FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_14

FALL ESSENTIALS

2 months ago by

Quand j’ai lu, il y a quelques semaines, le post de Garance sur “le bad outfit”, je n’ai pas pu m’empêcher de rire tant je m’y suis reconnue. Je suppose que c’est une des qualités des écrits de Garance, elle donne une voix à tous ces petits moments de vulnérabilité dans lesquels nous nous retrouvons toutes, et nous permet d’en rire.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_1

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_2

FALL ESSENTIALS

Au moment où j’écris ce texte, c’est le deuxième jour de ce cirque que nous aimons appeler la Fashion Week de New York. Je travaille dans des rédactions de mode depuis plusieurs années maintenant donc j’ai déjà assisté à un certain nombre de ces fiestas. Et au cours des aventures mode pendant la fashion week, j’ai porté beaucoup BEAUCOUP de tenues douteuses.

FALL ESSENTIALS

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_4

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_5

Tout commençait avec une petite voix dans ma tête. “Tout le monde va être bien habillé, cette tenue est beaucoup trop ennuyeuse”, chuchotait la voix. “As-tu vu à quel point *insérez le nom de l’éditrice mode du jour* avait l’air cool avec son *insérez le nom de la pièce mode du jour* hier ? Tous les photographes la prenaient en photo. Tu devrais porter quelque chose comme ÇA”, continuait la voix. Et petit à petit, la petite voix arrivait à me convaincre. Peu après, mes talons claquaient dans l’escalier de mon immeuble, je quittais mon appartement et, même si mon look était fantastique, je portais une tenue complètement ridicule.

FALL ESSENTIALS

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_11

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_13

Je ne me moque pas des femmes qui suivent les tendances ou qui portent des tenues très osées. Je les admire ! Mais en vieillissant, je me suis rendu compte que je n’en fais tout simplement pas partie. Le problème, avec mes tentatives de looks recherchés pendant la fashion week, ne vient pas du fait que mes looks étaient trop colorés ou trop moulants, c’est simplement que ce n’était pas MOI. Je suis une fille qui préfère les tenues classiques et confortables et cela peut être tout aussi cool.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_8

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_10

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_12

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_9

Une fois que j’ai commencé à assumer mon style personnel, tout est devenu plus facile. J’adore les basiques – jeans, T-shirts, un joli pantalon, un trench classique. Vous pouvez demander à tous mes collègues ou amis et ils vous diront que c’est ce qu’ils me voient porter au quotidien. J’ai appris que ces pièces simples et essentielles suffisent à construire une garde-robe et c’est pour ça que je voulais partager mon histoire mode avec vous. Si vous avez besoin de nettoyer votre palette de couleurs ou d’un guide pour vous habiller simplement, j’espère que vous trouverez des idées dans ces photos. Les tendances sont fun et inspirantes mais, parfois, de beaux classiques suffisent à créer un look.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_7

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_6

FALL ESSENTIALS

(English)

Jacket, Rejina Pyo; Tank, For Days; Pants, PSWL; Sneakers, Common Projects; Earrings and Rings, Ursa Major

Blazer, Tibi; Shirt, Vince; Jeans, NEED; Earring, SVNR; Sneakers, Veja

Trench, PSWL; Jeans, FEEL Studio, T-Shirt, NEED; Sneakers, Veja; Earring, SVNR, Bracelets and Blue Ring, Aurelie Bidermann; Watch, Hermes; Silver and Gold Rings, Ursa Major

T-Shirt, NEED; Pants, Vintage; Sneakers, Common Projects

Blazer and Pants, Paris Georgia Basics; T-Shirt, Frame; Earrings, Aurelie Bidermann; Sneakers, Common Projects

2 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Health
  • Health
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Zero

Zero

What’s So Cool About CBD Oil?

What’s So Cool About CBD Oil?

atelier dore sex

Let’s Talk About Sex

Under the Surface

Under the Surface

Oh, Sugar!

Oh, Sugar!

All is Well with Rens Kroes

All is Well with Rens Kroes

Food for Thought

Food for Thought

time lapse garance dore photo

Time Lapse

better than you garance dore illustration

Better Than You

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_14

FALL ESSENTIALS

1 week ago by

When I read Garance’s post about “the bad outfit” a couple of weeks ago, I couldn’t stop laughing because it resonated so much with me. I guess that’s one of the beautiful things about Garance’s writing, she gives a voice to those little vulnerable moments that we all can relate to, and lets us joke around about them.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_1

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_2

FALL ESSENTIALS

As I sit here writing this text for you, it’s the second day of the circus that we like to call New York Fashion Week. I’ve been working in fashion editorial for a couple of years now so I’ve attended quite a few of these shindigs. Throughout the course of my week-long fashion adventures, I have worn many, MANY “bad outfits”.

FALL ESSENTIALS

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_4

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_5

It starts with that little voice inside of my head. “Everyone is going to be dressed up, that outfit is way too boring,” it whispers to me. “Did you see how cool *insert trendy editor here* looked in her *insert trendy item here* yesterday? All the photographers were taking her picture. You should wear something like THAT,” it continues. On and on, the little voice would nudge me. Soon, my heels and my ridiculous outfit would be thumping down the stairs of my walk-up apartment.

FALL ESSENTIALS

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_11

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_13

I don’t begrudge the courageous people who take fashion risks or wear wild outfits, I admire them! It’s just that as I’ve gotten older, I’ve come to realize that I simply am not one of them. The problem with my fancy fashion week get-ups wasn’t that they were too bold or too bright, it’s that they simply were not ME. I’m a girl who likes to keep it classic and comfortable, and that can be just as cool.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_8

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_10

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_12

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_9

Once I started to take ownership of my personal style, things got much easier. I love basics– jeans, t-shirts, a good pair of pants, a classic trench. Ask any of my coworkers or friends and they’ll tell you that’s what they see me wearing every day. I’ve learned that for me these simple, essential pieces are enough to build a wardrobe out of, and that’s why I wanted to share this fashion story. If you need a palette cleanser, or a guide to dressing simply, I hope you’ll get some ideas from these pictures. Trends are fun and inspiring but sometimes, cool classics are all you need to make a look.

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_7

FASHION_FALL_ESSENTIALS_6

FALL ESSENTIALS

Jacket, Rejina Pyo; Tank, For Days; Pants, PSWL; Sneakers, Common Projects; Earrings and Rings, Ursa Major

Blazer, Tibi; Shirt, Vince; Jeans, NEED; Earring, SVNR; Sneakers, Veja

Trench, PSWL; Jeans, FEEL Studio, T-Shirt, NEED; Sneakers, Veja; Earring, SVNR, Bracelets and Blue Ring, Aurelie Bidermann; Watch, Hermes; Silver and Gold Rings, Ursa Major

T-Shirt, NEED; Pants, Vintage; Sneakers, Common Projects

Blazer and Pants, Paris Georgia Basics; T-Shirt, Frame; Earrings, Aurelie Bidermann; Sneakers, Common Projects

2 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

#AtelierDoreDoes
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside