Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_10

Studio Visit / Area

11 months ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

C’est le goût toujours assumé de Beckett et Piotrek pour le lustre et la décadence qui rend leur label Area aussi fascinant. Ce sont ces détails qui m’ont séduite il y a une ou deux saisons, quand ils avaient imaginé une jarretelle ornée de cristaux conçue pour être portée sur un pantalon… sexy et shiny !

Les techniques de mise en relief et de formation des motifs à base de cristaux Swarovski qu’on retrouve dans chaque collection auraient tout à fait trouvé leur place dans la vie nocturne new-yorkaise des années 80. Mais le glamour fait aussi la part belle à la douceur, et chaque pièce porte la signature innovante et déjà identifiable des créateurs… Avec leur muse Eliza, ils nous ont invités à découvrir leur atelier bigarré !

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

La collection en trois mots.
Séduction et illusion.

Avoir travaillé pour des grands noms de la mode comme Chloe et Calvin Klein vous a-t-il aidé à mieux forger la vision de votre label ?
Baigner dans ce travail artisanal d’exception, cette éthique de travail, nous a beaucoup inspirés et nous a ouvert de nombreuses portes. Travailler dans la mode, c’est la seule façon de se forger un réseau et une stratégie, et on n’aurait jamais pu lancer Area sans ces fondements. Cela dit, notre quotidien est très éloigné de celui des grandes marques qui fonctionnent avec un budget illimité : c’est ce qui nous a poussés à développer notre créativité, à trouver de nouvelles manières d’arriver à nos fins.

De quelle manière Eliza est-elle devenue votre muse ? Parlez-nous de vos sources d’inspiration.
On est toujours intrigués par les gens qui ont un univers pré-existant marqué. La diversité du parcours d’Eliza, son élégance, nous inspirent… c’est un mélange de glamour d’un autre temps et de modernité pleine de justesse.

On s’intéresse à la dualité du temps présent : il y a une obsession pour la nouveauté, mais toujours avec un peu de nostalgie. New York offre une incroyable palette de ressources historiques, dont on cherche vraiment à profiter. On fait beaucoup de recherches en bibliothèque, au FIT ou au Met, mais on trouve aussi des idées sur Tumblr et Instagram.

Studio Visit / Area

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

La marque a une esthétique bien distincte, et chaque saison, vous venez nourrir la sensibilité 80s du label. Quelle est la femme qui est illustrée, et comment évolue-t-elle ?
La femme Area a une vision fantasmée et contemporaine de l’histoire de la mode. C’est un aspect qu’on a souhaité souligner, grâce à un processus de création qui fait appel à des concepts mode familiers, empreints de nostalgie. Il est aussi important de trouver un équilibre entre le fantasme et l’aspect pratique, donc on a beaucoup travaillé pour que notre marque ne reste pas un univers de magazine et soit aussi portable au quotidien.

Comment avez-vous décidé de cofonder une marque dont vous seriez aussi les co-directeurs artistiques ? Qu’est-ce qui vous a le plus surpris ?
Avoir un associé, c’était vital pour développer et faire évoluer la marque. Même si on se concentre chacun sur différents aspects de notre travail, on nourrit un dialogue permanent. Donc il y a toujours un équilibre. Il y a eu tellement de surprises que je pense que plus rien ne peut nous surprendre. C’est un milieu complexe, qui évolue en permanence, et il y a une grosse part de chance… on essaie d’être le mieux préparés possible pour saisir les opportunités quand elles se présentent.

Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_15_VP

area studio visit garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Area

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

A quand remonte votre intérêt pour la mode ?
Piotrek a passé les cinq premières années de sa vie en Pologne, qui était encore un pays communiste. Sa mère et ses tantes, avec qui il vivait, étaient captivées par la beauté et la mode, mais n’arrivaient pas à trouver ce qu’elles voulaient à moins de le faire elles-mêmes. Donc Piotrek a très tôt baigné dans les patrons et la couture…

J’ai fait des études d’architecture… j’ai exercé mon œil sur l’espace, les volumes, les formes et les proportions. J’ai eu mon diplôme au cœur de la crise. J’avais envie de déménager à New York, donc j’ai envisagé d’autres secteurs créatifs. Le nouveau Masters proposé par Parsons m’intriguait beaucoup, il permettait d’envisager la création comme matière pluridisciplinaire, c’est là que je me suis ouverte à la mode.

La Pologne et le Kentucky n’ont pas grand-chose à voir sur le plan culturel. Comment l’idée de la marque s’est-elle nourrie de ce grand écart culturel et d’où vient cette fascination pour le glamour ?
Nous venons de milieux différents, mais je crois qu’on a grandi avec le même désir, en matière de mode. On n’est pas originaires de villes qui sont célèbres pour la mode, donc on a été exposés à une mode qui était une aspiration, on la voyait, on la désirait de loin. Conceptualiser l’idée du glamour, et se pencher sur la façon dont la mode traduit tout ça nous fascine tous les deux.

Studio Visit / Area

Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_18

area studio visit garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Area

4 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats

Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_10

Studio Visit / Area

3 months ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Beckett and Piotrek’s constant and consistent love of shine and decadence is what makes their label Area so fascinating. It’s these characteristics that drew me to them a season or so ago when they conceived a crystal garter strap intended to be worn over pants… Sassy and shiny!

The embossing techniques and patterned Swarovski elements present in each collection would fit right in with the NYC nightclub from the early 80s that shares the same name. Among the glamour there’s a softness to every image and each garment that could only come from the innovative designers behind the collection, who, along with their muse Eliza, warmly invited us into their colorful studio!

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

Describe the collection in a few words.
Seduction and Deception.

How did working for industry majors like Chloe and Calvin Klein help sculpt the way you created your own label?
Being exposed to such a high level of craftsmanship and work ethic was really inspiring and opened so many doors for us. Working in the industry is really the only way to build up a vocabulary of important contacts and strategies, and we could not have started Area without these foundations. That being said, our reality is very different to working for a large established brand with an unlimited budget, which has pushed us to get creative, and figure out new ways of achieving the results we want.

In what ways do you see Eliza as a muse to the brand? Could you tell us about a few of your other sources of inspiration ?
We are always intrigued by people who come with a pre-conceived history, and how they relate to that in reality. Eliza’s diverse background and elegance is inspiring to us, hints of old world glamour with modern relevance.

We are interested in the duality of our present times, as we are obsessed with the new, but always hinting to the past. New York offers an amazing network of historic resources which we really try to take advantage of. For instance, we constantly research a various libraries like FIT and The Met, but we also draw inspiration from Tumblr and Instagram.

Studio Visit / Area

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

The brand has such a strong, distinctive aesthetic, the imagery for each season adding to that originality with its 80s glitz sensibilities. Who is the woman you see envisioned in this combination and how do you see her evolving ?
The Area woman romanticizes historic fashion through a contemporary lens. We try to emphasize this throughout our design process where we play with familiar fashion concepts that evoke nostalgia. However it’s important for us to strike a balance between the fantasy and the practical, so we have worked hard to evolve the brand into a label that lives not only in editorials, but in actual closets as well.

How has the process of starting a company as co-creators and co-designers been? What has surprised you the most?
Having a partner was really crucial to the development and evolution of our brand. Even though we each focus on different aspects of the business, we are in constant dialogue. So there is always a sense of accountability, and balance. We have been surprised so many times that I don’t think anything surprises us anymore. Its such a complex and constantly evolving industry and such a huge part of the process comes down to luck – so we try to be as prepared as possible when opportinities arise.

Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_15_VP

area studio visit garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Area

area studio visit garance dore photo

area studio visit garance dore photo

When did you first know you had an interest in fashion?
Piotrek grew up in Poland until the age of 5, which it was still a Communist country. His mother and aunts who he lived with were captivated by beauty and fashion, but unable to dress how they desired unless they made the clothing themselves. As a result, Piotrek was exposed to pattern making and sewing at a very young age.

I received my undergraduate degree in Architectural Design, where I focused on thinking critically about space, form and proportion. I graduated at the height of the recession, and knew I wanted to move to New York, so decided to look into other design field options as well. The new Masters program at Parsons really intrigued me as it allowed a focus on multidisciplinary design, so I decided to transition my focus to fashion at that point.

Poland and Kentucky couldn’t be farther from each other culturally. How did the identity of the brand come to be from such opposites and what is it about this idea of ‘glamour’ that intrigues you most?
Although we come from opposite backgrounds, I think we both grew up with a similar desire when it comes to Fashion. We are not from fashion capitals, so were exposed to aspirational fashion, the idea of seeing and wanting from a distance. Conceptualizing on ideas of glamour, and studying how fashion translates is intriguing to us both.

Studio Visit / Area

Area_studio_visit_garance_dore_18

area studio visit garance dore photo

Studio Visit / Area

3 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

The Skin You're In
  • The Skin You're In
  • In Her Words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
Flaws and All

Flaws and All

would you illustration garance dore

Would You?

beauty viva la bush sonia sieff garance dore photo

Vive le Bush!

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Jaws

Jaws

Hands

Hands

Sun

Sun

Body Happy

Body Happy

Stranger Things

Stranger Things