In the Know

Susan Piver on Meditation

7 months ago by

Susan Piver on Meditation

On parle beaucoup en ce moment des bienfaits de la méditation – nous en avons parlé dans différents posts et podcasts, mais j’ai récemment vu le TedX talk de Susan Piver et cela a réveillé mon intérêt pour la méditation. Susan, qui fait partie des expertes qui vont guider notre Retraite Art of Self Discovery au Chili, est écrivain et professeur de méditation. L’entendre parler de sa pratique de la méditation m’a semblé très rafraîchissant au sens où elle restait très loin des aspects un peu délirants des discours sur le bien-être.

Je vous encourage à la regarder, mais pour résumer, Susan explique comment son expérience de la méditation l’a aidée à affûter son esprit, adoucir son corps et expérimenter la magie du monde d’une manière nouvelle. Pour elle, cela tient aux trois choses essentielles que la méditation (même dans une pratique très imparfaite – il n’y a pas de perfection en méditation) nous apporte : de la précision et de la concentration, une ouverture, et la conscience qu’il n’y a rien à quoi s’accrocher.

Ce TedX talk, donné lors d’une réunion sur le développement durable, apporte une nouvelle perspective pour voir comment nous pouvons élargir considérablement nos esprits et notre être simplement en ne faisant rien. Et sauver un peu de temps pour ne rien faire me semble assez tentant.

J’ai trop hâte de rencontrer Susan à notre retraite. Elle guidera des ateliers qui vont au-delà de la méditation et montrent comment nous connecter à nous-mêmes, notre intuition, nos relations, et l’importance de prendre l’habitude de ne pas ruminer des choses. Vous pouvez trouver plus d’informations et réserver une place pour la retraite ici. Je suis impatiente de passer un peu de temps à ne rien faire (et plein de découvertes) avec vous !

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Paris, je t'aime
  • Paris, je t'aime
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
Studio Visit / Petites Luxures

Studio Visit / Petites Luxures

À la Française

À la Française

Lift Off! A PFW Recap

Lift Off! A PFW Recap

A True Home: Edwina’s Charming Interior

A True Home: Edwina’s Charming Interior

Emmanuel’s Paris Apartment

Emmanuel’s Paris Apartment

Chez Moynat

Chez Moynat

camille charriere cozy days paris garance dore photos

So Cozy!

megan bowman gray hero paris restaurant interiors garance dore photos

At Hero

baylee zwart le meurice paris le soir evening night garance dore photos

Le Soir

In the Know

Susan Piver on Meditation

4 months ago by

Susan Piver on Meditation

There’s a lot of talk around the benefits of meditation—we’ve touched on it through posts and podcasts —but recently I watched Susan Piver’s TedX talk and it has sparked a renewed interest in meditation. Susan, who is one of the experts leading our Art of Self Discovery Retreat in Chile, is an author and meditation teacher, and hearing her speak about her meditation practice felt refreshing in that it totally didn’t get into “woo woo” wellness territory.

I encourage you to watch it, but Susan talks about how her meditation practice has helped her sharpen her mind, soften her heart, and let her experience the magic of the world in a way she hadn’t before. She drills it down to three core things that meditation (even a very imperfect practice—there is no such thing as perfection in meditation!) gives us: precision and focus, openness, and the understanding that there is nothing to hold onto.

This TedX talk, which was given as part of a gathering around sustainability, gives perspective to how vastly we can expand our minds and our being by simply doing nothing. And carving out some time to do nothing sounds pretty good to me.

I’m so excited to meet Susan on our retreat, where she’ll be teaching workshops beyond just meditation but around connecting with ourselves, our intuition, our relationships and the practice of letting things go. You can find out more information and book the retreat here. I look forward to doing a little bit of nothing (and a whole lot of discovering) with you!

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!