fashion_gingham_dress_atelier_dore_1

Gingham Style

11 months ago by

C’est le moment de l’année où je ressens toujours un peu de nostalgie pour le look américain BBQ à la Kennedy en mode Martha’s Vineyard (avec soirées autour du feu, balades en voilier). Les motifs vichy, c’est un peu ça pour moi.

Je ne suis pas fan d’imprimés, mais le vichy me réconcilie avec les motifs. C’est un imprimé classique, facile à porter (contrairement à certains autres motifs estivaux, comme cette jupe à motifs fruités que j’ai dû porter une seule fois, à un match de polo en 2010). M’en tenir à des tons neutres et les agrémenter de petites touches vichy, ça me permet de ne pas bouder la tendance imprimés tout en ayant l’impression de rester fidèle à moi-même. Si ma réticence envers les imprimés vous parle, ou si vous aimez le vichy, voici quelques pièces incontournables.


Si vous êtes toujours en quête d’un maillot de bain (après tout, on n’est encore qu’en juillet), c’est la version idéale. Je le vois un peu comme une tenue deux-en-un puisque le haut peut aussi se porter avec un jean taille haute.

Une autre solution pour les allergiques aux imprimés. Moi, j’ai tendance à mettre la même petite robe noire à toutes les soirées un peu habillées. Cette pochette noire et blanche donne une petite touche estivale bienvenue pour la saison des mariages.

Si le total-look vichy vous rebute un peu, adoptez-le par petites touches... Je ne sais pas vous, mais moi, je suis du genre maladroite. Le gros talon et la bride à la cheville me semblent offrir la dose de support idéale.

J’ai récemment développé une obsession pour les pyjamas (je sais, j’ai trois trains de retard). Je suis prête à étrenner ce look sortie-du-lit dans la rue, en portant le haut avec mon short préféré (encore une solution deux-en-un.)

Robe, Rag & Bone (Ouverture d’image) ; Bikini, Lisa Marie Fernandez ; Sac, Mansur Gavriel; Sandales, Sam Edelman ; Pyjamas, Sleepy Jones

9 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Bags!
  • Bags!
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Mini Bag, Big Bang

Mini Bag, Big Bang

The Envelope Clutch

The Envelope Clutch

goods the rounded bag alyssa digiovanna garance dore photo

The Rounded Bag

Small Talk

Small Talk

In The Bag

Style Story / Pop + Suki

Style Story / Pop + Suki

The Gucci Bag

The Gucci Bag

The Céline Bag

The Céline Bag

The Hermès Clutch

The Hermès Clutch

fashion_gingham_dress_atelier_dore_1

Gingham Style

5 months ago by

This time of year I always get nostalgic for the preppy, American style of north eastern summers past (think evening clambakes around a bonfire on the beach or a sailboat ride around Newport Harbour). Gingham hits that note right on point.

I’m not really a pattern girl, but gingham makes me rethink my aversion to prints. It’s a classic graphic print that is really easy to wear (unlike some other summery prints – like that fruit print skirt I haven’t worn since that one polo match in 2010). Sticking to neutral colors and incorporating gingham in small doses allows me to mix in print while still feeling like myself. If you can relate to my fear of prints, or if you just really love gingham, a guide to some must haves below.


If you are still in the market for a bathing suit (it’s still July afterall), this is the perfect option. I like to think of it as a two for one because it doubles as a crop top if you pair it with your favorite high waisted jeans.

This bag is another option for the print-phobic. I'm a creature of habit and tend to wear the same LBD to all evening occasions. Adding this black and white clutch gives my go-to dress a summery feel for wedding season.

When a full gingham look feels like too much, I like to add it as an accent. And I don't know about you, but I'm pretty clumsy. The chunky heel and ankle wrap lend the right amount of support.

I am recently obsessed with pajama sets (yes I know, I’m a little late on this trend) I’ll take this look out of the bedroom and onto the street by wearing the top with any of my favorite summer shorts. (Another two for one.)

On Model : Dress, Rag & Bone ; Jewelry, Jennifer Fisher / Product Shots: Swimsuit, Lisa Marie Fernandez ; Clutch, Mansur Gavriel ; Sandals, Sam Edelman ; Pajama Set, Sleepy Jones

9 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats