2 years ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Stylist

Brie Welch

Brie nous avait déjà briefées sur les plus beaux maillots à adopter cet été, mais si vous êtes comme moi et que vous vous demandez quoi porter pour que votre tenue de plage soit complète et votre peau protégée, on est là ! Première étape, le visage !

Je sais, je sais, on n’a pas tous une tête à chapeau, mais l’été, c’est obligatoire ! Et personnellement, ça me permet aussi de cacher mes cheveux. Vous avez peut-être une chevelure de naïade au naturel, mais moi, je passe mon temps à les natter, à les entortiller… bref, ce serait l’objet d’un autre post.

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

kellie cockrell photo

Après quelques ratés, je sais qu’un chapeau à bords larges, c’est ce qu’il y a de mieux pour se protéger le visage et la tête. J’ai déjà attrapé quelques coup de soleil sur la tête, donc les visières toutes simples, très peu pour moi, ce qui n’est pas plus mal… parce qu’autant c’est super chic sur certaines filles, mais sur moi, ça fait touriste.

J’ai aussi vu que des marques comme J.Crew et Soleil Toujours proposaient des chapeaux intégrant une protection UPF 50. UPF, c’est le facteur de protection contre les ultra-violets, qui bloque 98 % des rayons UV. Ça ne remplace en aucun cas la crème solaire, mais on n’est jamais trop protégé, si ?

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

L’autre partie du corps qui risque le coup de soleil, ce sont les épaules ! Souvent exposées, elles ont besoin d’être chouchoutées. Moi, c’est toujours là que je brûle l’été. Ne faites pas la fine bouche à l’idée de vous couvrir, voyez ça comme une occasion de vous amuser avec des jeux de superposition. Non ? En plus, au coucher du soleil, vous serez bien contentes d’avoir de quoi affronter la fraîcheur de la soirée.

Nous, on s’est inspiré des maillots de Kellie pour jouer avec des couleurs complémentaires. Je ne sais pas vous, mais moi, ces photos me donnent déjà envie d’avoir du sable entre les orteils !

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

Top imprimé moutarde, Thierry Colson ; Bikini jaune, Eres ; Top noir et blanc, Dodo Bar Or ; Bikini gris, Her. ; Bikini orange, Thapelo ; Jean, Re/Done ; Sac, Orlebar Brown ; Maillot une-pièce rayé, J.Crew ; Chapeau, Soleil Toujours ; Maillot blanc, Her ; Chapeau, Zara ; Maillot imprimé citrons, Dolce & Gabbana ; Chapeau, House of Lafayette

23 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

La Plage
  • La Plage
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Net A Porter Atelier Dore

A L.A. Holiday

Down to Earth Swim

Down to Earth Swim

The Sun

The Sun

Sun

Sun

body happy garance dore photo

Body Happy

Beach Bum

Beach Bum

Au Soleil

Au Soleil

la plage garance dore illustration

The Beach

jennifer binney samudra hawaii city guide garance dore photos

Jennifer / Oahu

1 year ago by

Photos

Erik Melvin

Stylist

Brie Welch

Brie gave us the run down on some killer swimwear options for the summer, but if you’re like me and wondering what you can wear to keep your beach attire versatile and your skin protected from that relentless sun, we’ve got you covered! (Literally). First stop, that face!

I know I know, we aren’t all hat people, but in the summer wearing one is so necessary! Plus, for me, it’s the easiest way to hide my tangled hair. Maybe you were blessed with perfect beach hair but I’m constantly braiding, twisting… anyway, that’s a discussion for another post.

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

kellie cockrell photo

After a little trial and error, I’ve learned that a full brim hat for full coverage of the face and scalp is essential. My tendency for burning my scalp means visors are not an option, which is probably for the best because while some people look very chic wearing them, I look like a tourist.

I have also been noticing that brands like J.Crew and Soleil Toujours are offering a selection of hats with UPF 50 sun protection. UPF stands for ultraviolet protection factor and blocks 98% of those unstoppable UV rays. This should never replace sunscreen but there’s no such thing as too much protection, right?

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

Next body part at risk for a sunburn – the shoulders! They’re so exposed and always need a little extra tender love and care. My shoulders are usually the first place I burn every summer. But the idea of covering up shouldn’t get you down, I see it as the perfect opportunity to have some fun with a great long sleeved number. Don’t you agree? Also, when that sun starts to set, you’re going to be real happy you brought something easy that helps transition your bathing suit into the cool night.

We played up the colors of Kellie’s bathing suits with complementary colored cover up tops. I don’t know about you, but looking at these pictures has me pretty darn excited for my next beach trip!

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

kellie cockrell garance dore photo

Mustard Print Top, Thierry Colson ; Yellow Bikini, Eres ; Black & White Top, Dodo Bar Or ; Grey Bikini, Her. ; Orange Bikini, Thapelo ; Jeans, Re/Done ; Bag, Orlebar Brown ; Striped One-piece, J.Crew ; Hat, Soleil Toujours ; White One-Piece, Her ; Hat, Zara ; Lemon Print Suit, Dolce & Gabbana ; Hat, House of Lafayette

23 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham