fashion_shirting_market_story_atelier_dore_1

Statement Shirts

1 month ago by

Dans la mode comme dans la vie, l’inspiration vient parfois de là où on ne l’attend pas. Pour mon vestiaire automnal, mes influences sont en général Ali McGraw dans Love Story, Diane Keaton dans Annie Hall ou Jane Birkin dans… à peu près tout.

Mais cette année, j’ai découvert l’icône absolue du vestiaire automnal : Jerry Seinfeld et sa chemise froufroutante à jabot… Je suis sûre que vous vous dites : « Quoi ? » ou que certains d’entre vous pensent même « Qui ça ? »… En tout cas, si vous ne connaissez pas cette référence mythique, je vous invite tout de suite à ouvrir un nouvel onglet Google.

Le truc avec cette fameuse chemise de Jerry Seinfeld, c’est que c’est la chemise qui FAIT la tenue. On ne voit qu’elle. Du coup, je me suis dit : au lieu de mettre une chemise classique toute simple (une blouse sobre, un chemisier, etc.) pourquoi ne pas en choisir une interprétation plus originale ?

La blouse, c’est le symbole intemporel de l’élégance, du style et du confort. Si ces trois notions-clés sont mon leitmotiv vestimentaire, je me dis que parfois, ça peut être sympa d’aller un peu plus loin. D’adopter une silhouette classique, mais dans un imprimé ou un tissu un peu inattendu. Cette version noire en velours, je l’adore. Classique, sexy et très très cool.

Alors oui, le chemisier blanc est un classique, mais si vous êtes d’humeur joueuse cet automne, lancez-vous dans sa version décalée ! Ce modèle déconstruit-reconstruit est une variation contemporaine de cet incontournable. Avec votre jean préféré, ce sera une silhouette à la fois simple et pointue, naturellement.

S’approprier la vieille chemise en denim de son père ou la chemise préférée de son boyfriend, ça a un petit côté réconfortant. Je vous ai parlé de ma passion pour Annie Hall ? Cette année, je me lance dans une nouvelle tendance : la chemise classique avec une touche féminine. Tout est dans les détails avec cette version décalée du vestiaire masculin !

Bon, vous voyez… Les chemises se réinventent sans cesse de la façon la plus ludique qui soit ! Blouse féminine améliorée, chemise déstructurée, classique réinventé ou vestiaire masculin détourné (et je ne parle pas seulement d’emprunter la chemise de sa moitié)… il existe une infinie variété de manières de transformer un simple chemisier en pièce maîtresse d’une tenue. Et en plus, vous gagnerez du temps le matin (ne me remerciez pas !)

___________

Opening image: Printed Shirt, Edeltrud Hofmann ; Jeans, Frame Denim / Black Shirt, Frame Denim ; White Shirt, Johanna Ortiz ; Blue Shirt, Snowe Xue Gao

7 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

In her words
  • In her words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham

fashion_shirting_market_story_atelier_dore_1

Statement Shirts

10 months ago by

In fashion, and as is also true in life, inspiration can be found in the most unexpected places. For fall dressing, my usual influences are the likes of Ali Macgraw in Love Story, Diane Keaton in Annie Hall, or Jane Birkin in well…anything.

This season however, I have discovered the ultimate Fall dressing icon: Jerry Seinfeld, vis-à-vis the classic “Puffy Shirt” episode. I’m sure a lot of you are thinking, “What?” Maybe some of you are even thinking, “Who?” Well if you’re not familiar with this iconic image, I recommend popping open another tab and Googling immediately.

The thing about Jerry Seinfeld and his puffy shirt that I find to be particularly genius is that the shirt IS the outfit. It is the statement. Which got me thinking – instead of using a classic piece of shirting (a simple blouse, a button down, etc.), as an underpinning for the statement pieces of Fall, why not try it as THE statement piece?

The blouse is a timeless symbol of elegance, style and ease. While these three traits are my usual sartorial litmus test, sometimes it's fun to push the boundaries. Try a classic silhouette in a bold print or fabric; this black velvet is a personal favorite. It's a little bit classic, a little bit sexy, and very, very cool.

Sure the white shirt is a classic, but if you’re feeling a little daring this fall, put down the Pumpkin Spice Latte and try something new! The deconstructed-and-then-re-constructed-again white shirt is an updated twist on an iconic fall trend. Pair it with your favorite jeans and you have an effortlessly cool new look.

There are few things cozier than throwing on your dad's old denim shirt or your boyfriend's favorite button down. As the leaves change, there's nothing better than slipping into a little seasonal menswear. Did I mention my Annie Hall obsession? This year I'm branching out and trying a new take: the classic shirt but with a feminine touch. It's all in the details with this modern menswear update!

See? Shirting has been reimagined in so many fun ways! Whether it’s the new and improved lady-like blouse, the deconstructed shirt, the re-imagined classic, or a twist on menswear (and I’m not talking just borrowing your boyfriend’s shirt); there are countless ways to take your shirting from being a layer, to being the only thing you need to think about when leaving the house. Saved you five extra minutes in the morning (you’re welcome!)

___________

Opening image: Printed Shirt, Edeltrud Hofmann ; Jeans, Frame Denim / Black Shirt, Frame Denim ; White Shirt, Johanna Ortiz ; Blue Shirt, Snowe Xue Gao

7 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

#AtelierDoreDoes
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside