fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_8

LA Eliana

10 months ago by

Vous l’avez sans doute remarqué, on a passé pas mal de temps à LA dernièrement. Ah, LA…. Sur la liste des personnes pour lesquelles j’ai eu un coup de cœur, il y avait Eliana Rodriguez. Elle a un style unique mais qui semble accessible, pour moi c’est une vraie Femme. Certes, son bon goût n’a rien de surprenant puisqu’elle est directrice artistique et a travaillé comme designer pour American Apparel. Timbre de voix clair, esthétique rigoureuse, assurance, humour, gentillesse (vous voulez que je continue ?), autant d’éléments qui font qu’elle est d’une modernité folle je trouve. Alors quel plaisir de l’accueillir sur le site aujourd’hui, en direct de son merveilleux jardin de Beachwood Canyon…

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_7

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_6

Ton style en trois mots.
Je n’aime pas trop enfermer le style dans des mots. Désolée. C’est un peu ma phobie.

Ta tenue idéale ou ton uniforme au quotidien ?
Ça dépend de mon humeur. Mais si je devais n’en choisir qu’une, ce serait un pyjama habillé avec un trench. Avec des chaussures confortables. Et de jolies boucles d’oreilles !

Tu vis et travailles à LA, mais tu es originaire du Venezuela. Comment cela influence-t-il ton style ?
J’ai quitté le Venezuela quand j’étais petite et j’ai grandi à Montréal, mais mes racines latines ressurgissent avec le temps. Je crois que c’est de là que je tiens ce goût pour la sensualité, la mise en scène. LA a un effet un peu paradoxal sur moi. D’un côté, cette ville m’a rendue plus paresseuse en termes de style, plus attirée par les pièces confortables au quotidien parce qu’ici tout est un peu dans l’esprit décontracté/sportswear. D’un autre côté, LA et l’industrie de l’entertainment m’ont encouragée à aborder la mode d’un point de vue plus cinématographique.

LA Eliana

En tant que DA, où trouves-tu l’inspiration le plus souvent ? Et est-ce que ça se traduit aussi par la façon dont tu te présentes ?
L’inspiration est partout. Quand je fais du shopping vintage, quand je regarde les passants, quand je voyage… dans les vieux magazines et films, et sur Internet évidemment. Je suis aussi entourée de créatifs qui ont des partis-pris esthétiques forts, ce qui est très stimulant. Ça se reflète dans mon style, mais j’essaie de rester fidèle à ce qui me plaît vraiment, aux vêtements dans lesquels je me sens bien. Je crois qu’un bon style, c’est un style qui évolue avec vous… je me dis qu’idéalement, à 80 ans, j’aimerais m’habiller dans un style similaire, mais plus abouti.

Qui sont tes figures de référence pour le style ?
Princess Diana, Frida Kahlo, Penelope Cruz, Cher, Joan Didion, Richard Gere dans American Gigolo…. Franchement, je pourrais m’habiller comme Richard Gere dans American Gigolo tous les jours, ça ne me poserait aucun problème.

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 7.25.29 PM

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_3

fashion 3 look eliana atelier dore photo

Look 1: Blouse, Vintage Armani ; Jupe, DIY ; Slides, Mansur Gavriel ; B.O., Luiny / Look 2: Combi-pantalon militaire, Vintage ; Slides, By Far ; B.O., Sophie Monet / Look 3: Pull, Vintage Tommy Hilfiger ; Pantalon, Vintage ; Trench, Vintage Aquascutum ; Boots, Chloe ; B.O., Sophie Monet

2 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Thank you so much for making me aware of the Luiny brand! I followed up on the earrings because they’re just my style, and I found that I love every thing on the site. The prices are so very reasonable that this is beyond « aspirational » to just must buy.

  • Her hair!!! (L)

From the Archives

Three looks
  • Three looks
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Career Stories
Three Looks with Sonia Sieff

Three Looks with Sonia Sieff

Three Looks with Anine Bing

Three Looks with Anine Bing

Three Looks with Rachael Wang

Three Looks with Rachael Wang

Sezin’s Elevated Essentials

Sezin’s Elevated Essentials

Ilkin Kurt Atelier Dore

Ilkin Kurt’s Refined Simplicity

Joceyln Atelier Dore

Jocelyne the Great

Julie Houts Atelier Dore

The Crown Julie

Tracy McMillan Atelier Dore

Tracy in Morocco

fashion 3 looks cyndle atelier dore photo

Chic Cyndle

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_8

LA Eliana

3 months ago by

It might be clear by now that we recently spent some time in LA. Ah, LA…. One of the people high on my list to hang out with was Eliana Rodriguez. With a style that feels both unique and approachable, she’s a lady after my own heart. Her good taste is unsurprising though, she’s a current creative director and a former designer at American Apparel. With a clear voice, strong aesthetic, poise, humor, and kindness (shall I go on?), she’s a modern woman to her core. Such a pleasure to have her on the site today, straight from her dreamy Beachwood Canyon garden…

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_7

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_6

Describe your style in 3 words.
I hate putting style into words. I’m sorry. It’s a weird pet peeve I have.

What is your ideal outfit or uniform to wear every day?
Depends on my mood but if I had to pick one, fancy pajamas and a trench coat. And comfortable shoes. And good earrings!

You live & work in LA, but your roots are in Venezuela. How does this influence your style?
I moved away from Venezuela when I was little and grew up in Montreal, but my latin roots come out more and more as I get older. I think it’s made me embrace sensuality and drama. LA has had a paradoxical effect on me. On the one hand it’s definitely made me lazier, more comfort-driven day-to-day because everything here is so casual and sporty. On the other hand, LA and the entertainment industry have influenced me to approach fashion from a more cinematic point of view.

LA Eliana

As a Creative Director, where do you most often find your inspiration? And does this translate to how you present yourself?
I mean, inspiration is everywhere. Vintage shopping, people watching, travel, old magazines and films, and the internet of course. I’m also surrounded by creative people with really strong aesthetic sensibilities which is cool because you’re constantly playing off each other. Some of it translates to how I dress, but I try to stay true to the core of what I like and look good in. I think the best personal style grows with you, so ideally at 80 I’ll dress in a similar, maybe more evolved version, of how I dress now.

Who are your style icons?
Princess Diana, Frida Khalo, Penelope Cruz, Cher, Joan Didion, Richard Gere in American Gigolo…. I mean, I could dress like Richard Gere in American Gigolo for the rest of my life and be happy.

Screen Shot 2017-09-15 at 7.25.29 PM

fashion_3_looks_eliana_atelier_dore_3

fashion 3 look eliana atelier dore photo

Look 1: Blouse, Vintage Armani ; Skirt, DIY ; Slides, Mansur Gavriel ; Earrings, Luiny / Look 2: Military Jumpsuit, Vintage ; Slides, By Far ; Earrings, Sophie Monet / Look 3: Turtleneck, Vintage Tommy Hilfiger ; Trousers, Vintage ; Trench Coat, Vintage Aquascutum ; Boots, Chloe ; Earrings, Sophie Monet

2 comments

Add yours
  • Thank you so much for making me aware of the Luiny brand! I followed up on the earrings because they’re just my style, and I found that I love every thing on the site. The prices are so very reasonable that this is beyond “aspirational” to just must buy.

  • Her hair!!! (L)

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats