fashion_winter_florals_NEW_4 copy

Winter Florals

4 months ago by

Model

Tasnim Ahmed

Y-a-t-il un symbole plus profondément féminin que les fleurs ? Sur le plan culturel, artistique et même biologique, les fleurs sont depuis longtemps associées à la forme féminine et incarnent l’essence même de la féminité. Logique donc, que fleurs et motifs fleuris se soient taillés une place de choix dans le vestiaire féminin. En général, on réserve les imprimés bucoliques à la période qui s’étend d’avril à août… Allez soyez sincères, qui n’a pas de souvenirs de robes fleuries pendant l’enfance ? Personnellement, si je n’ai rien contre les fleurs, les vraies (j’adore ça, n’hésitez pas à m’en envoyer !), je dois avouer que les motifs fleuris, ce n’est pas trop mon truc.

fashion_winter_florals_NEW_2 copy

fashion_winter_florals_NEW_3 copy

Winter Florals

Enfin, c’est ce que je croyais. Je n’ai jamais eu un style féminin, au sens « traditionnel » du terme. Je suis sûre qu’il y aurait beaucoup à dire sur ce que ça veut dire, mais pour rester dans le cadre de ce post, disons que la dernière fois que j’ai porté quelque chose de fleuri, c’était une couronne de fleurs à Coachella… euh, enfin, je veux dire, au mariage de ma cousine. Donc évidemment, je ne pensais pas du tout pouvoir jouer avec les imprimés fleuris. Je ne sais pas trop pourquoi, mais ce n’était pas moi.

Bref, je ne sais pas si c’est la nouvelle année ou les collections Automne-hiver 2017, mais je crois que je commence à changer d’avis. Cette saison, la tendance florale hivernale refait surface dans des nuances un peu plus sombres, mystérieuses, et comme nous toutes, un peu plus complexes.

Winter Florals

Tout y est question de contrastes. Un tissu plus foncé et plus épais ponctué de motifs floraux brodés avec une robe aérienne et vive, une veste épaisse aux volumes structurés, ou pourquoi pas une large ceinture corset en latex brillant sur des motifs fleuris plus traditionnels. Quelle que soit l’interprétation de cette tendance, la constante qui prévaut, c’est la juxtaposition de la tradition et de la modernité. Plutôt que de donner une silhouette unie, le motif floral hivernal contribue à souligner les dichotomies qui ne manquent pas d’habiter chaque femme. Une tendance pointue, sexy, mystérieuse… pleine de richesses. Mais j’en ai déjà trop dit, il est temps de la tester vous-même !

Costume rouge, The Row ; Gants à imprimé floral, Wing + West ; Robe verte en cuir, Beaufille ; Col roulé, Brock ; BO vertes, Cult Gaia ; Costume noir brodé, Altuzarra ; Chaussures rouges, Carel ; Blazer noir, Celine ; Jupe fleurie, Sacai ; BO perles, Cult Gaia.

Un grand merci au Jane Hotel qui nous a permis de réaliser notre shooting dans un lieu sublime.

Vous devriez également aimer

0 comment

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Friends!
  • Friends!
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Djuna at Home

Djuna at Home

Pocket PMF: Friendship

Pocket PMF: Friendship

A Night In

A Night In

Bookworms!

Bookworms!

happy thanksgiving 2015 garance dore erik melvin elle amanda chase brie welch emily note neada jane photo booth

Thankful!

friends garance dore illustrations

Mon armée d’amies

40th birthday party polaroids garance dore photos

Party!

laura ferrara style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Laura Ferrara

hérmes necklace garance dore photos

It Takes Two

fashion_winter_florals_NEW_4 copy

Winter Florals

9 months ago by

Model

Tasnim Ahmed

Is there a more profoundly feminine archetype than the flower? On a cultural, artistic and downright biological level, flowers have become synonymous with the female form and the very essence of femininity. So it comes as no surprise that flowers and floral patterns are a hallmark of the female wardrobe by proxy. Sartorially speaking, florals are traditionally thought of as a shoe-in staple for any closet circa April-August. And let’s be honest, how many of us were shoved into some form of a floral dress as young girls? While I have no complaints to register with flowers themselves (love them, if anyone wants to send them over to me that would be great!), I have to confess… I am just not a floral pattern kind of gal.

fashion_winter_florals_NEW_2 copy

fashion_winter_florals_NEW_3 copy

Winter Florals

Or at least I thought I wasn’t. My style has never been “traditionally” feminine. I’m sure there is much to be said about what that means, but for our purposes let’s just say, the last time I donned something floral was that flower crown at Coachella… I mean, um… my cousin’s wedding. Needless to say I never thought a floral print was something I could get behind. For whatever reason, it just didn’t feel like me.

Now I don’t know whether it’s the new year or the FW17 collections, but I have to say… I’ve changed my mind. This season the Winter Floral trend has resurfaced looking a bit darker, a bit more mysterious, and like all of us a bit more complex.

Winter Florals

The Winter Floral is all about contrast. Try a darker heavier fabric with whimsical floral embroidery, a bright and airy dress with a thick structured jacket, or even a glossy latex solid paired with a softer traditional floral pattern. In any interpretation of the trend, the prevailing constant is the juxtaposition of tradition and modernity. Rather than keeping it one note, the Winter Floral highlights the dichotomies that I believe all women have within them. A little bit edgy, a little bit sexy, and a little bit mysterious, the Winter Floral has a lot to say. I, however, have already said enough – time to test it out for yourself!

Red Suit, The Row ; Floral Gloves, Wing + West ; Green Leather Dress, Beaufille ; Turtleneck, Brock ; Green Earrings, Cult Gaia ; Embroidered black suit, Altuzarra ; Red shoes, Carel ; Black blazer, Celine ; Floral skirt, Sacai ; Pearl Earrings, Cult Gaia.

Thank you to the Jane Hotel for letting us shoot in their beautiful space.

You may also like

0 comment

Add yours

From the Archives

#AtelierDoreDoes
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside