fashion_denim_atelier_dore_15
fashion_denim_atelier_dore_1

Do The Denim Thing

1 week ago by

Voyez ça comme un effet collatéral de mon enfance à Toronto, mais je suis super fan de ce qu’on appelle le « Canadian Tuxedo », le total-look denim, et toutes ses variantes possibles.

Un mec avec un look Western ? Oui. Une version plus métropolitaine avec lipstick rouge, col roulé crème et créoles dorées ? Evidemment. (J’ai des fantasmes vestimentaires très précis). Justin et Britney sur tapis rouge en 2001 ? Je crois que je n’oserais pas, mais c’était mythique. Cela étant, le total-look denim peut être délicat à maîtriser. Personnellement, j’ai un peu de mal avec les nuances de jean, les proportions, je ne veux pas forcément ressembler à un fermier. Heureusement, notre amie et styliste Jessi Frederick s’est fait l’apôtre très convaincante du total-look denim élégant, sophistiqué et remis au goût du jour.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Veste, Acne ; Combinaison, Apiece Apart ; B.O., Sorelle

Tout ce que Jessi dit, je le fais. Quand il s’agit de mixer les différentes nuances de délavage (je vous ai dit que ce n’était pas mon fort…), elle dit qu’il vaut mieux rester prudent et associer jean et sombre et clair pour éviter le ton sur ton hasardeux. Une combi-pantalon blanche avec une veste en denim rouge, ça fonctionne, parce que chaque pièce est indépendante. Les coutures blanches de la veste, ça fait le lien. La subtilité, c’est sexy.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Do The Denim Thing

Veste, Nanushka ; Pull, Lorod ; Jean, Sandy Liang ; Bottes, Neous

Une interprétation contemporaine d’un classique, ça nécessite de moderniser la pièce essentielle du look. Un jean large et frangé avec texte brodé à l’entrejambe par exemple. Est-il possible de trouver son alter ego dans un jean ? Un ami… Porté avec une veste de la même nuance (avec le noir, difficile de se tromper) et une poche en cuir : le résultat, une jeune femme moderne, vous.

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_6

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_7

Veste, Nanushka ; Robe, Nanushka ; Bottes, Perso

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Bon, passons sur mon obsession admiration pour les détails brodés, revenons-en aux conseils de pro de Jessi. Si vous adoptez une seule nuance de jean, elle vous conseille de vous concentrer sur de petits détails qui vous aideront un peu à casser ce total-look. Sac, ceinture, touches de couleur, t-shirt blanc, voire un simple bracelet de cheville ajouteront un peu de relief à l’ensemble.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Chemise, Caron Callahan ; Jean, Caron Callahan

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_11

Finie l’époque où le total-look denim était synonyme de photos de famille des années 90 gênantes, ou alors de camionneurs un peu rustres. Jessi nous montre que le paradis est pavé de belles associations denim. Au lieu d’avoir peur des accumulations, laissez-vous guider par le denim, les couleurs et quelques accessoires clés. L’esprit Far West vous gagne ?

Do The Denim Thing

Chemise, Goldsign ; Jupe, Goldsign ; Mocassins, Neous ; Sac, Vere Verto

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_2

Do The Denim Thing

Chemise, Ilana Kohn ; Jean, Jesse Kamm ; Sac, Vere Verto

6 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

In her words
  • In her words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_15
fashion_denim_atelier_dore_1

Do The Denim Thing

1 week ago by

Call it my Toronto upbringing bias, but I’m a big fan of the Canadian Tuxedo and all of its varietal possibilities.

A dude in some western vibes? Yep. Metropolitan with a red lip, cream turtleneck, and silver earrings? You bet (I have very specific sartorial fantasies). Justin and Britney on the red carpet in 2001? Can’t say I could ever pull that one off but it sure was iconic. But the denim on denim look can be tough to maneuver! Personally I struggle most with washes, proportions, and looking like the wrong kind of farmer. Lucky for me, our friend and stylist Jessi Frederick made a very strong case for the chic, sophisticated, and completely updated all denim ensemble.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Jacket, Acne ; Jumpsuit, Apiece Apart ; Earrings, Sorelle

What Jessi says, I do. When it comes to mixing denim washes (I did tell you I struggled with this…), she says it’s better to keep it safe and pair light with dark so you don’t end up “too close, but not close enough.” A white denim jumpsuit with a red denim jacket works because they don’t compete. Plus the white stitching in the jacket ties it all together. Subtlety is sexy.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Do The Denim Thing

Jacket, Nanushka ; Sweater, Lorod ; Jeans, Sandy Liang ; Boots, Neous

An updated take on a classic trend requires an updated take on its main ingredient. Jeans with a frayed wide leg and an embroidered text detail on the crotch achieve this, and then some. Also, is it possible to find your soul mate in a pair of jeans? Asking for a friend… Paired with a jacket in the same shade (can’t go wrong with black) and a leather pocket detail – you’ve got yourself a modern woman, and that modern woman is you.

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_6

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_7

Jacket, Nanushka ; Dress, Nanushka ; Boots, Model’s own

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Enough about my obsession with admiration for embroidered crotch details, let’s get back to Jessi’s professional advice. If you’re wearing a one-wash denim look, she encourages the focus to be on small details that will help break up the head-to-toe denim. Things like bags, belts, pops of color, the addition of a white t-shirt, and even a simple ankle cuff will help add dimension.

fashion denim atelier dore photo

Shirt, Caron Callahan ; Jeans, Caron Callahan

fashion denim atelier dore photo

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_11

Gone are the days when denim on denim solicited thoughts strictly of awkward family photos from the 90s and truckers headed west. Jessi has proven that the road to heaven is paved with good denim combinations. Instead of being afraid of doubling up, let the denim on denim be your canvas, colored with originality and some really great accessories. What do ya say, cowboy?

Do The Denim Thing

Shirt, Goldsign ; Skirt, Goldsign ; Loafers, Neous ; Belt Bag, Vere Verto

fashion_denim_atelier_dore_2

Do The Denim Thing

Shirt, Ilana Kohn ; Jeans, Jesse Kamm ; Bag, Vere Verto

6 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham