retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_17

A Week in Marrakech

9 months ago by

In Partnership With Mr & Mrs Smith

Comme vous avez pu le voir à travers les histoires qui ont jalonné cette semaine, notre séjour à Marrakech a été un moment incroyablement spécial pour nous toutes. Pour moi, en particulier, ça a été très fort. C’était dû à différents facteurs (la nouvelle lune, mes règles…) mais finalement, je crois que cette vague d’émotions était surtout liée au fait que je sois immergée dans un cadre sublime avec un groupe de femmes fortes, intelligentes, déterminées, qui font toutes face à des défis similaires aux nôtres et avaient beaucoup à partager.

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

A Week in Marrakech

On a vraiment été impressionnées par les femmes qui avaient décidé de se joindre à nous, à tel point qu’on se demandait si on aurait vraiment quelque chose à leur apprendre… et que peut-être, ce serait elles qui nous apprendraient beaucoup. Et d’une certaine manière, c’est vrai, on a beaucoup appris d’elles, mais je crois qu’on leur a aussi transmis quelques petites choses, en les ouvrant à une véritable introspection et observation. Ce groupe de 20 femmes, réunies de manière aléatoire (les 20 premières à s’inscrire à la retraite), était plein de bienveillance, de complexité, d’engagement. Tout le monde avait envie de parler, d’échanger, d’apprendre, de partager, d’essayer de nouvelles choses et d’explorer. Tout le monde était incroyablement ouvert, la retraite a donc pu aller bien plus loin qu’on l’avait imaginé.

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_18_v2

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

On a passé la semaine à faire du yoga (enfin, quelques-unes d’entre nous… à la fin de la semaine, on avait du mal à émerger le matin), à prendre de somptueux petits-déjeuners sur le toit-terrasse de l’hôtel El Fenn, à se réunir autour d’ateliers passionnants, à découvrir la ville pour s’essayer à l’art de fabriquer des carreaux avec Popham Design et de la poterie avec des artisans du cru comme Chabi Chic. On a pu visiter le nouveau musée Yves Saint Laurent, les jardins Majorelle avec leur magnifique musée berbère. On a dîné à la belle étoile chez Nomad, et dans le cadre du sublime Riad Riad Jardin Secret. On s’est perdues dans le magique hôtel El Fenn pour se retrouver autour d’un thé à la marocaine. On s’est baladées dans la Médina, marchandant chaussures, tissus et épices. Et certaines d’entre nous ont rendu visite à nos amis de chez Marrakshi Life pour tisser leurs propres caftans.

A Week in Marrakech

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_11

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_10

A Week in Marrakech

Cette retraite a été un véritable rêve pour Garance et moi, un projet sur lequel on travaillait depuis des années, et qu’on est heureuses de pouvoir continuer à vous proposer. Nous préparons déjà la prochaine retraite !

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_14

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_13

A Week in Marrakech

Un immense merci à tous nos partenaires pour les magnifiques cadeaux : Mr & Mrs Smith, The Daily Edited, MZ Wallace, Lo & Sons, Fresh Beauty, Diptyque, True Botanicals, Ogee Beauty, Soma, Quip, et Vitruvi. Vous êtes géniaux !

11 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

#AtelierDoréDoes
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_17

A Week in Marrakech

1 week ago by

In Partnership With Mr & Mrs Smith

As you can tell from this week of stories, our time in Marrakech was incredibly special for all of us. For me in particular, it was incredibly emotional. There were a lot of factors (it was a new moon, I had my period…) but at the end of the day, I think the outpouring of emotion comes down to the fact that it felt incredible to be immersed in a beautiful setting with an incredible group of strong, smart, entrepreneurial women who are all facing similar challenges and had so much to share.

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

A Week in Marrakech

We were honestly so impressed by the women who joined us that we worried we might not even have that much to teach them, that maybe they would be the ones teaching us. And in many ways, they did—although I think we taught them a few things too, and opened them up to some deep introspection and contemplation. But this group of 20, who were completely random (they were just the first 20 women to sign up for the trip), was so kind, complex and engaged. Everyone was eager to keep talking, to keep learning, to try new things and explore. Everyone was so incredibly open that it took the trip to a different level than what we had expected.

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_18_v2

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

retreat recap atelier dore morocco tag

We spent the week doing yoga (well, at least the beginning of the week…), having leisurely breakfasts on the rooftop of El Fenn, gathering together for amazing workshops, and going out into the city to try our hand at making tile with Popham Design and pottery with local artisans with Chabi Chic. We visited the new Yves Saint Laurent Museum, and the Majorelle gardens with its beautiful Berber museum. We dined together, under the stars at Nomad and at the very special Riad Jardin Secret. We got lost in the beautiful El Fenn and eventually found each other around Moroccan mint tea. We wandered through the Medina, negotiating for beautiful shoes and textiles and spices. And a few of us visited our friends at Marrakshi Life where we saw their craftsman weaving the fabric for our caftan.

A Week in Marrakech

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_11

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_10

A Week in Marrakech

The retreat was really a dream come true for myself and Garance, it’s been a project we’ve been working on for years, and we are so excited to continue to bring these experiences to you. We’re already working on the next one…

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_14

retreat_recap_atelier_dore_morocco_13

A Week in Marrakech

Special thank you to all of our amazing gifting sponsors: Mr & Mrs Smith, The Daily Edited, MZ Wallace, Lo & Sons, Fresh Beauty, Diptyque, True Botanicals, Ogee Beauty, Soma, Quip and Vitruvi. We love you all!

10 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats