commisisons_fashion_net_a_porter_winter_coats_atelier_dore_1-

Long Coat Lovin’

2 weeks ago by

In Partnership With NET-A-PORTER

Les manteaux longs et moi, ça remonte à loin. C’est une histoire longue et sordide, et pour vous passer les détails, je dirais juste que… c’est compliqué.

Quand on choisit un manteau, un des détails à prendre en compte, ce sont les proportions. En tant que styliste, c’est quelque chose que j’ai toujours en tête, mais même pour moi, trouver les bons volumes, ce n’est pas toujours évident ! Est-ce que c’est trop long ? Est-ce que cette longueur aux chevilles ne fait pas un peu bizarre ? Est-ce que ça me tasse… est-ce qu’on voit encore que j’ai un corps en dessous ?!

*Attention, spoiler* Je ne suis pas un top-model de 1,80 m. Comme beaucoup d’entre nous, j’ai besoin que mes vêtements tombent bien… donc ça nécessite un peu de réflexion, mais au final, un bon choix, c’est toujours gratifiant. Un manteau long, c’est une pièce indispensable dans une garde-robe. C’est chic sans effort, intemporel, et toujours confortable (ce qui n’est pas toujours le cas dans la mode, c’est toujours bon à prendre !) Si vous n’êtes pas convaincues, regardez quelques-uns de mes modèles préférés, il y en a pour tout le monde. Vous n’êtes pas seules !

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Trench coat, Tibi ; Robe, Sonia Rykiel

Le Trench

S’il y a bien un truc que j’adore, c’est sortir mon trench dès que les premières feuilles commencent à tomber. Même si vous aimez le style classique (coucou, Sherlock), les trenchs sont un incontournable du répertoire mode, et il en existe plus de variations que vous ne pensez. Personnellement, j’adore jouer avec ses volumes, en le ceinturant à la taille, par exemple. Le tissu assez rigide de ce modèle donne des volumes intéressants ET en plus, on utilise la ceinture (oui, elle sert à quelque chose !)

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Manteau en cuir, Joseph ; Pantalon en cuir, Rag & Bone ; Sac, Gucci

Le Glossy

Celui-là, c’est mon chouchou, il est vraiment ludique. L’effet brillant est un peu flashy, sexy, mais élégant. Il est aussi très polyvalent… le problème des manteaux, souvent, c’est qu’on a du mal à trouver un modèle qui aille pour la journée et le soir. Ce qui convient pour aller au marché ne marchera aps forcément pour une soirée un peu sophistiquée. Le manteau glossy, c’est scientifiquement prouvé, résout ce problème (à mon avis). A porter avec votre pull préféré ou une slip dress toute simple et des talons ! De jour, comme de nuit, vous brillerez de mille feux !

Long Coat Lovin’

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Manteau en laine, Stella McCartney ; Chemise, Lemaire ; Pantalon, Theory ; B.O., Wwake

L’Oversize

L’objectif : trouver un juste équilibre entre élégance régalienne et silhouette informe qui erre dans la rue. C’est pour ça que j’aime les superpositions dans ce cas, qui donnent un petit aperçu de ce qui se passe sous le manteau. Un col montant, ça aide toujours, d’où mon obsession pour les cols roulés. Une couche supplémentaire ou même juste une note de couleur, c’est l’assurance de ne pas se retrouver perdu dans son manteau… C’est vous qui portez le manteau, pas l’inverse !

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

La Couverture

Un de mes modèles préférés, le manteau-couverture ; c’est un peu comme porter un doudou en public. Pour autant, le style ne doit pas être sacrifié. Le manteau-couverture est parfait dans sa simplicité, c’est donc l’occasion de sortir de sa zone de confort. Essayez une couleur un peu inédite, comme ce bleu que j’adore ! Avec du color-block, facile de sophistiquer le tout, et difficile de se tromper !

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Manteau bleu, Max Mara ; T-shirt, Saint Laurent ; Sweat, James Perse ; Pantalon, Joseph

Si la plupart des gens aiment que les températures se réchauffent, moi je suis toujours ravie quand la météo permet de sortir son manteau ! Pour moi, le manteau ne sert pas juste à se protéger du froid, mais à s’amuser un peu… faites preuve d’audace, faites-en votre signe distinctif ! Il en existe de toutes les tailles et de toutes les formes, l’important c’est de trouver le modèle qui fera mouche. Et même si braver des températures polaires n’est jamais très drôle, je vous promets que ce sera beaucoup plus sympa avec un de ces modèles !!

10 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

In her words
  • In her words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham

commisisons_fashion_net_a_porter_winter_coats_atelier_dore_1-

Long Coat Lovin’

2 weeks ago by

In Partnership With NET-A-PORTER

The long coat and I go way back. It’s a long and sordid tale and to spare you the details, let’s just say… it’s complicated.

When it comes to choosing a coat, one of the most important things to consider is proportion. As a stylist, proportion is something I think about constantly, but even for me, getting it just right is often tricky! Is it too long? Does it hit my ankles in a funny place? Does it make me look shorter… can anyone tell I even have a body under this?!

*Spoiler alert* I am not a six foot tall model. I, like so many of us, need my clothes to work with me – so it is important to choose wisely, but the reward is well worth it. A full length coat is a wardrobe must-have. It is effortlessly chic, a timeless classic, and always comfortable (which isn’t always the case in fashion, so take what you can get!) If you’re still not convinced, take a look at some of my personal favorites, as I am convinced we can find something for everyone. We’re in this together.

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Trench coat, Tibi ; Dress, Sonia Rykiel

The Trench

There are few things I enjoy more than breaking out my trench coat the day the first leaf falls to the ground. Though your favorite sleuth may come to mind (hello, Sherlock), trench coats are a staple in the repertoire of fashion mavens and there is more to them than you might think. I personally love to play with it’s shape – try cinching your trench at the waist. The starchy fabric of this one creates interesting shapes AND you get to use that tie (yes it is good for something!)

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Leather Coat, Joseph ; Leather Pants, Rag & Bone ; Bag, Gucci

The Glossy

This one’s a favorite because honestly, it’s just plain fun. The gloss effect is a little bit flashy, a little bit sexy, and altogether chic. It is also incredibly versatile. So often with coats I find they don’t always transition well from day to night. What worked for the farmer’s market might not work for your night on the town. The gloss coat has been scientifically proven to solve this problem (I think). Pair it with your favorite sweater or a slip dress and heels! Day or night, you will quite literally shine.

Long Coat Lovin’

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Wool Coat, Stella McCartney ; Shirt, Lemaire ; Pants, Theory ; Earrings, Wwake

The Oversized

The goal is to find balance between undisputed chicness and not looking like a shapeless lump walking down the street. For that reason, I like to play with layers, so we get just a glimpse of what’s going on underneath the coat. A high neck always helps, and is on trend with my latest obsession with turtlenecks! Adding an additional layer or even just a pop of color ensures that you won’t be overwhelmed by the coat. You should be wearing it, not the other way around!

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

The Blanket

One of my favorites, the blanket coat is as close to wearing a Snuggie in public as you can get. Style however, should not be sacrificed for such a luxury. The blanket coat is absolutely perfect in its simplicity, so it is a good place take a step outside your comfort zone. Try out a fun color, like this blue that I adore! With some colorblocking, you can play it up or play it down, but rest assured you can’t go wrong either way.

commissions fashion net a porter winter coats atelier dore photo

Blue coat, Max Mara ; T-shirt, Saint Laurent ; Sweatshirt, James Perse ; Trouser, Joseph

While most people get excited for “sweater weather,” I find myself looking forward to good ol’ fashioned, straight-up coat weather. For me a long coat isn’t simply be a piece of outerwear, but rather an opportunity to have a little fun – do something bold and make it your statement piece! Much like us, these coats come in all shapes and sizes, so finding the right fit is key. And while braving a mean bitter winter is NEVER fun, I promise it will be so much better in any of these!

10 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham