fashion_style_story_christine_barberich_atelier_dore_1

Style Story / Christene Barberich

7 months ago by

Ça fait un moment que j’ai développé un gros crush pour Christene Barberich. Et comment faire autrement ? Elle assure dans l’univers des médias numériques, à la tête de Refinery 29, et elle a un style absolument sublime. Sa garde-robe est aussi originale que sa maison (j’ai complètement halluciné quand je suis rentrée à l’intérieur, vous comprendrez pourquoi ci-dessous). Je ne vous parle même pas de sa collection de robes vintage qui sont drôles et originales, et vont à merveille avec sa personnalité excentrique et espiègle. Vous sentez comme j’ai aimé la rencontrer ? Parce que j’ai adoré ça. Vraiment. Je vous présente Christene !

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Ton style en trois mots.
Non-apprêté, éphémère, personnel.

Qu’est-ce qui compte le plus en matière de style ? Le confort, l’esthétique ou l’innovation ?
Je crois que l’un ne va pas sans l’autre, en tout cas pour moi. Je trouve que le vrai style, c’est ce qui émerge quand on se laisse la possibilité d’explorer pleinement ce que veulent dire ces trois notions.

La pièce la plus précieuse de ton placard ?
Je me suis battue pour remporter une robe du soir en mousseline Ossie Clark vintage sur Ebay… j’étais hyper motivée ! Je n’ai jamais rien vu d’aussi parfait, l’imprimé est une sublime référence à sa compagne Celia Birtwell, qui était créatrice de textiles. Même si cette robe a sans doute été créée au début des années 70, la coupe est très actuelle. J’en suis complètement dingue.

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Une figure de référence pour le style ?
Leandra Medine, Amy Sall, Marisa Berenson et Linda Rodin sont mes références absolues.

Une chose que tu ne mets jamais ?
Les jeans slims. Je trouve que c’est super sur les autres, mais moi, je me sens emprisonnée dedans… je n’y arrive pas.

Tu évoques ta passion pour l’histoire et tout ce qui est vintage, mais qu’est-ce qui est venu d’abord ? Et comment l’un a-t-il influencé l’autre ?
J’ai toujours eu une vraie curiosité pour les choses, les gens, les lieux chargés d’histoire… que ce soit les vieilles maisons, les livres, les recettes, les robes. Quand quelque chose évoque une autre époque, qu’on peut imaginer le rôle qu’il a joué pour quelqu’un, que ce soit une robe ou une œuvre d’art, je trouve ça passionnant, presque magique. Mais cet attachement sentimental a un inconvénient, je peux parfois avoir du mal à me séparer des choses, donc je fais un véritable effort pour vider régulièrement mes placards. Cette constante rotation d’images, de couleurs, de choses à toucher, c’est une vraie drogue pour moi.

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

En tant que fondatrice d’une entreprise média numérique qui connaît un développement fulgurant, Refinery 29, tu es un modèle pour beaucoup de femmes. Quel est le meilleur conseil que tu pourrais donner à quelqu’un qui a envie de réussir dans ce domaine ?
C’est un peu bateau, mais je suis pour faire confiance à son instinct, son intuition, quel que soit le domaine, et dans la vie en général aussi. Ça prend du temps, on fait des essais et des erreurs, mais on ressort tellement plus fort quand on fait confiance à sa boussole intérieure ! Une autre chose qui m’a beaucoup aidée, c’est de m’autoriser à poser des questions ou à être vulnérable, même dans des situations stressantes ou intimidantes. Plus je me force à évoluer et à apprendre, mieux je me sens, dans tous les aspects de ma vie. Et je crois que le genre de personnes qu’on a envie de côtoyer dans la vie et professionnellement, ce sont celles qui vous rappellent de continuer à avancer, de ne jamais renoncer à aller plus loin, même quand ça fait peur !

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Black Dress, MacGraw; Yellow Dress, Mother of Pearl; Lavender Dress, Vintage; Shoes, Guilietta; White Boots, Laurence Dacade.

3 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Thank you for this great interview. Totally agree with her on skinny jeans!

    Rock Renee Blog

  • Christene’s sense of style is so much like my own, except I wish I had a fabulous wardrobe like hers, great interview and I totally agree trusting your gut feeling will always put you in the right direction even if you don’t feel like it will at the time

    Polly x

  • Again another great style story. I love vintage style that has it’s original story , and it’s rebirth . The 70’s dress with the faces is brilliant !!
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

From the Archives

London Town
  • London Town
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
5 Carlos Place

5 Carlos Place

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

caroline issa asia typek garance dore photo

Caroline Issa’s London

sketch restaurant london regent street interiors garance dore photos

At Sketch

anya hindmarch studio london garance dore photos

At Anya’s Studio

sheherazade goldsmith style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Sheherazade

Anya Hindmarch Spring 2015 Handbag

Stuck On You

Sandra Semburg Ji Hye Park London Street Style Photo

The Suspenders

Pernille Teisbaek London Fashion Week Sandra Semburg Photo

Long Sleeved

fashion_style_story_christine_barberich_atelier_dore_1

Style Story / Christene Barberich

1 month ago by

I’ve had a girl crush on Christene Barberich for quite some time now. I mean, how can I not? She is a boss in the digital media space, as a founder of Refinery 29, and kills it when it comes to personal style. Her wardrobe is so original, as is her home (which I 100% freaked out about when I stepped inside and you will see why below). Not to mention her collection of vintage dresses are the most fun, quirky pieces I’ve seen to date and perfectly suit her fun-loving, eccentric personality. Can you sense how much fun I had meeting her yet? Because I did. I really, really did. Meet Christene, everyone!

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Describe your style in 3 words.
Un-precious, ephemeral, personal.

What’s most important when it comes to style: comfort, beauty, or innovation?
I don’t think you can have one without the other, at least not in my world. To me, true style is what emerges when you let yourself fully explore what all three mean to you.

Most valued thing in your closet?
Oh, I just went to the mat on ebay for a vintage chiffon Ossie Clark gown — I was determined! I’ve never found one as perfect as this one, and the print is such a beautiful reference to his partner Celia Birtwell, a textiles designer. Even though this dress was probably designed and made in the early ’70s, the cut is so current. I am ridiculously in love with it.

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Do you have a fashion muse?
Leandra Medine, Amy Sall, Marisa Berensen, and Linda Rodin are my current hall of famers.

Are there things you don’t wear?
Skinny jeans. I love them on other people, but they make me feel trapped…I just can’t.

You mentioned your love for history and all things vintage, but which love came first? And how have they influenced each other?
I’ve just always been drawn to things, people, and places with stories… old houses, books, recipes, dresses, you name it. When something makes you think about another time when it might have been active in someone’s life, or what role it played, like a dress or piece of art, I just find that so interesting and magical. On the other hand, this sentimental streak can make it hard to part with things, so I make a regular focused effort to routinely clean out my cupboards. That constant rotation of images and colors and things to touch is like a drug for me.

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

As the founder of one of the fastest growing digital media companies, Refinery 29, you are a role model to so many women. What is the best advice you could give to someone trying to make it in this industry, as well as tips for developing a unique personal style?
It might sound rote, but I firmly believe in learning to trust your gut, in ANY industry and absolutely in life, too. It takes time and some trial and error, but there is such a strength that comes with leaning in to your inner compass to guide you… and trusting that! Another thing that’s helped is allowing myself to ask questions or be vulnerable, even in situations that feel highly charged or intimidating. The more I push myself to keep growing and learning, the better I feel, in every aspect of my life. And I think those are the kinds of people most of us want to be around and work with, the people that remind you by example to keep moving forward and never stop reaching even when it freaks you out!

Christine Barberich Atelier Dore

Black Dress, MacGraw; Yellow Dress, Mother of Pearl; Lavender Dress, Vintage; Shoes, Guilietta; White Boots, Laurence Dacade.

3 comments

Add yours
  • Thank you for this great interview. Totally agree with her on skinny jeans!

    Rock Renee Blog

  • Christene’s sense of style is so much like my own, except I wish I had a fabulous wardrobe like hers, great interview and I totally agree trusting your gut feeling will always put you in the right direction even if you don’t feel like it will at the time

    Polly x

  • Again another great style story. I love vintage style that has it’s original story , and it’s rebirth . The 70’s dress with the faces is brilliant !!
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

From the Archives

Spring Trends
  • Spring Trends
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Spring Trench Atelier Dore

The Spring Trench

embroidery atelier dore

Embroidery Details

Modern Romance

Modern Romance

The Bold Blouse

The Bold Blouse

And We’re Off!

And We’re Off!

Summer Breeze

Summer Breeze

Pajama Party

Pajama Party

Spring Whites!

Spring Whites!

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated