sandy-liang_sabrina-de-sousa_garance-dore_1

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

11 months ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Sandy Liang est une vraie New Yorkaise, qui n’a pas peur de l’adversité de la ville et a décidé de poursuivre ses rêves. Les manteaux doublés de mouton/fourrure qui ont fait sa réputation sont tout sauf girly, malgré leurs teintes pastel, et depuis 2014, elle a réussi à rester une marque confidentielle tout en attirant l’attention des modeuses les plus influentes. Voici donc l’adorable Sandy et sa muse de toujours, notre amie Sabrina!

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

Le fait d’avoir fait ses classes auprès de grandes marques comme 3.1 Phillip Lim et Jason Wu, est-ce que ça permet de mieux savoir comment créer sa propre marque ?
Mes stages m’ont vraiment appris à communiquer avec les gens. Quand on travaille dans ce secteur, on n’est jamais vraiment seul. C’est vital de savoir comment travailler avec son équipe, ses associés, car ce sont eux qui au final vous permettent de concrétiser ce que vous voulez vraiment.

Comment as-tu rencontré Sabrina ? Qu’est-ce qui fait qu’elle est devenue ta muse ? Peux-tu nous en dire un peu plus sur tes sources d’inspiration ?
J’ai rencontré Sabrina sur Instagram ! Je n’aimais pas trop la façon dont les marques faisaient systématiquement appel aux mêmes célébrités/blogueuses pour promouvoir leurs créations, donc j’ai commencé par me demander qui m’inspirait vraiment. J’ai repéré plein de filles vraiment super cools, et je me suis servie d’Instagram (hashtag #sandylianggirlcrush) pour entrer en contact avec des personnalités créatives qui m’inspiraient, qui avaient une histoire intéressante, leur proposer de porter mes vestes et de les prendre en photo.

Avant de rencontrer Sabrina, je ne savais pas si on aurait un bon feeling, … mais elle dégage quelque chose d’apaisant, de détendu. Je me sens tellement bien quand je lui parle. Elle rayonne de bonnes ondes. Et je trouve génial qu’avec son associé, elle ait réussi à proposer un autre regard sur ce qu’on mange, quelque chose qui manquait vraiment.

Tu as le chic pour mélanger des teintes très féminines comme le violet et le rose poudré, avec des matières plus brutes doublées de peau. Quelle femme est-ce que tes créations incarnent et comment la vois-tu évoluer ?
Franchement, ces vêtements sont pensés pour celles qui les aiment ! Je suis curieuse de voir comment les collections vont évoluer avec le temps, puisqu’elles reflètent ce que j’ai envie de porter.

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

Qu’est-ce que ça fait de passer de l’univers anonyme d’une grande entreprise à la création de sa propre marque ? Qu’est-ce qui t’a le plus étonnée ?
Ce qui m’a surprise, c’est que beaucoup de gens m’ont donné un coup de main. Les gens de la mode ont vraiment été très généreux avec moi, en matière de temps, de conseils, d’écoute. Savoir qu’on n’est pas tout seul, ça change tout. Depuis que j’ai lancé cette ligne, j’ai vraiment rencontré plein de gens géniaux, j’ai beaucoup de chance.

A quand remonte ton intérêt pour la mode ?
Petite, je dessinais sans arrêt. Je regardais les Oscar à la télé, et je reproduisais les belles robes que je voyais. Je crois que tout est venu à l’école primaire : moi j’avais envie d’être habillée comme tout le monde, en Gap Kids et Sketchers, mais ma mère ne me laissait acheter de nouveaux vêtements que si j’en avais vraiment besoin ! Comme je n’avais pas le droit d’avoir toutes ces choses, je les désirais d’autant plus, donc la mode est devenue ce truc un peu inaccessible à mes yeux.

Ta collection en trois mots.
Drôle, bizarre, sucrée.

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

12 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

New York Street Style
  • New York Street Style
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
  • Only the Essentials
  • Style stories
Do You Uniform?

Do You Uniform?

Elegant Alice

Elegant Alice

Modern Femme

Modern Femme

Something Old, Something New

Something Old, Something New

fashion sissy atelier dore photo

A Coffee Break with Sissy

fashion street style alyssa coscarelli atelier dore photo

Alyssa in the City

fashion street style ally walsh atelier dore photo

Ally in New York

fashion street style anahita moussavian atelier dore photo

Reevaluating the Ruffles

fashion street style silja atelier dore photo

The Summer Jumpsuit

sandy-liang_sabrina-de-sousa_garance-dore_1

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

7 months ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Sandy Liang is a real New Yorker, not afraid of anything this city throws at her, and more than capable to go after her dreams. The too-cool shearling coats she’s become known for are anything but girlish, despite their pastel hued fluff, and since 2014 she’s managed to stay just under the radar while catching the eye of some of fashion’s most influential. Sweet and spirited, meet Sandy and her neighborhood muse, our friend Sabrina!

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

How has working for several big companies like 3.1 Phillip Lim and Jason Wu helped to sculpt the way you went about creating your own label?
What I really took away from interning was how to communicate with people. When you’re working in this industry, you’re never really working alone. It’s incredibly important to know how to work with your team and your partners who ultimately allow you to create what you want.

How did you and Sabrina first meet? In what ways do you see her as a muse to the brand? Could you tell us about a few of your other sources of inspiration?
I met Sabrina through Instagram! I thought it was lame how all these brands would always reach out to the same celebrities and bloggers to wear their clothes and promote brand awareness, so I started thinking about who inspired me. I realized that there were all these girls who I thought were so cool, so I used my Instagram series (called #sandylianggirlcrush) to reach out to women in the creative industry who I found inspiring, who had an interesting story, to wear one of my jackets so i could take a quick photo of them.

Before meeting her I honestly had no idea what she was going to be like – she just has the most calming and relaxed vibes. I feel so good when I talk to her. She’s so smiley. And I think it’s amazing how she and her partner have been able to create a distinct perspective of food that was so lacking.

You have a knack for mixing feminine colors like periwinkle and powder pink tweeds with tough, shearling trimmed outerwear. Who is the woman you envision in this combination and how do you see her evolving ?
The woman is whoever appreciates the clothes! I’m interested to see how the collections will evolve over time since they are very much a reflection of what I want to be wearing.

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Sandy Liang

How has the process of going from behind the scenes at a corporate company to venturing out on your own as an emerging designer been? What has surprised you the most?
What has surprised me the most is how willing people are to help. I am constantly stunned by how generous people in this industry have been to me in terms of giving me their time, advice, attention. Just knowing that someone has your back makes a whole difference. I have met too many people since starting the line who are just totally amazing. I’ve been super fortunate.

When did you first know you had an interest in fashion?
I grew up drawing all the time. I would sit in front of the TV during the Oscars or award shows like that and just sketch the dresses. I think my interest in fashion really grew when I started elementary school and I wanted to dress like all the other cool girls in Gap kids and Sketchers, but my mom wouldn’t let me buy new clothes unless I absolutely needed them! The fact that I wasn’t allowed to have these things made me desire them that much more, which made fashion into this unattainable thing for me.

Describe your collection in three words.
Funny Kooky Gooey.

sandy liang sabrina de sousa garance dore photo

12 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

On The Road
  • On The Road
  • In Her Words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
vacation garance dore photo

Vacation

Wide Open Road

Wide Open Road

kazu harry makino blonde redhead horse riding equestrian fall garance dore photos

Run Wild

Upstate team retreat Garance Dore studio photos

Smells Like Team Spirit!

road trip maine neada garance dore photos

Road Trip To Maine

road trip beauty photo garance dore

Beauty On The Road

Southampton Getaway

Southampton Getaway

hitting the highway road trip audrey hepburn garance dore photos

Hitting the Highway

upstate guide travel garance dore photos

Weekend Guide: Upstate