paraît être le mélange idéal de féminité et de caractère. Cette fille-là est cool, mais sans que ça soit forcé. Et c’est un look facilement transposable dans la vraie vie, une combinaison, des fourreaux, des manteaux oversize portés sur des bodys… simple, mais efficace. Et sans prétention. Peut-être juste un peu délicat pour aller aux toilettes.

J’ai lu pas mal de choses sur le défilé, et j’ai appris que les créateurs, Maria Grazia Chiuri et Pierpaolo Piccioli, avaient voulu évoquer la modernité du mouvement dans la danse, mais aussi le fait de ralentir, de prendre le temps, de vivre le moment présent. Et dans ces pièces exquises, ça semble effectivement possible…

 

VALENTINO-2

9 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

The Skin You're In
  • The Skin You're In
  • In her words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
Flaws and All

Flaws and All

would you illustration garance dore

Would You?

beauty viva la bush sonia sieff garance dore photo

Vive le Bush!

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Jaws

Jaws

Hands

Hands

Sun

Sun

Body Happy

Body Happy

Stranger Things

Stranger Things

J'aime

Valentino : The Time We’re In

1 year ago by

Valentino : The Time We’re In

Did you see the Valentino show? (online… on instagram … IRL .. over your friends shoulder at dinner while they looked at the show on their phone?)

I finally sat down for breakfast, with a toasted baguette, to take a good look at the collection … and, well, gushed. It’s obvious I have a weakness for ballet inspired collections, but despite all the obvious references, it felt elegant and romantic in a way I could aspire to.

The idea of layering a taupe catsuit leotard with a scooping neckline under a draped taupe body skimming dress… Ahhhh, so lovely. The large, leather coats slung over delicate tulle skirts hit the perfect cord for me of tough yet feminine. THAT girl is cool – without trying. And its really a look that is easily translated into real life, slip dresses, sheaths and large coats worn over bodysuits … So simple, yet so effective. And un-fussed. Apart from trips to the bathroom perhaps.

And after reading the reviews, it was interesting to hear the designers, Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pierpaolo Piccioli, speak to the point that the collection was about not just modern movement in dance, but also slowing down, and living in the moment. And in these exquisite clothes, you just might be able to …

 

VALENTINO-2

9 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

On The Road
  • On The Road
  • In Her Words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
vacation garance dore photo

Vacation

Wide Open Road

Wide Open Road

kazu harry makino blonde redhead horse riding equestrian fall garance dore photos

Run Wild

Upstate team retreat Garance Dore studio photos

Smells Like Team Spirit!

road trip maine neada garance dore photos

Road Trip To Maine

road trip beauty photo garance dore

Beauty On The Road

Southampton Getaway

Southampton Getaway

hitting the highway road trip audrey hepburn garance dore photos

Hitting the Highway

upstate guide travel garance dore photos

Weekend Guide: Upstate