lifestyle_atelier_dore_loewe_1

Loewe’s Ibiza

4 months ago by

Pendant que Pia était dans une boutique à Ibiza, elle est tombée sur Liam Aldous, l’auteur du nouveau livre de Loewe sur Ibiza. On aime beaucoup la façon dont Loewe s’engage en faveur de la culture (notamment à travers sa collaboration avec des artistes que l’on admire, comme Kelly Beeman), donc on était ravies que Liam accepte de nous parler de ce qui l’avait inspiré pour écrire ce livre. Indice : l’idée de hasards heureux, comme la rencontre avec Pia, n’y est pas tout à fait étrangère…

Les rencontres fortuites – ce que les Espagnols appellent les encuentros casuales ont cette façon de transformer un lieu agréable en destination bien plus unique. C’est sans doute la meilleure façon de décrire Ibiza. Cette île espagnole magnétique est depuis longtemps un sanctuaire pour les courants d’avant-garde et les nomades à l’esprit libre.

lifestyle atelier dore loewe 2 photo

Photo de présentation : Es Vedrà, Salva López / De gauche à droite: Ku, avec l’aimable autorisation de Ku Archive; Paula’s Ibiza, Toni Riera; Ku, avec l’aimable autorisation de Ku Archive; Vicente Ganesha, Vicente Hernández Zaragoza; Rossetta Montenegro, Ku Archive

Aujourd’hui, l’île regorge de boutiques, de bars, de plages et de restaurants qui incarnent cet esprit. C’est dans l’une de ces boutiques, chez Vicente Ganesha, véritable caverne d’Ali Baba pour les créations vintage qui compte parmi sa clientèle des personnalités de renom – que je suis tombé sur Pia, de l’Atelier Doré… d’où les mots que vous êtes en train de lire.

Ces rencontres aussi heureuses qu’imprévues infusent le quotidien à Ibiza. C’est une qualité unique, souvent ignorée au profit du tourisme nocturne qui a fait la réputation de l’île, que j’ai voulu mettre au cœur de mon livre en collaboration avec LOEWE–Ibiza: Close to Paradise. Cette publication numérique en 12 chapitres transporte les lecteurs à la folle époque des années 70 et 80 en revenant sur 12 endroits mythiques, comme le célébrissime club poly-sexuel en plein air Ku ou la formation rocheuse d’ Es Vedrà. A travers ce récit charismatique, l’ouvrage offre une vision kaléidoscopique de l’île et permet de percer les secrets de son charme toujours vivace.

L’ouvrage complet est disponible gratuitement sur iTunes, et la bande originale qui l’accompagne l’est également sur Soundcloud, iTunes et Spotify.

Liam est également le correspondant espagnol du magazine Monocle.

1 comment

Ajouter le votre
  • I venture to say that islands seem to be havens for individuals, eccentrics artists and adventurers ! Here in the west coast of Canada ?? we have the Gulf Islands and Bohemian lifestyles are in full swing .Just a thought to give you something to ponder !
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats

lifestyle_atelier_dore_loewe_1

Loewe’s Ibiza

4 months ago by

When Pia was in Ibiza, she wandered into a shop and coincidentally the only other customer in the shop was Liam Aldous, author of the new Loewe Ibiza book. We’re huge fans of Loewe’s commitment to culture (especially their collaborations with artists we love, like Kelly Beeman), so it was a special treat when Liam agreed to share with us what inspired him to write this book. Hint: It’s not unlike Pia serendipitously encountering him across the world…

Chance meetings – or what the Spanish call encuentros casuales – have a way of elevating a nice place into somewhere that is infinitely more special. This is probably one of the best ways to describe Ibiza. The magnetic Spanish island has long been a sanctuary for the avant-garde and free-spirited nomads.

lifestyle atelier dore loewe 2 photo

Opening image: Es Vedrà, Salva López / L to R: Ku, Courtesy the Ku Archive; Paula’s Ibiza, Toni Riera; Ku, Courtesy the Ku Archive; Vicente Ganesha, Vicente Hernández Zaragoza; Rossetta Montenegro, the Ku Archive

Today the island is awash with shops, bars, beaches, and restaurants that epitomize this spirit. It was in one such shop – Vicente Ganesha; a veritable Aladdin’s cave of vintage clothing and couture that counts some of the fashion world’s leading figures as customers – where I had a chance meeting with Pia from Atelier Doré and led to the very words that you are reading here.

Serendipitous moments like these seem to imbue every day in Ibiza. It is this unique quality – so often over-looked by the island’s infamous disco-circuit-tourists – that I have infused into my collaboration with LOEWE – Ibiza: Close to Paradise. The 12-chapter digital publication takes readers back to the wild era of the 70s and 80s by venturing into 12 iconic places such as the world’s infamous polysexual open-air nightclub Ku to the mystical rock formation Es Vedrà. With each character and charismatic tale, the guide provides a kaleidoscopic insight into Ibiza’s history, but also elucidates its intangible charm.

The full book is available for free download on iTunes, and its accompanying summer anthem is also available on Soundcloud, and Spotify.

Liam is also the Spanish correspondent for Monocle Magazine.

1 comment

Add yours
  • I venture to say that islands seem to be havens for individuals, eccentrics artists and adventurers ! Here in the west coast of Canada ?? we have the Gulf Islands and Bohemian lifestyles are in full swing .Just a thought to give you something to ponder !
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats