the edit6-pt2-garance-dore-1

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

1 month ago by

La chemise blanche est peut-être une pièce aussi indispensable que le jean. D’ailleurs, rien d’étonnant à ce que les deux se marient aussi bien. J’aimerais tellement pouvoir interviewer Fran Leibowitz pour ce post sur les chemises et toutes ses sublimes variations, ne serait-ce que pour obtenir des pépites telles que « Les chemises ne se gâtent jamais, ce n’est pas comme les pêches » ou « Les Américaines croient qu’un vêtement leur va quand elles arrivent à rentrer dedans, mais un vêtement, ce n’est pas ça. » (deux citations extraites de cette interview géniale !)

Hélas, elle ne répond pas à mes sollicitations. Mais cela ne nous empêchera pas de nous plonger avec délice dans la deuxième partie de notre Edit N°6… La chemise ! J’espère que je saurai aussi avoir quelques mots d’esprit. En attendant, voici Alice, rencontrée via mon site de casting préféré, Instagram ! Elle est française, au cas où vous ne l’auriez pas deviné, c’est une véritable pépite : une designer culinaire qui n’a pas peur d’avouer qu’elle danse comme sa mère !

the edit6-pt2-garance-dore-2a

Photo d’ouverture: Pantalon, Toteme ; Top, Palmer/Harding ; Chaussures, Céline ; B.O., Lizzie Fortunato / Look 1: Top, Tome ; Jupe, Jil Sander ; Ceinture, Céline ; Chaussures, Mansur Gavriel ; Petites B.O., Lizzie Fortunato ; B.O., WWake

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

Look 2: Jean, Levi’s Vintage Clothing ; Top, Tome ; Chaussures, Céline ; B.O. Petite, Lizzie Fortunato ; Earrings, WWake

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Pant, Céline ; Top, Tome ; Chaussures, Mansur Gavriel ; Sac, Céline ; B.O. Noir, Robin Mollicone

Un peu dans l’esprit des pantalons de voyage, la chemise blanche est super polyvalente, sait se prêter à toutes les occasions. Même un modèle qui peut sembler assez classique à l’avant, comme celui-ci de chez Tome, est finalement tout sauf traditionnel avec son dos nu capé et ses liens à resserrer. Je me suis dit que c’était LA chemise à présenter pour afficher sa polyvalence, avec trois styles différents et trois états d’esprit différents.

Et si vous affectionnez particulièrement les rayures ou les petits motifs, sur une chemise, ça passe avec tout. Jean bleu ou pantalon ourlé de plumes passent tout de suite plus facilement avec cet uniforme en haut.

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

Top, 3.1 Phillip Lim ; B.O., Eddera

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Pantalon, Prada ; Top, Atlantique Ascoli ; Chaussures, A.P.C ; Bracelet, Lizzie Fortunato ; B.O., Shinola x Pamela Love

Mais on n’est pas forcément obligé d’associer une chemise avec une pièce plus sophistiquée ou ornementale. Moi, d’ailleurs, j’aime l’ambition tranquille des chemises qui elles aussi ont leur petit détail. Un col subtilement clouté, un plastron discrètement brodé attirent l’attention sur le visage, et vous le méritez ! Autre détail : la boucle d’oreille un peu originale est la meilleure amie de la chemise. Comme la ceinture sur les manteaux d’Emmanuelle Alt… c’est une association qui marche.

Bref, tout ça pour dire que ce que je préfère avec les chemises, c’est leur caractère universel. Et comme l’a dit Fran, elles ne se gâtent jamais. Que ce soit un modèle vintage ou masculin, elle reste cool, et comme tout ce qu’on aime ici, intemporelle.

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

A gauche: Top, Toteme ; Créoles, Robin Mollicone / Photo du haut: Top, Prada ; Pantalon, Etro ; Manteau, Céline / Photo du bas: Top, Palmer / Harding; B.O., Delpozo

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Photo centrale: B.O., Robin Mollicone ; Robe, Merlette / Photo de droite, voir plus haut

7 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

The Skin You're In
  • The Skin You're In
  • In her words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
Flaws and All

Flaws and All

would you illustration garance dore

Would You?

beauty viva la bush sonia sieff garance dore photo

Vive le Bush!

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Jaws

Jaws

Hands

Hands

Sun

Sun

Body Happy

Body Happy

Stranger Things

Stranger Things

the edit6-pt2-garance-dore-1

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

3 months ago by

The white button up may be as imperative as a pair of jeans to just about every human on earth. And it’s no surprise those two go together so well, actually. I wish I could interview Fran Leibowitz for this particular story on shirtings and all the wonderful variations that exist, just to obtain sound bites of her saying things like, “Shirts don’t go bad, they’re not peaches,” or, “American women think that clothes fit them if they can fit into them. But that’s not at all what fit means,” (both of which were taken from this brilliant interview!)

But alas she will not answer my calls. Nonetheless, let’s dive head first into part two our Edit No.6… Shirtings! And hope that I can provide you with a few musings of my own. Speaking of muses – I came across Alice on my favorite casting site – Instagram! She is French, if by some small chance you couldn’t tell, and a real gem who works in food design and isn’t afraid to admit she dances like her mom!

the edit6-pt2-garance-dore-2a

Opening image: Pants, Toteme ; Top, Palmer/Harding ; Shoes, Céline ; Earrings, Lizzie Fortunato / Look 1: Top, Tome ; Skirt, Jil Sander ; Belt, Céline ; Shoes, Mansur Gavriel ; Small Earring, Lizzie Fortunato ; Earrings, WWake

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

Look 2: Jeans, Levi’s Vintage Clothing ; Top, Tome ; Shoes, Céline ; Small Earrings, Lizzie Fortunato ; Earrings, WWake

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Pants, Céline ; Top, Tome ; Shoes, Mansur Gavriel ; Bag, Céline ; Black Earrings, Robin Mollicone

Not dissimilar to our story of The Traveling Pants, the white shirt is limitless in its abilities to transform for any occasion. And even one that appears to be quite traditional from the front, like this one from Tome, is deceptively untraditional with its caped open back that ties for desired fit. I felt this was THE shirt to demonstrate its versatility & how it could be worn three different ways for three different women or three different affairs or three different moods, really.

And if stripes or small patterns are your thing, when they’re in the form of a shirting, they pretty much go with anything. Blue jeans or feather trimmed pants are all made more wearable by this uniform top.

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

Top, 3.1 Phillip Lim ; Earrings, Eddera

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Pant, Prada ; Top, Atlantique Ascoli ; Shoes, A.P.C ; Bracelet, Lizzie Fortunato ; Earrings, Shinola x Pamela Love

Of course, this isn’t to say that you’re always required to pair a shirting with an item of more frivolous details. In fact, I love the quiet ambitions of the type of shirts that have a bit of detail themselves. A delicately studded collar or embroidered smocking draw the attention upwards to your face, and you deserve it! And an inspiring bold earring is the shirt’s best friend. Like the belt to Emmanuelle Alt’s coats, the combination just works.

All of this to say what I love most about shirtings is that they are universal. And like Fran said, they never go bad. Vintage or mens, they are always cool, and like all things we love on the site, they’re timeless too.

The Edit No.6 / Part 2 – Shirtings

Left: Top, Toteme ; Hoop Earrings, Robin Mollicone / Top Image: Top, Prada ; Pants, Etro ; Coat, Céline / Bottom Image: Top, Palmer / Harding; Earring, Delpozo

the edit 6 part 2 garance dore photo

Center image: Earrings, Robin Mollicone ; Dress, Merlette / Right Image, As Before

7 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

On The Road
  • On The Road
  • In Her Words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
vacation garance dore photo

Vacation

Wide Open Road

Wide Open Road

kazu harry makino blonde redhead horse riding equestrian fall garance dore photos

Run Wild

Upstate team retreat Garance Dore studio photos

Smells Like Team Spirit!

road trip maine neada garance dore photos

Road Trip To Maine

road trip beauty photo garance dore

Beauty On The Road

Southampton Getaway

Southampton Getaway

hitting the highway road trip audrey hepburn garance dore photos

Hitting the Highway

upstate guide travel garance dore photos

Weekend Guide: Upstate