hannah cohen prints please street style garance dore photos

Prints Please!

4 years ago by

Des imprimés fleuris pour le printemps/l’été, c’est à peu près aussi original qu’un coucher de soleil posté sur Instagram. Et pourtant, on continue à voir les deux. Pourquoi ? Moi, les imprimés, de manière générale, j’ai toujours trouvé ça difficile à porter … bien plus difficile que de craquer pour un moment ohlàlà-ce-ciel-rosé-juste-après-la-pluie-j’ai-mis-aucun-filtre-promis comme on en a tous.

Même si je me donne du mal, que je passe des heures à écumer les sites vintage pour dénicher une fringue imprimée des années 70 ou 90 un peu originale, je reviens toujours bredouille. Et en ce moment, avec toutes les soldes d’été ; j’ai même essayé de trouver des variations plus contemporaines de l’imprimé… pour finir un peu perplexe et pas franchement emballée par ce que je voyais. Pour moi, les questions de base (dont j’essaie de me souvenir à chaque que je suis sur le point de craquer) c’est : est-ce que ce sera aussi cool dans 1 an ? Dans 5 ans ? Et dans 20 ans ?

ece sukan prints please street style garance dore photos

ece sukan prints please street style garance dore photos

ashley math prints please street style garance dore photos

Est-ce que c’est quelque chose que je pourrai encore porter dans quelques années comme si c’était du Prada 2035 ? En tout cas, ma penderie manque cruellement d’imprimés, à l’exception d’une jupe-culotte hawaïenne que j’ai dû porter une fois. Du coup, j’ai pensé que c’était le bon moment pour vous montrer qu’il y a plein de façons de porter des imprimés, même mélangés les uns avec les autres.

Que ce soit un ensemble less-is-more, un subtil débardeur camouflage avec un pantalon blanc ou un mélange de textures et de motifs décomplexé. Tout est une question d’équilibre quand on porte des imprimés… mais aussi d’attitude ! Ça fait un peu bizarre dit comme ça, mais si on réfléchit, cette jupe à rayures tigrées n’est pas faite pour être portée par tout le monde,  et pour se l’approprier et la porter fièrement, il faut être aussi déterminée que le félin qui a inspiré l’imprimé.

Alors, qui est prêt à se lancer dans l’imprimé avec moi ? On peut commencer doucement ! Ou peut-être que vous avez déjà une garde-robe explosive qui regorge d’idées vibrantes à partager avec nous ?

patty lu prints please street style garance dore photos

prints_patty-lu_garance-dore_2

hannah cohen prints please street style garance dore photos

26 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

New York vs Paris
  • New York vs Paris
  • This or That
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
This or That: American or Française?

This or That: American or Française?

atelier dore le meridien art of love chapter three the date

Art of Love / Chapter Three

Art of Love / Chapter Two

Art of Love / Chapter Two

le meridien art of love atelier dore

Art of Love / Chapter One

madewell sezane paris new york tee tshirt garance dore photos

Two Cities

tour triangle paris herzog de meuron garance dore architecture

Touch the Sky

caroline de maigret speaks fiaf garance dore photos

See Caroline!

melissa bon style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Melissa

Garance Dore Illustration

Things Parisians Do

hannah cohen prints please street style garance dore photos

Prints Please!

2 years ago by

Florals for spring / summer are about as groundbreaking as posting a sunset on Instagram. Yet we keep on with both. And why? For me, prints in general, well, I’ve always found them sort of difficult to wear… much harder than falling for that omg-the-sky-is-so-pink-after-the-rain-no-filter-i-promise moment we all have.

No matter how hard I try, spending what feels like hours scouring vintage online for a not-so-obviously-from-the-90s-or-70s printed anything, I come up empty-handed. And now, with all the summer sales, I’ve even looked to see what modern variations designers have designed … only to once again feel a bit stumped and unimpressed with what I found. My basis for a print (which I have to remind myself of everytime my eyes get big) is this: will it still be cool 1 year from now? 5 years? What about 20 years?

ece sukan prints please street style garance dore photos

ece sukan prints please street style garance dore photos

ashley math prints please street style garance dore photos

Is that something I could pull out in the future and proudly sport like it was Prada 2035? It’s left my closet devoid of any print, albeit a pair of Hawaiian culottes, which have maybe been worn once. So it seemed appropriate to show you that prints can be worn in many ways, even mixed together.

May it be a less-is-more ensemble, a subtle camouflage of a tank top with a white pant or a full on mix of textures and patterns. It’s all about balance when it comes to wearing them – and attitude! It sounds peculiar but, if you think about that, a tiger striped skirt isn’t for everyone, and to really wear it and own it, your attitude has to be just as fierce as the cat it was based on.

Who’s ready to embrace prints with me? We can start slow! Or maybe you already have an explosive wardrobe of colorful ideas waiting to share with us?

patty lu prints please street style garance dore photos

prints_patty-lu_garance-dore_2

hannah cohen prints please street style garance dore photos

26 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats