lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_1

City Hall Lovin’

7 months ago by

Tyler et moi sommes ensemble depuis six ans (ou 17, comme j’en ai l’impression). A la fin de l’année, nous aurons assisté ensemble à 28 mariages. Oui, je sais, Tyler est un vrai papillon mondain avec beaucoup trop d’amis. Mais voilà quand même ce que j’ai appris en étant sur le banc des invités dans tous ces mariages :

En tant qu’êtres humains, se marier est une des décisions les plus courageuses que nous pouvons prendre, puisque nous choisissons d’aimer ce qui est mortel.

Du coup, quels vêtements (ou quelle armure) choisir pour le moment le plus courageux de sa vie ?

Et bien Maura Walters, une de nos rédactrices, a demandé à quatre couples (dont Caitlin de notre équipe !) qui se sont mariés à la mairie comment ils s’étaient organisés pour prévoir et coordonner leurs tenues le jour J.

En termes de faste et de circonstances, ces mariages n’avaient rien à voir avec ce que nous avons pu voir la semaine dernière en Angleterre, mais ce qu’il y a de bien à propos des mariages c’est que, quels que soient que la taille et le coût de la cérémonie, au bout du compte c’est toujours deux personnes qui se jurent de s’aimer jusqu’à ce que la mort les sépare. Il en faut du courage. Et beaucoup d’amour.

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

Caitlin et Kris, mariage le 3 novembre 2017

Kris : On s’est mariés à la mairie donc on voulait faire quelque chose d’un peu original comme on avait aussi organisé un dîner plus formel où on portait des tenues classiques – j’avais un costume. On avait envie de funky donc on a réfléchi ensemble à nos tenues. On était tous les deux attirés par Gucci puisqu’on adorait les dernières collections donc on s’est concentrés dessus. Quand on a vu le costume que j’ai finalement choisi, ça m’a tout de suite parlé et pareil pour Caitlin.

Caitlin : C’est le look de Kris qui a inspiré le mien ! Il a acheté son costume en premier, très élégant et coloré, et je voulais le compléter. Il a très vite été évident que le meilleur match pour du Gucci était… un autre Gucci ! Et c’est parti de là. J’ai choisi une robe rouge parce qu’elle me semblait unique, et puis je ne me suis jamais vue comme une « mariée en blanc » traditionnelle. En plus, c’est une robe que je pourrais reporter, ce qui était important pour moi.

Tout le reste a suivi. Le sac est devenu mon « something blue », une pochette oversize en python – surprise ! Gucci (je pense que c’est la pièce centrale du look). Elle est décorée de magnifiques oiseaux brodés à la main et je l’ai portée chaque weekend depuis. Les boucles d’oreilles étaient de très grandes abeilles, ornées de perles, pour coordonner les oiseaux et les abeilles. Une paire de talons verts en velours achevait subtilement l’ensemble.

Au début, Kris n’était pas sûr de son choix de costume mais au fur et à mesure qu’il ajoutait des accessoires et que j’assemblais ma tenue, je ne pouvais plus imaginer qu’on se marie dans d’autres vêtements… C’était comme placer les millions de petites pièces d’un puzzle mode. Sa connaissance de la mode, hommes et femmes, fait partie des premières choses que j’ai remarquées chez Kris (et dont je suis tombée amoureuse !). Il a son propre style, aussi bien pour les costumes que pour des vêtements plus décontractés, qu’il a perfectionné avec le temps et sa tenue de mairie reflétait bien ses goûts fashion : un peu formel, un peu fantaisiste, du jeu sur la couleur et très attentif aux détails

Kris : C’est incroyable d’aller se marier à la mairie parce qu’on y croise des gens de tous les milieux. Ils viennent montrer leur amour à leurs amis et familles qui se marient. C’est vraiment intéressant de voir ce que les gens portent pour cette occasion, et on voulait se différencier, avoir l’air unique, mais aussi que nos tenues aillent bien ensemble.

Caitlin : Nos tenues étaient à l’image de notre relation : nous nous sommes appuyés l’un sur l’autre pour avancer, tester nos limites, s’améliorer et se donner confiance en nous (et mutuellement !).

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

Amanda et Hans, mariage le 12 Janvier 2018

Amanda : Les traditions n’ont pas vraiment d’importance pour nous donc me marier en robe noire me semblait parfait. J’ai ajouté une veste blanche au dernier moment. La veste en fourrure blanche n’était pas très pratique – il pleuvait ce jour-là donc la fourrure n’était peut-être pas une idée brillante. Mais un mariage à la mairie me paraissait un peu quelconque donc j’ai pensé que je pouvais être un peu extra dans ma tenue !

Hans : Je porte ce blazer pendant nos rendez-vous amoureux l’hiver et il m’évoque beaucoup de souvenirs. J’ai une photo de nous deux à notre arrivée à New York où je le porte, la fois où nous avions acheté des billets pour un ballet au mauvais horaire et où il a fallu en racheter.
Amanda : C’était probablement ma faute…

Hans : Le manteau est vraiment unique : mon grand-père l’a fait faire dans les années 50. Il est magnifique, en cachemire vintage et beaucoup trop grand pour moi mais je me résous pas à le faire reprendre à ma taille. Je crois que c’est plutôt à moi de m’adapter au manteau.

Amanda : Ma mère m’a offert des boucles d’oreilles, en allusion à mes racines sri-lankaises. La tradition sri-lankaise veut que les mariages soient une grande célébration où tout le monde est invité. Même si on prévoit une fête pour notre famille et nos amis, nous voulions que la cérémonie à la mairie soit intime, juste pour nous.

Hans : Quand j’y pense, nos tenues et notre allure me rappellent notre relation. On voit toujours l’aspect amusant des choses.

Amanda : Nous sommes restés ensemble 10 ans avant de nous marier, ce qui signifie que qu’on s’est vus grandir et qu’on s’est mutuellement aidés à passer de la case adolescents stupides à celle d’adultes responsables (le plus souvent). Je pense que dans nos looks comme dans notre mariage, on essaie de trouver un juste milieu entre le fun et le pratique.

City Hall Lovin’

Bogdana et Jason, mariage le 21 October, 2017

Bogdana : J’avais une robe style année 50 couleur crème pistache. Très simple, parfaitement adaptée à mes courbes. Je crois que c’était ce qui était si magique dans la mode d’Hollywood à l’époque.

Il n’y avait pas beaucoup de temps pour l’organisation du mariage donc il a fallu se décider assez vite sur les tenues, et en tenant compte du budget. Je ne trouvais rien sur internet qui ne soit pas une version bas de gamme de la robe de mariée classique donc j’ai exploré à peu près un million de boutiques à New York. Et j’ai finalement trouvé ma robe dans la toute dernière. Ils sont même allés la chercher dans leur stock pour moi ! Les chaussures, je les avais déjà : une vieille paire d’escarpins bleus en daim.

Jason: Il fallait absolument que mon costume soit fait sur mesure. La veste a été taillée sur mesure en Bourgogne (France), dans une couleur assortie aux yeux de la mariée. Évidemment je blague ! Tout venait de J. Crew.

Tout a commencé avec la robe de Bogdana. Ce n’est pas comme si on voulait à tout prix être assortis, mais on voulait quand même que nos looks aillent bien ensemble. Ses chaussures étaient bleu marine, la couleur idéale puisque c’est celle de 90% de ma garde-robe. Et puis, même si vos lecteurs passionnés de mode vont trouver mes goûts trop basiques, je suis convaincu que les vêtements J. Crew sont un parfait mélange de style et de facile à porter. Classe sans en faire trop.

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_10

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_9

Bogdana : Je portais une couronne de fleurs dans les cheveux, l’élément le plus original de ma tenue. Ma mère me l’avait donnée car c’est un accessoire essentiel dans le costume ukrainien traditionnel. Elle ne tenait pas vraiment donc je ne pouvais la porter que pour les photos. Mais j’essayais quand même de la faire tenir, comme dans les exercices des manuels d’étiquette. Ma mère avait cousu chaque fleur elle-même : elle avait découpé les bouts de tissus, les avait cousus et teints. Papa et Maman ne pouvaient pas venir au mariage donc elle voulait me donner quelque chose qui nous rassemblerait tous.

Jason : Je n’ai pas mis de cravate car j’ai grandi en Floride et que, dans tous mes souvenirs, les cravates sont des nœuds qui font transpirer. Mais j’ai quand même acheté une nouvelle paire de bottes pour le mariage. J’en avais déjà une paire assez similaire, confortable et déjà avec une belle patine mais des chaussures vernies à bout rapporté me semblaient plus appropriées pour un mariage. J’ai mis des chaussettes avec des flamands roses vifs parce que bon, la Floride. Et j’aime tellement ma femme que j’ai décidé de faire un immense effort et de porter ma chemise rentrée dans mon pantalon. Un sacrifice que je prévois de lui rappeler régulièrement. Et une fleur du bouquet de Bogdana en boutonnière.

Bogdana : J’ai toujours voulu une tenue de mariage discrète. Je n’ai jamais été fan des grandes histoires de conte de fées ou des robes de princesses. Je crois que j’ai toujours eu vision un peu plus concrète de cette journée. En plus ce matin-là j’allais présenter mon portfolio à l’école où je postulais avant de filer directement à la mairie. Il fallait que ma tenue convienne aux deux rendez-vous !

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_13

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_14

Evi et Kyle, mariage le 21 janvier 2016

Evi : Ma robe vient de Urban Outfitters ! Choix de dernière minute. J’ai essayé tellement de robes, et aucune dans laquelle je me sente bien. Disons juste que le blanc n’est pas ma couleur. J’avais besoin de me sentir libre, hors des clichés. J’avais 24 ans et, honnêtement, j’avais l’impression d’être rebelle en me mariant si jeune. Je crois que c’est ce que montre la robe. Je l’ai choisie parce qu’elle était élégante mais aussi simple. Je me sentais sûre de moi, stylée, mais j’avais aussi l’impression d’avoir fait une affaire ! Certes, on pourrait dire que porter des sandales et une robe courte en janvier n’était pas très pragmatique, mais je n’allais pas laisser la météo ruiner mon look.

Kyle : Je portais un costume noir à fleurs avec des chaussures violettes. Ultra voyant ! J’ai tout acheté à Macy’s. J’ai pris la tenue parce que je la trouvais cool – pas vraiment traditionnelle ou classique, ça correspondait tout à fait à mon style. J’aime les imprimés, les couleurs qui se remarquent. C’était très confortable et chaud, parfait pour l’hiver. En plus je me sentais moi-même, pas comme n’importe quel marié.

Evi: Kyle et moi adorons le style des années 70 et c’est ce que nous voulions montrer. J’ai choisi de porter des gardénias, ma fleur préférée : la mère de Kyle en a toujours fait pousser dans son jardin en Floride et ma grand-mère les adorait. Mon grand-père avait l’habitude de lui en offrir un bouquet tous les samedis. Leur intense parfum me fait toujours penser à leur amour.

City Hall Atelier Dore

5 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_1

City Hall Lovin’

3 months ago by

Tyler and myself have been together for 6 (feels like 17) years. At the end of this year we will have attended 28 weddings together (I know, he’s a real social butterfly with too many friends) and from sitting in attendance at all those weddings, this is what I’ve learned:

Getting married is one of the bravest choices we can make as humans because it involves choosing to love something that death can touch.

So how does one get dressed (or armor themselves) for one of the bravest moments of their life?

Well, our contributing writer, Maura Walters, asked four duos (including our very own Caitlin!) who all got married at City Hall, what kind of planning and coordination went into their outfits for the big day.

In terms of pomp and circumstance, these weddings were the opposite of what we all saw this past weekend in England, but the coolest thing about weddings is that no mater the size or cost of celebration, in the end it’s just two people pledging their love and lives to another. That takes guts. And a whole lot of love.

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

Caitlin and Kris, married November 3rd, 2017

Kris: We were getting married at city hall so we wanted to do something a little unique because we were also having a formal dinner where we wore the traditional attire — I wore a tux. We wanted to do something funky, so we worked on our outfits together. We were both drawn towards Gucci because we loved the recent collections so we focused on Gucci and when we saw the actual suit it definitely spoke to me and it spoke to Caitlin as well.

Caitlin: My look was inspired by Kris’s! He bought his suit first — which has a lot of flair and color to it — and I wanted to complement his. It became obvious that the best way to match Gucci is with…more Gucci! So that’s where we started. I chose the red dress because it felt special and I never saw myself as a traditional “white wedding” bride — also — you get more than one wear out of a piece like that, which is important to me.

Everything else followed. The bag became my “something blue,” an oversized clutch in python — and, surprise!, also Gucci (I think it’s the hero piece of the look). It’s embellished with these beautiful hand-woven birds, and I’ve worn it every weekend since. The earrings were oversized bees with delicate beading, so the birds and the bees were both in attendance. The finishing touch was a pair of green velvet heels that subtly rounded out the outfit.

At first Kris wasn’t sure about his suit choice but as he added accessories, and I pulled my outfit together, I don’t think we could imagine getting married in anything else… it was like completing a fun fashion puzzle with a million little pieces. One of the things I first noticed about Kris (and fell in love with!) was his appreciation for fashion, men’s and women’s. He has a very distinctive style — from suiting to weekend wear — which he’s perfected over the years and his City Hall look brought all the best parts of his fashion personality together: A little formal, a little whimsy, some play on color, and a lot of thought.

Kris: It’s so neat when you go into City Hall to get married because every walk of life is coming together to get married. People are there to express love for their friends and family who are getting married. It’s so interesting to see how everyone gets dressed up for that event in their lives, so we wanted to stand out and look a little unique but we also wanted our outfits to work with each other.

Caitlin: What we wore is indicative of our relationship: We push each other to evolve, to test boundaries, to be better, and to trust ourselves (and each other).

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

Amanda and Hans, married January 12th, 2018

Amanda: We’re not super traditional, so getting married in a black dress felt right. I added the white jacket at the last minute. The white fur jacket wasn’t the most practical–it was raining that day so fur maybe wasn’t the best choice. But getting married at city hall felt very practical, so I figured I could dial up the drama with my outfit!

Hans: I wore a blazer that I typically wear on holiday dates in the winter so it’s sort of nostalgic for me. I have a picture of us when we first moved to New York where I’m wearing it and we bought tickets for the ballet at the wrong time and had to buy another set.

Amanda: That was probably my fault…

Hans: The coat is pretty special as my grandpa had it made in the 1950s. It’s super nice, vintage cashmere and way too big for me but I can’t bring myself to get it tailored — I think I’ll just have to grow into it.

Amanda: The earrings were a gift from my mom – it was a nod to my Sri Lankan heritage, where traditionally weddings are a big life moment with everyone you know. We’re still planning to have a celebration for all of our family and friends but we wanted the city hall ceremony to be just for us.

Hans: Reflecting on what we wore it and how we look it reminds me of our relationship. We manage to find the fun in everything.

Amanda: We were together for 10 year before getting married, so we’ve witnessed and helped each other grow up from dumb kids to functioning adults (most of the time). I think in our outfits and our marriage, we try to find a balance of fun with practical.

City Hall Lovin’

Bogdana and Jason, married October 21st, 2017

Bogdana: I wore a 1950s inspired dress whose color I would describe as pistachio cream. It’s very simple, and fit my curves just right. I guess that’s what was so magical about that Old Hollywood era of fashion.

We didn’t have a lot of time to plan our wedding, so we had to make our styling decisions pretty fast, and on a budget. I couldn’t find anything online that wouldn’t be just a super cheap version of the standard wedding dress, so I scoured what felt like a million boutiques in NYC. I eventually found my dress at the last store I went to. They had to dig it out of the stock room for me! The shoes I already had: An old pair of blue suede pumps.

Jason: It was really important to me that my outfit be custom made. The bespoke sport coat was handcrafted in Burgundy, France, in a color that matched the bride’s eyes. Just kidding! It was literally all from J. Crew.

The starting point was Bogdana’s dress. It’s not that we were trying to be matchy-matchy, but we wanted our outfits to complement each other. Her shoes were navy blue, and since 90 percent of my wardrobe is navy blue, it felt perfect. Although your trendier readers may call me basic, I do think that J. Crew does a really good job of creating men’s clothing that’s the right balance of fashionable and practical. Like you’re putting in effort but not not trying too hard.

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_10

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_9

Bogdana: The most special element to my outfit was the flower wreath I wore in my hair. My mother made it for me, as flower wreaths are a staple of the traditional Ukrainian costume. It wouldn’t stay on my head properly, so I had to wear it for the photos only. But I still tried to keep it there, just like in those exercises with a book in etiquette lessons. My mom put together every flower herself, cutting out pieces of fabric, and sewing and dyeing them. Mom and Dad couldn’t make it to our wedding, so she wanted to give me something that would bring us all together.

Jason: I didn’t wear a tie because I grew up in Florida and my memories of ties are that they are knots for making you sweat. I did get a new pair of boots for the wedding. I had a similar pair of boots that were comfortable and had a nice worn-in look, but new shiny boots with a cap toe seemed more wedding appropriate. I wore socks with bright pink flamingos because, Florida. Since I love my wife so much, I decided I’d make a really big effort and keep my shirt tucked in. I plan to remind her regularly of my sacrifice. I used a flower from Bogdana’s bouquet as my boutonnière.

Bogdana: To me, modest wedding attire always made sense. I was never big on fairy tale love stories and princess outfits, so I guess my idea of this day was always more practical. Plus, that morning I had a portfolio review at the school I’d been applying to, after which I had to run straight to the City Hall. I had to make sure I was comfortable for both appointments!

City Hall Lovin’
City Hall Lovin’

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_13

lifestyle_city_hall_weddings_atelier_dore_14

Evi and Kyle, married January 21st, 2016

Evi: My dress is from Urban Outfitters! It was a last-minute pick. I tried so many dresses and didn’t feel comfortable with any of them. Let’s just say white isn’t my color. I needed to feel free, and outside of stereotypes. I was 24, and honestly getting married so young felt rebellious. I think the dress is a nod to that. I chose it because I thought it was elegant but also simple. I felt confident, stylish and also like I had found a bargain! I guess you could say it was not practical to wear sandals and a short dress in January, but I didn’t wanted the weather to ruin my style.

Kyle: I wore a black floral suit with purple shoes. It was very loud! I got everything at Macy’s. I chose the outfit because I thought it was cool—it wasn’t traditional or standard and it made sense for me cause that’s how I like to dress. I love prints and outstanding colors. It was super comfortable and warm, perfect for winter. Best of all, I felt like myself and not just another groom.

Evi: Kyle and I love 70’s style, and we wanted to show that off. I chose to carry gardenias, because they’re our favorite flower: Kyle’s mom always grew them in her garden n Florida, and my grandmother loved them: Every Saturday my grandfather would come home with a little bouquet for her. The fragrance is so strong and always reminds me of their love.

City Hall Atelier Dore

5 comments

Add yours
  • THIS IS PERFECT!

  • Les boucles d’oreilles “Abeille” de Caitlin et l’abeille brodee sur la cravate de Kris !
    Quel charmant detail.

  • Patricia Weiskopf May, 22 2018, 12:52 / Reply

    So beautiful and undiva-like brides and grooms! The beauty of Fashion and the elation of Love …
    exceptional. I love you, C and K!

  • harlot June, 16 2018, 9:46 / Reply

    This seems like a missed opportunity to include an LGBTQ+ couple!

  • Veronica June, 16 2018, 10:39

    we were planning on it till last minute their schedule conflicted! xx

From the Archives

#AtelierDoreDoes
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside