Djuna at Home

2 years ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Pendant qu’on était à LA… et après notre rando, Djuna nous a invités chez elle, dans sa maison super accueillante nichée à Highland Park. C’était à cette heure si particulière où le soleil se couche et projette quelques dernières ombres magiques, quand tout le monde est de bonne humeur. En plus, Djuna et Nikolai ne sont pas des hôtes ordinaires, non, ils comptent certainement parmi les hôtes les plus adorables et détendus que je connaisse.

Alors que Djuna pressait des citrons frais pour préparer des cocktails – avec la nouvelle marque de tequila de ses amis, rien de moins, Nikolai découpait des légumes près du four en torchis extérieur, pour préparer des pizzas maison (dans une version sans gluten !). Le couple de rêve ! Non, mais vraiment. Et ensuite, cerise sur le gâteau, tout le monde s’est lancé dans une partie de Loups-garous, avec un tel sens de la mise en scène qu’on ne pouvait s’empêcher d’être captivés. On a joué pendant des heures, les amis allaient et venaient, se prenaient au jeu, rigolaient du sérieux avec lequel on jouait…

djuna bel garance dore photo

C’est peut-être là que la Californie a commencé à me manquer un peu plus que d’habitude : ces soirées-jeux avec des amis partout (d’ailleurs, le salon de Djuna a été conçu spécialement pour qu’ils puissent jouer à CE jeu en particulier. Sans rire. Je vous jure ! ) qui sont juste contents d’être ensemble.

Et c’est la vraie différence entre LA et NY – personne n’organise de soirées comme ça chez soi à New York ! Bien sûr, on passe des soirées chez soi, mais seul ou à deux, sur le canap’, à enchaîner des épisodes d’une série Netflix ou à caresser son chien. A New York, personne n’a assez de place pour accueillir 15 personnes autour d’une soirée jeu animée. La table à manger accueille 8 personnes (max !), et même si on veut tous passer des soirées entre amis, cette envie s’émousse souvent après une journée passée à croiser des milliers d’inconnus dans la rue.

Et puis finalement, quand on y pense, New York est le meilleur hôte qui soit, non ?

djuna bel garance dore photo
Djuna at Home

Et pour vous, la soirée entre amis parfaite, c’est quoi ?

Djuna wears all vintage

14 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

London Town
  • London Town
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
5 Carlos Place

5 Carlos Place

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

caroline issa asia typek garance dore photo

Caroline Issa’s London

sketch restaurant london regent street interiors garance dore photos

At Sketch

anya hindmarch studio london garance dore photos

At Anya’s Studio

sheherazade goldsmith style story garance dore photos

Style Story / Sheherazade

Anya Hindmarch Spring 2015 Handbag

Stuck On You

Sandra Semburg Ji Hye Park London Street Style Photo

The Suspenders

Pernille Teisbaek London Fashion Week Sandra Semburg Photo

Long Sleeved

Djuna at Home

1 year ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

While we were in LA – and after our hike, Djuna invited us back to her perfectly welcoming home nestled in Highland Park. It was that witching hour when the sun is setting, casting magical shadows everywhere you look, and everyone is in a good mood. But these are no normal hosts – no, Djuna and her man Nikolai are quite possibly some of the kindest, coolest hosts I’ve ever come across.

With Djuna squeezing fresh lemons for the cocktail concoction she was stirring up – with her friends new tequila brand nonetheless, Nikolais was found just outside by the pink adobe oven, chopping wood for the handmade pizzas (a gluten free version too!) he was about to prepare. Dream couple! Seriously. And then, the coup de grâce – a game of Wolves & Villagers played out with such exquisite theatrics you couldn’t help but be immersed into their world . We played for hours, with new friends coming and going, getting fired up over the outcome and laughing with every ridiculous reasoning laid out ….

djuna bel garance dore photo

It was right then I may have started to miss California a bit more than normal – those game nights with friends situated about the living room (Djuna’s living room, BTW, was built specifically so they could play THIS game. Not joking. No, I’m serious!) just enjoying each others company.

That’s the difference between LA and NY – no one hangs out at home here in New York! Or you hang out at home, but by yourself, or with your mate on the couch indulging in a binge session on Netflix or simply petting your dog. In New York, not everyone has a space that’s worthy of hosting a party of 15 for a raucous game night. There’s a cap on occupancy at the dinner table set for 8 (max!), and as much as we all want to hang out with each other, the need AND energy for a big group hang is often lost to the 14,679 strangers we encounter on a daily basis.

But when you think about it, New York City is kind of like the most welcoming host of all, right?

djuna bel garance dore photo
Djuna at Home

So tell me, how do you host the perfect friends night?

Djuna wears all vintage

14 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham