FASHION_STYLE_STORY_NHI_MUNDI_ATELIER_DORE_UPSTATE_1

Upstate with Nhi Mundy

5 months ago by

Si vous saviez combien je suis fan de Nhi Mundy. Déjà, au milieu du shooting, elle a préparé un déjeuner digne de mes rêves les plus fous – des gnocchis dans une sauce huile d’olive et ail avec une pointe de sauge, la salade grecque la plus rafraîchissante que j’ai jamais vue et une petite portion d’olives de Kalamata puisque bon, quand même, tout le monde aime une bonne olive de Kalamata salée. Je pourrais passer le restant de mes jours à manger ce déjeuner, assiste à une table avec Nhi.

Elle est pleine de sagesse et très désireuse de la partager avec sa communauté. Sans surprise, c’est d’ailleurs le seul but de ses efforts créatifs dans le magazine Dveight. Elle met en lumière la chance et le mode de vie de créatifs qui ont choisi de vivre leur vie en suivant leurs propres règles, loin des pressions citadines. C’est donc avec amour que je vous présente, mesdames (et messieurs) Nhi Mundy !

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Ton style en trois mots.
Discret, simple, sans prétention.

Qu’est-ce qui compte le plus en matière de style : le confort, la beauté ou l’innovation ?
Le confort à la campagne et la beauté en ville.

La pièce la plus précieuse que tu possèdes ?
Il y a bien longtemps, je travaillais pour Giorgio Armani donc j’ai encore un placard plein de tailleurs du monde des affaires qui sont encore superbes.

Une figure de référence pour le style ?
Pas vraiment.

Des pièces que tu ne portes jamais ?
Je ne porte pas de mini-jupes puisque je ne suis plus une ado. Et malgré le succès des Crocs dans l’industrie de la restauration, je refuse d’en porter. J’évite à tout prix les matériaux synthétiques et je déteste tout ce qui est excessivement monogrammé.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Comme beaucoup d’autres dans la communauté, tu as quitté la ville et tu t’es créé un style de vie radicalement différent ici, dans l’Upstate New York. Comment ce rythme de vie plus lent a-t-il influencé la manière dont tu t’habilles au quotidien ? Ce que tu préfères dans ton style aujourd’hui et ce qui te manque le plus de ton style en ville ?

Dans l’Upstate New York, il faut être pragmatique. On a l’air bête en portant des hauts talons (qui s’enfoncent dans le sol) ou des tongs (qui peuvent abîmer les pieds) ou un prétentieux sac de designer (l’ostentation n’est pas admise). On ne peut pas être trop apprêtée. Je me suis mise aux ballerines J. Crew, aux Chuck Taylors ou aux boots Frye. Je crois que ce que je préfère dans mon nouveau style, c’est qu’il m’a donné l’espace mental nécessaire pour me concentrer sur mes projets créatifs et ma famille (les deux vont à merveille). Mais pour être honnête, j’aime bien m’habiller. Avant d’emménager ici, je portais des talons presque tous les jours et des robes presque tous les weekends. Parfois, cette fille me manque.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story
Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Ton magazine Dveight présente une sélection impeccable et des figures créatives locales impressionnantes. Qu’est-ce que tu recherches dans chaque sujet, et que voudrais-tu que le lecteur retienne de chaque numéro ?
On peut se sentir très isolé en vivant à la campagne puisque tout est loin. Parfois, on oublie qu’il y a une communauté de soutien, avec des gens qui sont en train de créer, d’agir, ou même juste de rêver. J’ai créé Dveight pour mettre en lumière ces gens – ceux qu’on ne connaît pas, qui ne sont pas découverts et qui sont extrêmement talentueux – et pour inspirer les lecteurs, leur prouver qu’on peut être tout autant épanoui, sinon plus, hors de la ville.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Ton esprit entrepreneurial est contagieux. En sortant de chez toi, je me sentais inspirée, prête à créer. Quel élément a été déterminant pour t’encourager à prendre des risques ? Des restaurants aux magazines, tu as trouvé des moyens de rester créativement épanouie et d’avoir du succès. Peux-tu nous en dire plus sur ton parcours, de la conception jusqu’au résultat final ? Qu’est-ce que tu préfères dans ce process et quels ont été les challenges les plus importants ?
Tous ceux qui ont du succès et qui proclament que cela ne tient qu’à eux ne disent pas tout. Je n’aurais pas pu atteindre tout ça sans l’aide de mon partenaire, mon époux et le père de mes enfants, Michael Mundy. Nous formons vraiment une équipe. Il est toujours là pour me guider quand je perds confiance en moi ou que je me sens submergée, il est la source de mon courage. J’ai appris trois choses de lui : Un, suis ton instinct (et en particulier le premier), assume-le et renforce-le. Deux, si tu ne sais pas quoi faire, commence par faire quelque chose. C’est le processus de l’élimination. Tu apprends directement ce qui ne marche pas et ce qui marche. Et trois, entoure-toi des meilleures personnes – tes héros. J’applique ces valeurs à chaque numéro que je sors et à chaque nouveau restaurant que j’ouvre. Mes décisions s’appuient sur mon instinct, je n’ai pas peur de me tromper et je m’entoure de gens positifs, créatifs, talentueux et prêts à travailler. Je crois que mon plus grand challenge en tant qu’entrepreneur est d’apprendre à abandonner.

Look One – Cardigan, Theory; T-shirt, Bishop Collective; Jeans, American Eagle; Shoes, Converse; Field Watch, Hamilton; Bangle, Tiffany’s.

Look Two – Jumpsuit, Vintage; belt, Levi’s.

Look Three – Dress, Zara; Belt, Gap; Sabrina Boots, Frye.

8 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Health
  • Health
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Zero

Zero

What’s So Cool About CBD Oil?

What’s So Cool About CBD Oil?

atelier dore sex

Let’s Talk About Sex

Under the Surface

Under the Surface

Oh, Sugar!

Oh, Sugar!

All is Well with Rens Kroes

All is Well with Rens Kroes

Food for Thought

Food for Thought

time lapse garance dore photo

Time Lapse

better than you garance dore illustration

Better Than You

FASHION_STYLE_STORY_NHI_MUNDI_ATELIER_DORE_UPSTATE_1

Upstate with Nhi Mundy

5 months ago by

Man, do I love Nhi Mundy. Let me just start by saying that half-way through the shoot she whipped up a lunch that my dreams are made of—gnocchi in an olive oil & garlic sauce with a touch of sage, the freshest Greek salad I’ve ever laid my eyes on, and a small side of kalamata olives because, come on, everyone loves a good, salty kalamata olive. I could spend the rest of my days eating that lunch and sitting at a table with Nhi.

She is so full of wisdom and is so open to sharing it with her community. To no surprise, that is the sole purpose of her creative endeavors through Dveight magazine. She shines light on the opportunity and lifestyle of creatives who have chosen to live their lives on their own terms and away from the pressures of the city. So with love, I give you, Nhi Mundy!

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Describe your style in 3 words.

Understated, uncomplicated, unassuming.

What’s most important when it comes to style: comfort, beauty, or innovation?

Comfort in the country, and beauty in the city.

Most valued thing in your closet?

Many moons ago I worked for Giorgio Armani, so I have a closet full of power suits that still look great to this day.

Do you have a fashion muse?

Not really.

Are there things you don’t wear?

I don’t wear mini skirts because I’m not a teenager anymore. And as much as its adopted in the restaurant industry, I refuse to wear Crocs. I avoid synthetic materials at all costs, and absolutely hate anything that is excessively monogrammed.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Like many people in the community, you left the city and have created an entirely different life for yourself in upstate New York. How has the slower lifestyle influenced the way you dress day to day? What do you love most about dressing now and what do you miss most about dressing for the city?

You have to be practical upstate. You’ll look silly wearing high heels (because they fall into the earth) or flip flops (because you could damage your feet) or an ostentatious designer bag (because it’s just not acceptable to flaunt). You can’t be too precious. I’ve adopted a J. Crew ballet flats, Chuck Taylors, or Frye boots). I think what I love the most about this evolved style is that it allows me the mental capacity to really focus on my creative projects and my family (both of which are thriving). But, to be honest, I’m really a dress-up kind of girl. Prior to moving up here, I wore heels almost every day and dresses almost every weekend. I miss that girl sometimes.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story
Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Your magazine Dveight is impeccably curated and features stellar local creatives. What do you look for in your subjects and what do you want readers to take away from each issue?

Living in the country can be very isolating because everything is so far away. Sometimes you forget that there’s this supportive community with people who are creating things, making things happen, or maybe just dreaming. I created Dveight to shine a light on these people—the underdogs, the undiscovered and the truly accomplished—and to inspire our readers and show them that moving outside the city limits can be as fulfilling, if not more.

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

Nhi Mundy Upstate Style Story

You have an infectious entrepreneurial spirit. I left your home feeling so inspired to create. What do you feel has been the key to your bravery in taking risks? From restaurants to magazines, you have found ways to be creatively fulfilled and successful. Tell us about the journey from ideation to final result, what do you love most about the process each time and what have been the biggest challenges?

Any successful person who claims to have done it alone isn’t telling the whole truth. I couldn’t have achieved any of this without my partner, husband and father of my children, Michael Mundy. We are truly a team. He is always there to guide me when I am feeling insecure or overwhelmed; he is the source of my bravery. There are three things that I’ve learned from him: One, trust your instincts (especially your initial one!), hone it, and strengthen it. Two, if you don’t know what to do, then just do something. It’s a process of elimination. You learn firsthand what works and what doesn’t. And three, surround yourself with the very best people—your heroes. Every issue I launch and every new restaurant I open, I apply those values. I make decisions based on my instincts, I am not afraid to be wrong, and I surround myself with positive, creative, talented, and hardworking people. I think the biggest challenge for me as an entrepreneur is learning when to quit.

Look One – Cardigan, Theory; T-shirt, Bishop Collective; Jeans, American Eagle; Shoes, Converse; Field Watch, Hamilton; Bangle, Tiffany’s.

Look Two – Jumpsuit, Vintage; belt, Levi’s.

Look Three – Dress, Zara; Belt, Gap; Sabrina Boots, Frye.

8 comments

Add yours
  • A genuinely inspiring story, just what i needed to read today. Thanks!

  • Joli !

  • Merci pour cette ITW, quelle belle découverte !! Nhi Mundy est très inspirante.

  • Authentic and honest. Thank you for this!

  • I really loved this post . Nih comes across as such a humble person giving a lot of credit to her partner/husband , let’s ask him ? I’m sure that we will find her to be a pillar of strength.
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

  • I loved this post . Nih Mandy comes across as a pillar of strength, giving up her city life for the country life . She seems to have found a wonderful balance . It really needs to be praised as a “city mouse” I don’t know if I could do it !
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

  • My favourite of the upstate girls. Very straightforward. I could move right into her house, which I love. Also loved the closet full of Armani power suits. I would like to see shots of her in each one!

  • Godd read, good inspiration. I know first hand that her restaurants Ba & Me is a great experience. Keep up the good work

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!