fashion_essential_the_espadrille_atelier_dore_1

The Espadrille

4 months ago by

Comme je travaille dans un bureau à grande majorité féminine, j’ai pu remarquer que les espadrilles étaient plus qu’une simple tendance. Elles sont devenues l’accessoire incontournable des mois d’été, toujours rassurantes et fiables. Une par une, j’ai pu observer mes collègues prendre la voie de l’espadrille.

Ça a commencé par Alison et son modèle féminin compensé en toile classique de chez Castaner… associé à ses robes ultra-féminines, c’est comme si ce modèle avait été créé pour elle. Peu de temps après, je ne sais pas si c’est une coïncidence ou mon inconscient, je suis tombée sur une vente Soludos, et incapable de me contrôler, j’en ai pris trois modèles (mais de couleurs différentes, quand même)

Quant à Natalie, on sait qu’elle est toujours en quête de son propre modèle. Je ne sais pas ce qu’elle attend parce qu’elle en parle constamment.

Tout ça pour dire qu’on n’est pas les seules à avoir mesuré l’incroyable potentiel de ces chaussures en corde… des artisans espagnols du 13ème siècle nous ont précédées, puis il y a eu YSL dans les années 70 et maintenant, Joseph Altuzarra. Cette modeste chaussure est confortable, polyvalente (facile à emballer, à porter, de jour comme de nuit) et tout simplement irrésistible.

Shop the story

8 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

New York Street Style
  • New York Street Style
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
  • Only the Essentials
  • Style stories
fashion street style madelynn furlong atelier

Madelynn at The James

Do You Uniform?

Do You Uniform?

Elegant Alice

Elegant Alice

Modern Femme

Modern Femme

Something Old, Something New

Something Old, Something New

fashion sissy atelier dore photo

A Coffee Break with Sissy

fashion street style alyssa coscarelli atelier dore photo

Alyssa in the City

fashion street style ally walsh atelier dore photo

Ally in New York

fashion street style anahita moussavian atelier dore photo

Reevaluating the Ruffles

fashion_essential_the_espadrille_atelier_dore_1

The Espadrille

12 months ago by

Working in an office full of women, it’s become very apparent that espadrilles are more than a trend. In fact, they are a very well received and highly reliable accessory that appear warm season after season, ready for their call to duty. And one by one, I’ve watched several of my work comrades walk down (ba dum ch!) the espadrille road themselves.

First it was Alison who turned up in a ladylike wedge in classic canvas from Castaner – in tandem with her signature feminine frocks it’s as if the shoes were made for her. Shortly after, by coincidence or maybe a sign from a higher power, I stumbled upon a Soludos sale and, unable to control myself, obtained three styles (they’re different colors, ok?)

And Natalie, well, we know she’s still on a journey of committing to a pair of her own. What’s stopping her, I don’t know because she talks about them constantly.

But we’re not the first collective to realize the full potential of the espadrille – 13th century Spanish artisans beat us to it, followed by YSL in the 70s and Joseph Altuzarra in current times. The humble shoe is comfortable, versatile (easy to pack, wear, and transition day to night) and just plain cute.

Shop the story

8 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Friends!
  • Friends!
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Djuna at Home

Djuna at Home

Pocket PMF: Friendship

Pocket PMF: Friendship

A Night In

A Night In

Bookworms!

Bookworms!

happy thanksgiving 2015 garance dore erik melvin elle amanda chase brie welch emily note neada jane photo booth

Thankful!

friends garance dore illustrations

My Army of Friends

40th birthday party polaroids garance dore photos

Party!

laura ferrara style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Laura Ferrara

hérmes necklace garance dore photos

It Takes Two