pardon_my_french_joseph_altuzara_garance_dore_atelier_dore_1

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

7 days ago by

In Partnership With MATCHESFASHION.COM

Je suis toujours hyper impressionnée par les gens qui arrivent à pérenniser un succès fulgurant. Et puis j’ai toujours ressenti quelque chose de particulier pour Joseph Altuzarra. Pas simplement parce qu’il est français et adorable, mais aussi parce que ses créations ne parlent pas qu’aux initiés, elles sont pour toutes les femmes, de tous les âges.

Du coup, j’ai été hyper contente de pouvoir discuter avec lui à la soirée organisée par MATCHES à l’occasion des 30 ans de MATCHESFASHION.COM, à New York. C’était un moment passionnant, avec plein de gens fabuleux. Merci à MATCHES FASHION et sa super équipe pour sa précieuse collaboration et sa délicatesse dans l’organisation de cette rencontre ! Maintenant, je laisse la parole à Joseph !

podcast cover

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Pardon My French with Garance Doré
Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

00:00
00:00

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Sur la façon dont il s’habillait quand il était ado…
Je ne le dirai jamais assez. Ado, j’étais un vrai nerd. Je me sentais très différent des autres, je n’étais pas très bien dans ma peau. Je n’ai pas été un lycéen très heureux, et je crois qu’à un moment, je me suis dit que les vêtements pouvaient changer tout ça. J’avais déjà perçu le pouvoir sublimateur des habits… qui ne marchait pas vraiment sur moi. En fait, je portais déjà à peu près ce que je porte aujourd’hui. Mon style n’a pas beaucoup évolué depuis le lycée.

Ce job dans une agence de mannequins qui lui a permis de comprendre que la mode n’était pas frivole…
En fait, ça m’a permis de comprendre que la mode était un business. Une fois que j’ai saisi ça, que j’ai perçu cette sphère avec les rédacteurs, les RP, le retail… Tout ça m’a donné envie de travailler dans ce secteur.

A propos de son stage chez Marc Jacobs…
J’étais à la fac et je n’avais pas encore été diplômé. J’ai envoyé mon CV à pas mal de monde. J’ai reçu un appel de chez Marc Jacobs, ils avaient besoin de quelqu’un tout de suite, j’étais disponible, donc ils m’ont embauché. Après, je me suis rendu compte qu’ils classaient les CV qu’ils recevaient par ordre alphabétique. Heureusement, je m’appelle Altuzarra, je suis le premier qu’ils ont appelé !!

Travailler avec Riccardo Tisci…
J’ai rencontré Riccardo quand il était chez Givenchy, il cherchait un créateur. Rétrospectivement, j’ai eu beaucoup de chance qu’il me choisisse parce que j’étais très jeune, j’avais peu d’expérience et il m’a donné ma chance. J’ai commencé à travailler avec lui chez Givenchy. Ça a été une expérience merveilleuse, intense, et j’ai beaucoup appris, à la dure. Je crois que ma façon de penser et de travailler a été façonnée à ce moment-là.

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

Le dessin, constante artistique dans sa vie…
Depuis tout petit, j’ai toujours dessiné. Surtout des princesses. Il y a souvent un aspect mode dans mes dessins. Mon côté gay s’est aussi manifesté très tôt. Le dessin m’a toujours accompagné et m’accompagne encore aujourd’hui. Je pense 80 % de mon temps à dessiner, pour mon travail.

A propos de sa décision de lancer sa propre marque…
De manière très pragmatique, je me suis dit que j’étais encore relativement jeune, et que si ça ne marchait pas, ce ne serait pas la fin du monde. Je devais avoir 26 ou 27 ans, et comme j’avais l’énergie et la motivation, je me suis dit que c’était le bon moment !

Concernant les différences entre la France et l’Amérique dans la manière dont les femmes abordent la mode…
L’identité de la marque repose principalement sur cette double nationalité, française et américaine. Je pense que les françaises trouvent sexy d’aimer leur corps, quel qu’il soit. Et ça, c’est quelque chose de très important pour moi. La mode américaine est très pragmatique. C’est très compartimenté, il y a du sportswear, du workwear, … c’est ce mélange des deux cultures qui m’intéresse vraiment.

Sur l’importance de rester ouvert et à l’écoute quand on crée…
Dans la mode, on peut très vite se laisser enfermer… et oublier que les vêtements, au final, seront portés par d’autres. A Paris, je faisais très attention à cet aspect. Je voulais créer une marque, être à l’écoute et créatif, donner vie à une certaine vision, une silhouette, une idée chaque saison. Mais je voulais rester attentif, être capable d’aller en boutique discuter avec mes clientes, les femmes qui portent mes créations pour savoir ce qu’elles n’aimaient pas, ce qui n’est pas toujours évident à entendre, mais nécessaire.

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra
Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Sur sa première rencontre avec Anna Wintour…
Je suis allé à Paris vendre ma collection. J’étais censé rencontrer Anna à mon retour. J’ai pris un vol Air France, toute ma collection de 15 ou 20 pièces était dans la même valise. On était lundi, je voyais Anna le mardi, et Air France a perdu mes bagages. Evidemment, j’étais en mode panique totale, parce que ma valise avait été oubliée quelque part à l’aéroport de Paris, impossible de la retrouver. J’ai dû appeler Anna, annuler mon rendez-vous avec elle, ce que j’ai fait la mort dans l’âme. Elle en a fixé un autre dix jours plus tard, et j’ai récupéré mes bagages entre temps. Mais sur le moment, j’étais là : « NOOOON ! »

A propos des tendances…
A un moment, il faut savoir ce qu’on fait vraiment, qui sont nos clientes, identifier ce qui oui ou non cadre avec son identité. Ça vaut pour tout le monde au quotidien mais aussi quand on a son entreprise.

Concernant sa décision de publier son mariage dans Vogue…
Vogue avait envie de le couvrir, notamment parce que c’était le premier mariage gay à apparaître dans Vogue. D’un point de vue sociétal, je trouvais que c’était très important. Je trouvais ça super qu’on puisse montrer ça. J’ai reçu plein d’adorables messages de jeunes gays, de tout le pays, qui étaient hyper contents de voir un mariage gay dans Vogue. Eux aussi pouvaient imaginer se marier un jour. Ça a vraiment suscité de belles réactions.

Concernant sa préparation pour sa nomination aux CFDA…
Je n’avais rien préparé la fois où j’ai gagné, et le lendemain, j’ai reçu un e-mail de quelqu’un me proposant les services d’une personne pour m’aider à préparer mon texte la prochaine fois. En gros, il me disait que mon speech avait été nul !

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Un grand merci à MATCHES FASHION qui a rendu cet enregistrement possible. Pour découvrir Altuzarra et suivre la marque, c’est par ici !

List of other things we discussed…
Gypsy Sport
Harry Potter Series, J.K. Rowling
Sies Marjan
CFDA

4 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

The Skin You're In
  • The Skin You're In
  • In her words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
Flaws and All

Flaws and All

would you illustration garance dore

Would You?

beauty viva la bush sonia sieff garance dore photo

Vive le Bush!

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Living Raw with Mimi Kirk

Jaws

Jaws

Hands

Hands

Sun

Sun

Body Happy

Body Happy

Stranger Things

Stranger Things

pardon_my_french_joseph_altuzara_garance_dore_atelier_dore_1

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

2 months ago by

In Partnership With MATCHESFASHION.COM

I’ve always been impressed by anyone who can draw longevity from instant success. I’ve also always had a thing for Joseph Altuzarra. And not just because he is French and an absolutely delightful person, but because his designs don’t only speak to the fashion woman, they are for every woman, at every age of their life.

I was so happy to meet with him at the MATCHES event, at the occasion of MATCHESFASHION.COM 30th anniversary, in New York. It was quite the wonderful event, with a wonderful crowd. Thank you MATCHES FASHION and your amazing team for collaborating and making this happen in a most elegant way! and now, meet Joseph!

podcast cover

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Pardon My French with Garance Doré
Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

00:00
00:00

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

On how he dressed as a teenager…
I cannot stress how nerdy I was as a teenager. I think I felt very different, not very at ease with who I was. I didn’t have a particularly happy high school experience and so I think I had this feeling that clothes could somehow be a way to change that. I always had this sense that clothes had this transformative power, which in my case it didn’t necessarily do that. I actually wore more or less what I’m wearing today. My style hasn’t changed that much since high school.

On how a job at a modeling agency made him realize fashion wasn’t frivolous…
It did give me some insight into how fashion is actually a business. Once I got a sense that this is a place where business is done and there is an ecosystem, there are writers, PR and retailers, that made me really rethink wanting to work in the industry.

On interning for Marc Jacobs…
I was in college and hadn’t graduated yet. I sent out my resume to a lot of different people. I got a call from someone at Marc Jacobs, they needed someone right away and I was available, so they hired me. I realized later they had asked an intern to alphabetize the resumes they’d received, and thankfully, my last name is Altuzarra so I was the first one they called!

On working with Riccardo Tisci…
I ended up meeting Riccardo who was at Givenchy and he was looking for a designer. In hindsight, I feel incredibly lucky he chose me because I was relatively young, had very little experience and he just sort of took a chance on me. So I started working with him at Givenchy which was wonderful, intense and such a steep learning curve. I feel like in a lot of ways, my process and thinking was really shaped during that time.

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

pardon my french joseph altuzarra photo

On drawing being a creative constant in his life…
Since I was a kid, I always drew. I pretty much always drew princesses. So there was some fashion component in the drawings. I was also very obviously gay from very early on. Drawing was always a really big constant and still is. I spend 80% of my time now at my job drawing.

On deciding to go out on his own…
Honestly from a pragmatic point of view, I felt like I was relatively young and if it didn’t work, it wasn’t really the end of the world. I was either 26 or 27, I can’t remember, but I felt like, I have the energy now, so I should do it now!

On the difference between French and American women’s approach to fashion…
One of the biggest parts of the brand identity is the half French half American thing. I think French women feel it’s very seductive to love your body no matter what. That is something that’s very important to me. American fashion is very pragmatic. It’s a lot about separates, sportswear, workwear and it’s the melding of the two cultures that I’m very interested in.

On listening and being mindful when designing…
It’s very easy to get wrapped up in the fashion of it and not keep in mind your clothes are going to be on someone’s body. I was keenly aware of that when I was working in Paris. I wanted to start this company and have a process that was very mindful and creative and pushing a certain vision and silhouette and idea every season. But I wanted it to be a listening process as well and to have the lack of ego needed to go into a store and talk to your customers and talk to women who wear your clothes and what they don’t like about your clothes, which is always painful to hear but necessary.

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra
Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

On his introduction to Anna Wintour…
I went to Paris to sell the collection and was supposed to meet Anna when I got back from Paris. I was on an Air France flight and my entire collection of 15 to 20 pieces was in one suitcase. It was on a Monday and I was meeting Anna on a Tuesday and Air France lost my luggage. I was obviously in a full panic because the luggage had been left on the tarmac in Paris, they couldn’t locate the suitcase. I had to call Anna and cancel my appointment, which was soul crushing. She rescheduled for ten days later and they found my luggage, but in that moment, it was like NOOOO!

On following trends…
You have to know at a certain point what your business is and who your customer is and if something is right for you or not. That’s a really important lesson for anyone in every day life but also if you own a business.

On the decision to have his wedding in Vogue…
Vogue was interested in covering it and the idea that it was the first gay wedding in Vogue, from a societal point of view, I thought it was really important. I think it was great for people to see. And I’ve gotten a lot of really sweet messages from gay teens from around the country, saying, oh we’re so happy to see a gay couple in Vogue and it makes me feel like I can get married. We got such a wonderful, heartfelt response from it and that was really nice.

On preparing for his CFDA nomination…
I didn’t prepare anything the time I won and I actually got an email from someone the next day saying, if you need to work with someone for next time on a text, here is a number. Basically telling me my speech was awful!

Success in Style: Joseph Altuzarra

Special thanks to MATCHES FASHION for making this recording possible. Check out Altuzarra and follow the brand here!

List of other things we discussed…
Gypsy Sport
Harry Potter Series, J.K. Rowling
Sies Marjan
CFDA

4 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

On The Road
  • On The Road
  • In Her Words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
vacation garance dore photo

Vacation

Wide Open Road

Wide Open Road

kazu harry makino blonde redhead horse riding equestrian fall garance dore photos

Run Wild

Upstate team retreat Garance Dore studio photos

Smells Like Team Spirit!

road trip maine neada garance dore photos

Road Trip To Maine

road trip beauty photo garance dore

Beauty On The Road

Southampton Getaway

Southampton Getaway

hitting the highway road trip audrey hepburn garance dore photos

Hitting the Highway

upstate guide travel garance dore photos

Weekend Guide: Upstate