fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_11

Mighty Metallics

4 months ago by

Model

Mekdes Mersha

On dit toujours que les enfants sont attirés par ce qui brille mais alors que la tendance métallique s’invite dans notre vestiaire d’hiver, il est évident que les grands ne sont pas non plus insensibles. Moi qui mise d’ordinaire sur une gamme monochromatique, cet hiver, j’ai envie de shiny, de brillant, d’étincelant… pour une fois, je suis en phase avec l’esprit décos de Noël.

Mighty Metallics

Top, Bottega Veneta; Pants, Proenza Schouler; Jacket, Acne Studios; Rings, Eva Fehren

Oui, je sais, c’est un peu premier degré, tout ce glitter avant les fêtes. C’est vrai qu’à cette période de l’année, on a le droit de porter sa pièce la moins sobre, quelle que soit l’occasion. Sérieusement, chaque année, ma mère (coucou, maman !) essaie d’éclipser le sapin de Noël, lors de notre fête rituelle. Moi je dis, plutôt que de réserver cette tendance aux fêtes confidentielles, osons l’étrenner dehors, dans la rue… Ces pièces glitter en valent vraiment la peine !

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_3

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_4

Coat, Sies Marjan; Dress, Rachel Comey; Boots, Tabitha Simmons; Earrings, Ara Vartanian; Rings, Eva Fehren

Avec le concours de la sublime Mekdes, voici la tendance Métallique à porter au quotidien. Dans notre frénésie, on a failli la shooter sur un panneau photovoltaïque (ce qui lui irait certainement très bien aussi).

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_5

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_6

Mighty Metallics

Dress, 3.1 Phillip Lim; Jacket, Off White; Circle Earring, Jenny Bird; Hoop Earring, Sophie Buhai; Ring, Eva Fehren

Règles de base : les couleurs. Associer ses pièces les plus flashy à des teintes sourdes, du rayé noir et blanc, ou des coupes classiques en denim… ça tempère un peu l’éclat tout en le mettant en valeur. Autre astuce : la superposition ! (très appréciable quand il fait un froid polaire.) Ajouter des couches sous ou sur la pièce glitter sophistiquera un peu plus votre look.

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_8

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_9

Top, Adam Selman; Jacket, Sacai;
Earring, Ara Vartanian

En tout cas, quel que soit votre style, que vous osiez la tendance par touches discrètes ou que vous y alliez carrément, elle est pour tout le monde. Alors adoptez ces silhouettes festives dans la rue, en plein jour, puis emmenez-les en vacances pour vos soirées de fête !

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_2_bw

Mighty Metallics

Puffer, 3.1 Phillip Lim; Shirt, Iro; Skirt, Proenza Schouler; Shoes, Alchimia Di Ballin; Earrings, Jenny Bird

13 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Spring Trends
  • Spring Trends
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Spring Trench Atelier Dore

The Spring Trench

embroidery atelier dore

Embroidery Details

Modern Romance

Modern Romance

The Bold Blouse

The Bold Blouse

And We’re Off!

And We’re Off!

Summer Breeze

Summer Breeze

Pajama Party

Pajama Party

Spring Whites!

Spring Whites!

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_11

Mighty Metallics

4 months ago by

Model

Mekdes Mersha

I’m sure you’ve heard the old adage that children are easily distracted by shiny things. But as the metallic trend takes over Winter dressing, it turns out it’s not only children. Despite owning a primarily monochromatic closet, this season has me wanting all the shiny and shimmery things – literally transforming me into a kid in the proverbial candy store.

Mighty Metallics

Top, Bottega Veneta; Pants, Proenza Schouler; Jacket, Acne Studios; Rings, Eva Fehren

Now I know it seems a bit obvious…glitz and glitter during the holiday season. After all, it is widely acceptable to wear the loudest piece of clothing you own to whatever fetes you may have on the calendar this time of year. Seriously, every year my own mother (hi mom!) tries to outshine the Christmas tree itself at our annual holiday party. But rather than keeping this trend indoors at the party, I say take it to the street! The sparkly pieces of the season are just too good not to.

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_3

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_4

Coat, Sies Marjan; Dress, Rachel Comey; Boots, Tabitha Simmons; Earrings, Ara Vartanian; Rings, Eva Fehren

With the help of the absolutely stunning Mekdes, we bring you Metallics for the every day. We stopped short of basically just putting her in a solar panel (even though she probably could get away with that too).

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_5

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_6

Mighty Metallics

Dress, 3.1 Phillip Lim; Jacket, Off White; Circle Earring, Jenny Bird; Hoop Earring, Sophie Buhai; Ring, Eva Fehren

As a basic rule of thumb, it is all about color. I find pairing your most lustrous pieces with a subtle earth tone, a black and white stripe, or a classic piece of denim tones down the drama but maintains the hint of sparkle. Another helpful hint: layering! (Also super helpful because it is about to be freezing.) Layering over or under your metallic piece will help give depth to your look.

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_8

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_9

Top, Adam Selman; Jacket, Sacai;
Earring, Ara Vartanian

All in all and whatever your style, whether traditionally bold or mostly subtle, there is a way to wear this trend for you. Rock these festive looks on the street in broad daylight and take it on into the night for your holiday soirees.

fashion_metallics_atelier_dore_2_bw

Mighty Metallics

Puffer, 3.1 Phillip Lim; Shirt, Iro; Skirt, Proenza Schouler; Shoes, Alchimia Di Ballin; Earrings, Jenny Bird

13 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Spring Trends
  • Spring Trends
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
embroidery atelier dore

Embroidery Details

Modern Romance

Modern Romance

The Bold Blouse

The Bold Blouse

And We’re Off!

And We’re Off!

Summer Breeze

Summer Breeze

Pajama Party

Pajama Party

Spring Whites!

Spring Whites!

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated

The Edit No. 4, Part 4: Work Wear Updated

off white virgil abloh ss16 garance dore photos

Off-White