fashion_trench_coat_market_atelier_dore_1

The Spring Trench

4 months ago by

Je crois que ma plus grosse erreur chaque année, c’est de croire que le mois d’avril s’accompagne systématiquement de températures élevées. Alors que franchement, ce n’est pas le cas. Surtout cette année. A New York, il fait FROID. Genre froid à mettre une doudoune et des gants. Alors oui, ce n’est pas idéal, mais je suis de nature optimiste : on peut toujours s’amuser avec des jeux de superpositions. C’est là qu’intervient le trench. Ah, le trench. Laissez-moi vous dire pourquoi j’en suis amoureuse. 1) C’est plus chaud que ça en a l’air 2) C’est plus flatteur qu’une vieille doudoune usée ou un caban élimé 3) Ca respire, et ça n’entrave pas les mouvements 4) S’il ne fait que 10 petits degrés au lever du jour mais que ça se réchauffe un peu, pas de problème. Vous ne transpirerez pas. 5) Et qui n’aime pas les trenchs ? C’est classique, décontracté, polyvalent. Que du bon ! Avec l’aide de notre amie et styliste Rebecca Alaniz, on vous présente quelques-uns de nos trenchs préférés pour le printemps !

J’adore ce modèle sans manches signé Phillip Lim. Il fait l’unanimité ici, à l’Atelier. C’est un choix idéal si vous voulez donner un petit twist urbain à un trench classique et que vous voulez expérimenter avec les superpositions.

Ce modèle signé Vince nous a surprises quand on l’a reçu au Studio. Il a ce toucher peau de pêche si agréable du daim, et une teinte brun-rouille qui sophistique une silhouette pourtant simple. Vous sentirez tout ça dès que vous l’aurez enfilé.

Le rose est-il là pour durer ? Je crois que oui. Surtout dans des variations aussi séduisantes que ce trench signé Tibi. Celui-ci, je vous conseille de lui laisser la vedette en l’associant à une silhouette sobre. Pas la peine d’en rajouter, contentez-vous de l’enfiler et vaquez à vos occupations.

Oui, c’est le même trench que le premier. Il nous plaît tellement qu’il fallait qu’on vous le montre deux fois. Et j’adore la façon dont Rebecca a superposé les pièces ici. Une manière ludique d’habiller son trench.

Un modèle pour les minimalistes, et certainement ma pièce préférée du lot. Surtout parce qu’il a un petit côté unique et original, logique pour une pièce signée Mansur Gavriel. Cette silhouette, c’est exactement ma définition du printemps, vestimentairement parlant.

Trench, 3.1 Phillip Lim ; pull col roulé, Goldsign ; jean, Simon Miller ; escarpins, Manolo Blahnik.

Trench, Vince ; chemise, Ganni; jean, Simon Miller ; B.O., Machete.

Trench, Tibi.

Trench, 3.1 Phillip Lim ; chemise, A.W.A.K.E. ; B.O., Machete.

Trench coat, Mansur Gavriel ; Robe-chemisier, Joseph.

5 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

#AtelierDoréDoes
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

fashion_trench_coat_market_atelier_dore_1

The Spring Trench

1 month ago by

I think the biggest mistake I make each year is assuming that once April comes into play, so does the warmer weather. Frankly, that is just not the case. Especially this spring. It is COLD. I’m talking full puffers and gloves kind of cold. Sure, it’s not ideal but I like to look on the bright side of things — we can still have fun with layering. Enter the trench coat. Ah, the trench. Let me count the reasons why I love thee. 1) It’s warmer than it looks. 2) It’s not as heavy on the eyes, compared to your now beat up puffer and peacoat. 3) It’s breathable and allows for lots of movement. 4) If the day starts out at a brisk 39 degrees and ends at a cool 59 degrees you are still good to go. No sweating involved. 5) Who doesn’t love a trench? Classic, cool, and versatile. All the good stuff. So with the help of our friend and stylist Rebecca Alaniz, here are our favorite trench coats for spring!

I'm a sucker for this sleeveless style from Phillip Lim. He does no wrong in our eyes here at the Atelier. This style is ideal if you'd like an urban twist on your classic trench and are down to get a bit more experimental with layering.

This little number from Vince surprised us all when it arrived to the studio. It really has that perfect buttery touch you want out of a suede coat and the rusty, brown hue takes a fairly simple silhouette up a notch. You'll feel all the feels when you cozy up to this one.

Is pink here to stay? I think it might be. Especially with undeniably cool options like this trench from Tibi. I recommend letting this one be the statement it was born to be and keep the rest simple. No need to fuss, just throw it on and be on your merry way.

Yes, this is the same trench as the first. Like I said before, it is so good we had to include it twice. Plus, I love how Rebecca layered the pieces here. It's a great example of how to have fun with dressing up your trench.

This one is for our minimalists and might be my personal favorite of the bunch. Mostly because it feels the most unique and original in it's silhouette, something you might expect from Mansur Gavriel. To me, this look is the epitome of how I want to dress for spring.

Trench coat, 3.1 Phillip Lim; turtleneck, Goldsign; jeans, Simon Miller; pumps, Manolo Blahnik.

Trench coat, Vince; shirt, Ganni; jeans, Simon Miller; earrings, Machete.

Trench coat, Tibi.

Trench coat, 3.1 Phillip Lim; shirt, A.W.A.K.E.; earrings, Machete.

Trench coat, Mansur Gavriel; shirt dress, Joseph.

6 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Friends!
  • Friends!
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Djuna at Home

Djuna at Home

Pocket PMF: Friendship

Pocket PMF: Friendship

A Night In

A Night In

Bookworms!

Bookworms!

happy thanksgiving 2015 garance dore erik melvin elle amanda chase brie welch emily note neada jane photo booth

Thankful!

friends garance dore illustrations

My Army of Friends

40th birthday party polaroids garance dore photos

Party!

laura ferrara style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Laura Ferrara

hérmes necklace garance dore photos

It Takes Two