the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

2 years ago by

Pour la deuxième partie de notre EDIT 3, on avait trop envie de vous montrer Michele dans la petite tendance qui monte : Mod ! Avec la fameuse micro mini mini jupe emblématique des années 60, une pièce idéale pour passer de l’été à l’automne portée avec des vestes ou des blazers.

Ce qui permet de garder un petit côté rafraîchissant (et en apparence passe-partout) c’est de moderniser le Mod, avec quelques touches de denim et un maquillage naturel (les yeux de biche, là, ça fait trop premier degré !). Bref, à travers ces quatre silhouettes, on a eu envie de vous montrer une version Mod pour toutes les femmes.

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

Pour la femme au chic classique qui aime Ralph Lauren, un blazer à chevrons et des cuissardes bien couvrantes, avec juste une touche de séduction à la Ali MacGraw.

C’était un peu facile de donner un look rétro à notre Downtown Girl, mais j’aime bien l’idée du combo mocassins vernis ultralégers/chaussettes noires qui vient contrebalancer la mini-jupe et le blouson en cuir rayé.

Ajouter une veste en denim sans manches, c’est la bonne idée pour éviter de ressembler à la doublure de Marianne Faithful et un côté plus adulte. Un look qu’on peut tout à fait envisager pour un entretien d’évaluation ou fêter une promotion.

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

Oui, d’accord, le dernier look est totalement IT girl, mais attendez ! Est-ce qu’on n’a pas toutes envie de ressembler à Alexa Chung de temps en temps ? Et puis comment résister à cette veste en cuir argenté, franchement ?

Et c’est exactement l’attitude qui a rendu les Sixties si délurées, le côté « Je m’en fiche, le porterai une jupe aussi courte que je veux »… « et je prendrai la moto de mon mec… non, on rembobine, MA moto ! ».

Impossible d’oublier l’époque qui a non seulement créé un vêtement, mais une révolution  culturelle !

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

Look 1 : Blazer, Zara ; Pull, Alyx ; Pull, Topshop ; Boots, Robert Clergerie ; Sac, Myriam Schaefer / Look 2 : Veste, Topshop ; Pull, Coperni Femme ; Jupe, Topshop ; Boots, Zara ; B.O., & Other Stories / Look 3 : Veste en cuirSonia by Sonia Rykiel ; Jupe, Coperni Femme ; Chemise, Topshop ; Mocassins, Newbark ; Sac, Proenza Schouler ; B.O., me & ro  / Look 4:  Veste, Shirt et Boots, Alyx ; Jupe, Coperni Femme ; Lunettes de soleil, Smoke x Mirrors ; Sac, Robert Clergerie ; Collier, me & ro.

Texte et stylisme : Brie Welch ; Photos : Erik Melvin ; Mannequin : Michele Ouellet ; Maquillage : Neada Jane.

17 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

In her words
  • In her words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

2 years ago by

For Part 2. of our EDIT No.3, it felt too irresistible to not feature Michele in the trend that won’t stop: Mod! And, with that, the mini mini mini skirt the 60s were known for, a piece of clothing that just so happens to be a perfect transitional piece paired with jackets or blazers as we approach autumnal moods.

What I think keeps it fresh (and apparently seasonless) is to make Mod modern, with touches of denim and a natural makeup look (the cat-eye is taking it all too seriously!). In these four looks we wanted to show you a Mod version for every woman.

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

For the classically traditional, Ralph Lauren-esque loving lady, a herringbone blazer and thigh-high boots keep you covered with just a hint of Ali MacGraw’s appeal.

The downtown girl might be too easy to pin a retro look on, but I like the idea of a featherweight patent loafer and black sock combo to counterbalance the short skirt and tough, striped leather jacket.

Adding a cargo-inspired denim vest is a nice way to keep from feeling like Marianne Faithful’s stand in, and it also feels a bit more adult. A look you could wear to your two-year review and to drinks after receiving the promotion.

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

Okay, so the last look is every bit IT girl, but hear me out! Don’t we all have Alexa Chung coolness aspirations every now and then? Who doesn’t want to sport a silver leather jacket?

And it’s at that moment you are ready to embody exactly what made the 60s so cool: an “I don’t care, I will wear this mini skirt as short as I please”…. “and ride on my boyfriend’s motorcycle… wait, scratch that, ride my OWN motorcycle!” attitude.

Will we ever forget the era known for creating not just a garment, but a cultural revolution?

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

the edit modern mod style michele ouellet garance dore photos

Look 1: Blazer, Zara; Sweater, Alyx; Skirt, Topshop; Boots, Robert Clergerie; Bag, Myriam Schaefer  / Look 2: Vest, Topshop; Sweater, Coperni Femme; Skirt, Topshop; Boots, Zara; Earring, & Other Stories /Look 3: Leather Stripe Jacket, Sonia by Sonia Rykiel; Skirt, Coperni Femme; Shirt, Topshop; Loafers, Newbark; Bag, Proenza Schouler; Earring, me & ro / Look 4: Jacket, Shirt and Boots, all Alyx; Skirt, Coperni Femme; Sunglasses, Smoke x Mirrors; Bag, Robert Clergerie; Necklace, me & ro.

Words & Styling, Brie Welch; Photos: Erik Melvin; Model: Michele Ouellet; Makeup: Neada Jane.

17 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham