FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_13

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

3 months ago by

Photos Kate Berry
In Partnership with MATCHESFASHION.COM

Quand je pense aux Britanniques, j’imagine une certaine politesse et un respect de la tradition (peut-être à cause de la famille royale) mais aussi de l’excitation, de l’innovation et de la vitesse. Ces dernières qualités sont particulièrement visibles en ce qui concerne la mode. Londres est pleine à craquer de jeunes designers passionnants – Molly Goddard, Richard Quinn, JW Anderson, et Peterson Stoop, pour n’en citer que quelques-uns. Et c’est aussi la patrie de magazines inspirants qui repoussent les limites comme i-D, Dazed et LOVE. Même le Vogue anglais bouge beaucoup sous la nouvelle direction d’Edward Enninful.

Ce n’est donc pas une surprise que MATCHESFASHION.COM soit aussi né à Londres. Ce qui a commencé il y a 30 ans comme une petite boutique est aujourd’hui devenu l’un des plus grands (et des plus cools) distributeurs en ligne de mode dans le monde. Ils incarnent parfaitement l’énergie incessante et innovante de leur ville d’origine. Je ne connaissais que la version en ligne de MATCHESFASHION.COM donc quand ils m’ont invitée à découvrir leur nouveau concept de boutique et d’espace communautaire, 5 Carlos Place, j’étais vraiment impatiente de les voir dans leur élément et je n’ai pas été déçue !

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_16

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_11

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_12

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_10

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

Je suis arrivée à 5 Carlos à environ 9h30 le matin et tout était déjà pris dans un tourbillon. L’équipe (très mignonne et habillée de tenues qui provoquent la jalousie) était en train de s’activer. Ce matin-là ils accueillaient un évènement avec le British Fashion Council, des amateurs de shopping en balade étaient immédiatement accueillis par des vendeurs et l’équipe des installations montait et descendait en courant les escaliers (5 étages !), sans doute en train de préparer leur nouveau design. J’ai été accompagnée dans un café extrêmement chic au dernier étage (les Britanniques l’appellent le grenier et, évidemment, j’ai trouvé ça tout à fait charmant) en attendant que commence mon rendez-vous.

Quand j’ai rencontré Simone, directrice des partenariats de MATCHESFASHION.COM et mon guide pour la journée, elle m’a dit que l’animation que j’avais vue en bas était plutôt la norme. 5 Carlos n’est ouvert que depuis quelques semaines mais ils ont déjà accueilli plus d’évènements qu’elle ne peut se souvenir et ils ont transformé les étages de vente des douzaines de fois. Ce remue-ménage permanent est délibéré.

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_15

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_14

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

J’ai été frappée de constater pendant notre visite que 5 Carlos Place, tout en étant pleinement un magnifique bâtiment de briques et de béton, incarne vraiment le rythme rapide d’internet. Les équipes de MATCHESFASHION.COM ont conçu ce cadeau à leur communauté d’acheteurs comme un compliment par rapport à leurs espaces précédents à Londres. A n’importe quel moment, une partie de cet espace peut héberger le lancement d’une marque de vêtements ou d’un livre, une conversation informelle de designer pourrait se tenir dans le centre audiovisuel ou un dîner de célébration à la table du chef. Les étages supérieurs hébergent des cabines d’essayage extrêmement luxueuses pour les expériences de personal shopping, voire, dans des occasions particulières, simplement se retrouver en buvant du champagne. Des oeuvres d’art exclusives décorent les escaliers. Tout ou presque est achetable ou scannable sur iPhone.

Au-milieu de toute cette excitation, 5 Carlos Place procure surtout un espace physique d’inspiration, un centre de créativité. Je suis partie après ma visite en me sentant pleine d’énergie et impatiente d’absorber l’air frais londonien.

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON
A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON
A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

4 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Winter Skincare

Winter Skincare

Rebecca on Mercer

Rebecca on Mercer

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Jonathan Adler’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_13

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

3 weeks ago by

Photos Kate Berry
In Partnership with MATCHESFASHION.COM

When I think of the British, I think of a certain politeness and adherence to tradition (blame those royals, maybe), but I also think of excitement, innovation, and speed. The latter qualities are especially apparent when it comes to fashion. London is packed to the brim with exciting, young designers — Molly Goddard, Richard Quinn, JW Anderson, and Peterson Stoop, just to name a few. And it’s the home of inspiring and boundary-pushing magazines such as i-D, Dazed, and LOVE. Even British Vogue is shaking things up under the newfound leadership of Edward Enninful.

It’s no surprise then, that MATCHESFASHION.COM is a product of the London grind as well. What started as a boutique 30 years ago is now one of the biggest (and coolest) online fashion retailers in the world. They totally embody the restless and innovative energy of their home city. I’ve only been able to experience MATCHESFASHION.COM online so when they invited me to experience their new retail and community concept, 5 Carlos Place, I was really excited to see them in their element and was not disappointed!

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_16

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_11

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_12

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_10

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

I pulled up to 5 Carlos around 9:30 in the morning, and already it was a whirlwind. The (very cute and enviably well dressed) team was hustling. On that particular morning, they were hosting an event with the British Fashion Council, wandering shoppers were quickly greeted by sales associates, and the display team was running up and down the (5 flights of!) stairs, presumably prepping for their next redesign. I was escorted to an extremely chic cafe on the very top floor (the Brits called it the attic, which of course I found very charming) to wait for my meeting to start.

When I met Simone, MATCHESFASHION.COM’s Director of Partnerships and my tour guide for the day, she told me that the buzz I observed downstairs was pretty much the standard. 5 Carlos has only been open for a few weeks, but they have already hosted more events than she can remember, and converted the sales floors dozens of times. This hustle and bustle is intentional.

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_15

FASHION_5_CARLOS_PLACE_MATCHES_FASHION_LONDON_14

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

It struck me during our tour that despite being an intentional and beautifully designed brick and mortar space, 5 Carlos Place really embodies the fast pace of the internet. A gift to their community of shoppers, it was conceived by the MATCHESFASHION.COM team as a compliment to their pre-existing retail spaces in London. On any given day a part of the space could be hosting a new clothing activation or a book launch, an informal designer talk could be taking place in the broadcasting hub, or a celebratory dinner could be happening at the chef’s table. The upper floors are home to extremely luxe dressing rooms for personal shopping, or on some occasions, just hanging out and drinking champagne. The stairwells are dotted with exclusive art pieces. Most everything is shoppable or scannable via iPhone.

Amid all of the excitement, what 5 Carlos Place really provides is a physical space for inspiration and a hub for creativity. I left my tour feeling energized and excited to absorb the fresh London air.

A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON
A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON
A CREATIVE HUB IN LONDON

4 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

#AtelierDoreDoes
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • Happy Holidays!
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
Come Join us in Chile!

Come Join us in Chile!

The Art of Self Discovery

The Art of Self Discovery

A Week in Marrakech

A Week in Marrakech

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

Style Story / Jamie Pelayo

How To / Tell A Story

How To / Tell A Story

Rituals at the Hammam

Rituals at the Hammam

Georgia on the Go

Georgia on the Go

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside

Morgane Sezalory: A Freedom Inside