lifestyle_studio_visit_egg_collective_atelier_dore_2

Studio Visit / Egg Collective

1 month ago by

Faire de belles choses de ses mains, c’est toujours impressionnant. Surtout quand on a le souci d’une production responsable et de faire travailler l’artisanat local. Cerise sur le gâteau ? Trois femmes sont aux manettes de cette initiative, Egg Collective. Showroom et atelier basés à New York et créés par trois amies designers, Stephanie, Crystal et Hillary (qui ont étudié l’architecture, l’art est l’ébénisterie), Egg Collective met un point d’honneur à fabriquer des meubles beaux, qui ont du sens.

On a fait halte dans les deux espaces pour avoir un aperçu plus précis de leur environnement et discuter de ce qui continue à les inspirer dans leur processus de création.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

Vous pouvez nous en dire un peu plus sur Egg Collective et ce que vous faites ?
Egg Collective est une entreprise new-yorkaise créée par trois femmes designers, Stephanie Beamer, Crystal Ellis et Hillary Petrie.

Le concept de la société s’est développé après de nombreuses années d’amitié et de collaboration. On avait envie de créer un studio de design qui engloberait notre amour de l’artisanat, des arts et de la création, donc on a lancé Egg Collective avec la volonté de concevoir, de produire et de vendre notre propre ligne de meubles. A ce jour, on contrôle encore à 100 % ces trois branches de notre entreprise. Et on a à la fois un atelier et un showroom à NY.

D’où vient ce nom ?
Il est antérieur à notre société. Après être sorties diplômées de notre école d’architecture, on a toutes trouvé des jobs dans le design. Mais on voulait continuer à mener nos propres projets donc on a formé un collectif de design, on se rencontrait chaque semaine pour discuter de nouvelles idées et de prototypes. C’est à cette époque qu’on a décidé de donner un nom à ce travail. Egg Collective, c’est une référence à la création, la gestation, l’incubation de quelque chose qui n’est pas encore complètement abouti.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

Pourquoi l’artisanat local est-il si important à vos yeux ?
On a envie d’offrir à nos clients les meilleurs produits, et pouvoir suivre de près la fabrication d’un élément, c’est s’assurer qu’il sera fait à partir de matériaux de haute qualité, et dans un endroit où les gens ne sont pas exploités. On connaît les noms et les visages des gens qui fabriquent nos produits, ce qui est devenu très rare… mais pas impossible. Nous sommes tous des artisans, et tous les artisans locaux sont devenus nos collègues, on fait partie de la même communauté. On a envie de soutenir cette communauté, de s’inspirer d’elle.

Quel type de matériaux utilisez-vous et pourquoi ?
Notre vœu le plus cher, que nos meubles durent longtemps, donc on choisit des matériaux qui vieillissent bien. Bois, métal, verre, cuir… ce sont des matériaux qui sont utilisés depuis la nuit des temps, de base, mais qui sont aussi très nobles. On associe souvent matériaux et surfaces dans notre travail : on mélange une pierre mate avec un bois veiné, du métal poli… afin de bien mettre en valeur chaque matière et ses qualités.

Vous préoccupez-vous des tendances quand vous concevez de nouveaux meubles ?
On n’a pas d’œillères, mais on n’a pas envie de créer des pièces « à la mode ». Notre volonté, ça a toujours été de créer des pièces contemporaines… qui résistent à l’épreuve du temps.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

Où trouvez-vous l’inspiration ?
Partout. Nos plus grandes sources d’inspiration : la nature, l’architecture, l’art.

Vous avez eu une commande prestigieuse du New York City Ballet à vos tout débuts. Quelles sont les collaborations dont vous rêveriez aujourd’hui ?
Ça, c’était un projet de rêve… Phillip Johnson ! Le Lincoln Center ! Nous, étudiantes en architecture amoureuses de design, on était sur un petit nuage. Et sinon, on aime fantasmer sur de gros projets !

Marfa !

Le Getty !

Un gros projet de construction dans un endroit sauvage…

Un ranch.

Quelque chose pour les Obama.

Studio Visit / Egg Collective

6 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

New York Street Style
  • New York Street Style
  • Only the Essentials
  • Style stories
  • Hair
  • Studio Visits
  • Ibiza!
Elegant Alice

Elegant Alice

Modern Femme

Modern Femme

Something Old, Something New

Something Old, Something New

fashion sissy atelier dore photo

A Coffee Break with Sissy

fashion street style alyssa coscarelli atelier dore photo

Alyssa in the City

fashion street style ally walsh atelier dore photo

Ally in New York

fashion street style anahita moussavian atelier dore photo

Reevaluating the Ruffles

fashion street style silja atelier dore photo

The Summer Jumpsuit

The Lightness of Layering

The Lightness of Layering

lifestyle_studio_visit_egg_collective_atelier_dore_2

Studio Visit / Egg Collective

3 months ago by

Building beautiful things by hand is impressive. Coupled with an awareness for ethical production and the artistry of local makers, even more so. Cherry on top? The whole operation being run by three women. Meet Egg Collective. A New York based showroom and workshop founded by three friends and designers, Stephanie, Crystal, and Hillary (with backgrounds in architecture, art, and woodworking), Egg Collective is committed to making intentional, attractive furniture.

We stopped by both of their spaces to take a closer look at their environment and talk about what inspires them to keep creating.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

Can you tell me a little bit about Egg Collective and what you guys do?
Egg Collective is a New York-based design company established in 2011 by three female designers — Stephanie Beamer, Crystal Ellis, and Hillary Petrie.

The concept for the company was formed over many years of friendship and collaboration. We wanted to establish a design firm that would allow us to blend our love of craft, art, and the built environment so we launched Egg Collective with the goal of designing, manufacturing, and selling our own line of furniture. To this day we still maintain full control over all three of these branches of our business. We currently have both a woodshop and a showroom in NYC.

Where did the name come from?
The name predates the company. After we graduated from Architecture school, we all got jobs working in the design field. However, we wanted to continue to design our own work, so we formed a ‘design collective’ meeting once a week to discuss ideas and prototype work. It was during this time that we decided to put a name to what we were doing. Egg Collective references creation and the incubation of something that is not yet fully formed.

Why is local craftsmanship important to you?
We want to deliver the best product to our clients, and we believe that maintaining a close relationship to how an item is made ensures that it will be made out of high quality materials, and in a place where people aren’t being exploited. We know the names and faces of the people that make our products, which is rare at this point in time, but not impossible. We are craftswomen – local craftspeople have become our community and our colleagues. We want to support, and learn from, that community.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

Can you talk about the materials you use and why?
It is our utmost desire that our furniture will have a long life so we choose materials that will age well. We use wood, metal, glass, stone, and leather in our work. These are very ancient / primitive materials that are quite familiar yet can be very sumptuous. We often combine materials and surfaces in our work — mixing a matte stone, with an open grain wood and polished metal — in order to set each material apart and highlight its qualities.

How much do you guys pay attention to trends when you’re designing new pieces?
We don’t have blinders on, but we don’t want to create trendy items. Our ethos has always been to create items that are contemporary, but that will stand the test of time.

Where do you find inspiration?
All over. But the big sources for us are nature, architecture, and art.

lifestyle studio visit egg collective atelier dore photo

You had a really impressive commission early in your careers together with the NYC Ballet. As far as collaborations, what would be a dream match for you today?
That was a dream project — Phillip Johnshon! Lincoln Center! As students of architecture and design lovers, we were on cloud nine. As for the future, it’s fun to dream big.

Marfa!

The Getty!

An Earthwork somewhere wild…

A ranch.

Anything for the Obamas.

Being happily and successfully in business with friends or family is inspiring. What advice would you lend for anyone looking to explore that possibility?
Everyone told us don’t mix work with friendship, but we had been collaborating with each other for many years prior to starting the company. We knew each other’s work ethics. We knew each other’s strengths and weaknesses. And, we knew that we trusted one another fully. If you know all those things — go for it. If you don’t, perhaps you’re not ready yet.

Studio Visit / Egg Collective

6 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

In Her Words
  • In Her Words
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
lifestyle in her words tahiti atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Tahiti Huetter

lifestyle in her words caitlin weiskopf atelier dore photo

In Her Words: Caitlin Weiskopf

laura nolte in her words garance dore photo

In Her Words: Laura Nolte

In Her Words georgia graham grarance dore photo

In Her Words: Georgia Graham