gloves_garance-dore_

1 year ago by

Il gèle ENFIN à NY… et on dirait que tout le monde attendait ça avec impatience.  En ce moment, impossible de porter son sac comme une dame sans une paire de gants digne de ce nom ! C’est pile le moment de l’année où on en a besoin même si c’est juste pour sortir dehors quelques secondes…

C’est la reine Elizabeth qui en a fait un objet de désir en portant des gants brodés et embijoutés, et en passant son temps à les remettre et à les enlever pour attirer l’attention sur ses mains sublimes (le premier modèle main de l’histoire ? Peut-être !). Je crois que plus personne ne ferait ça aujourd’hui, ça paraîtrait un peu bizarre, les gens pourraient penser qu’on a un TOC. Enfin bon bref, les gants restent importants, puisqu’ils permettent à nos mains de se protéger du frimas.

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Et puis ils ont fait du chemin : ils ne sont plus réservés aux soirées mondaines ou aux cours de récré de notre enfance – souvenez-vous des moufles ou mitaines accrochés à nos anoraks. Non, les gants d’aujourd’hui sont faits avec du cachemire ultra-doux, du cuir extra-souple. Et sont surtout hyper à la page question nouvelles-technologies : même plus la peine de retirer ses gants pour utiliser son iPhone. ET PUIS QUOI ENCORE ?

Voici quelques-uns de nos modèles préférés pour affronter les tempêtes de neige à venir…

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gants bleus zippés, Echo et manteau, APC; Gants à pois, Agnes B et manteau, Ganni; Gants noirs frangés, Diane Von Furstenburg et manteau, Uniqlo; Mitaines à motifs, Brora et manteau, Zara; Gants noir et rose, & Other Stories et manteau, Reformation.

12 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

The Skin You're In
  • The Skin You're In
  • In her words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
Flaws and All

Flaws and All

would you illustration garance dore

Would You?

beauty viva la bush sonia sieff garance dore photo

Vive le Bush!

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Jaws

Jaws

Hands

Hands

Sun

Sun

Body Happy

Body Happy

Stranger Things

Stranger Things

gloves_garance-dore_

2 years ago by

Photos

Erik

Stylist

Brie

It’s FINALLY freeeezzzzing in New York, we were apparently all waiting for it to happen. That moment when you can no longer carry your handbag like a lady without a decent pair of gloves! Ah yes, it’s that time of year when they are needed to for even the briefest encounter outdoors…

It was Queen Elizabeth who made them really desirable, by wearing them richly embroidered and jeweled, as well as for putting them on and taking them off to draw attention to her beautiful hands (historic hand model? perhaps!). I don’t know one person who would do that today because, frankly, that would be strange. And I might think they have some sort of OCD. However, gloves are just as important for keeping our precious hands warm in the polar months of winter.

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

They’ve come along way, too. No longer reserved for dainty evenings, and certainly a far cry from the mittens worn as a child and clipped on to your sleeves. No, today’s gloves are made of soft cashmeres and supple leathers. And are in touch with current technologies — you don’t even have to remove said gloves to use your iPhone. HEAVEN FORBID.

Here’s a few of our favorites to keep us gesturing through the snowstorms ahead…

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Blue Zipper, Echo with Coat, APC; Black polka-dot, Agnes B with Coat, Ganni; Black leather fringe, Diane Von Furstenburg with Coat, Uniqlo; Printed fingerless, Brora with Coat, Zara; Black and pink, & Other Stories with Coat, Reformation.

12 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

The Beach
  • The Beach
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy

Beach Bum

Beach Bum

Au Soleil

Au Soleil

la plage garance dore illustration

The Beach

jennifer binney samudra hawaii city guide garance dore photos

Jennifer / Oahu