beauty_instagram_face_masks_atelier_dore_1

The Instagram Effect

2 months ago by

Un rapide classement des masques qui sont à la fois bons pour l’ego et l’épiderme… en fonction de vos priorités !

La semaine dernière, Chrissy Teigen apparaissait dans une Story Instagram. Simplement vêtue d’une serviette de bain, elle préparait un déjeuner tout simple, le genre de truc qui me prendrait, à moi, au moins cinq heures. Elle faisait remarquer face caméra : « J’aurais dû me faire un masque. »

Avec le côté éphémère des InstaStories qui limitent le risque de se ridiculiser avec un post gênant, il semblerait que tout le monde, depuis les célébrités jusqu’à vos collègues de bureau, se moquent de l’adage : « Il faut savoir garder sa part de mystère. ». Il suffit de faire une recherche par mot-clé #MaskMonday et vous verrez défiler devant vos yeux pléthore de photos et vidéos de femmes se badigeonnant le visage, toutes hyper à l’aise et radieuses.

J’avoue que je suis un peu jalouse de ces ego trips… mes rituels beauté quotidiens me faisant davantage ressembler à Gollum (oui, ce Gollum-là), une créature répugnante.

Il doit bien exister un masque qui soit à la fois efficace et serve de filtre dissimulant mes pores, mes rougeurs tout en mettant en valeur les traits de mon visage… comme ça, moi aussi je pourrai me pavaner. J’ai donc testé une série de masques allant de 1 à 10 sur l’échelle de l’efficacité et de l’Instagramabilité, dans l’espoir de ne pas finir en Gollum pour Halloween.

On va commencer par le plus esthétique de tous, le fameux Moon Mask de Glossier. Avec sa texture veloutée, le masque pénètre dans la peau et procure une hydratation en profondeur qui laisse le sentiment d’avoir la peau aussi rayonnante que celle d’une nymphe. En revanche, pour les selfies, faites vite, car l’effet du masque se dissipe à mesure qu’il sèche, et vous laisse avec une tout autre impression faciale. Instagramabilité : 7. Efficacité : 10.

Le masque à l’argile de L’Oréal est aussi gluant que la boue et refroidit immédiatement au contact de la peau. Il a une fabuleuse odeur de concombre et sa teinte charbonneuse a miraculeusement fait ressortir mes traits… depuis, j’ai encore plus envie de murs couleur charbon dans ma chambre, typiquement le genre de couleur sourde et neutre qui met en valeur à peu près tout le reste. L’inconvénient : le masque est tellement adhérent qu’après avoir frotté son visage pour s’en débarrasser, on ressemble davantage à un pamplemousse épluché à vif qu’à une des sœurs Hadid. Instagramabilité : 10. Efficacité : 5.

Pour moi, le masque au curcuma et aux noyaux de Cranberry de Kiehl’s , c’est un peu la Honda des soins pour le visage. Prix raisonnable, pour tous types de peau, qui illumine le teint dès la première utilisation. Il contient des noyaux de cranberry pour le côté exfoliant qu’on peut voir et sentir quand on applique le produit. Vraiment idéal, à part pour la couleur, puisque je reste persuadée que personne n’est à son avantage avec le teint orangé. Instagramabilité : 5. Efficacité : 8.

La toujours très avisée Nora Ephron a dit : « Quand on glisse sur une peau de banane, les gens trouvent ça drôle parce qu’ils se moquent de vous. Quand c’est vous qui racontez que vous avez glissé sur une peau de banane, c’est vous qui êtes drôle. » L’équivalent contemporain de cette phrase, c’est le selfie avec masque en feuilles. Vous serez à peu près aussi sexy qu’Hannibal Lector. D’ailleurs vous serez l’incarnation d’Hannibal Lector avec votre visage figé par la peur de voir votre masque se décoller pour atterrir dans le bol de soupe posé en équilibre précaire sur votre ventre pendant que vous regardez Netflix. Franchement, je vous encourage à prendre et à partager ce selfie, pour vous approprier ce moment d’auto-dérision.

Puis-je vous suggérer le Three Piece Sheet Mask Set de Peach and Lily ? J’adore ces masques proposés en trio, chacun d’eux promettant un effet unique : “Hydrater et nourrir”, “Lifter et repulper”, “Apaiser et régénérer”. Ensemble, ils ont réussi à maîtriser les accès de folie de ma peau en phase d’éruption hormonale mensuelle. D’ailleurs, j’aimerais être aussi ponctuelle que mes boutons sur le menton. Instagramabilité : 9. Efficacité : 10.

Finalement, le plus instagrammable de tous ces masques en est à peine un. Le masque pour les lèvres au collagène de KNC est donc un soin pour les lèvres boosté au collagène censé repulper, adoucir et exfolier les lèvres. Dès qu’il est en place, on ressemble vaguement à une lointaine cousine des Kardashian, joli rappel de l’absurdité de la situation. Vous aurez envie de rigoler, et vous entendrez presque la voix de Kris vous encourageant à prendre quelques selfies. Le masque prépare si bien les lèvres à la pose d’un rouge à lèvres voyant que vous vous risquerez à prendre une photo qui viendra alimenter votre feed permanent. Instagramabilité : 10. Efficacité : 10.

Shop the story

4 comments

Ajouter le votre
  • Love the humor in this ? Glossier moon mask is my favorite .
    I keep my pampering to myself – no instagramming!

  • This post has humor and wit ! I enjoy getting out the food processer and making natural face masks .
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

  • Ahahahah :-)
    Merci !!!! Super post super marrant !
    Personnellement je ne suis pas une grande fan des masques, je déteste l’effet de sécheresse du masque qui sèche sur la peau..
    Bisous !

  • Fun take on the intersection of gram-worthy and effectiveness. I’ll take 10’s in effectiveness any day, since I don’t ‘gram my masking, but someone’s gotta do it :)

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoréDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

Deb Watson’s Guide to Giving

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats

beauty_instagram_face_masks_atelier_dore_1

The Instagram Effect

3 weeks ago by

Last week Chrissy Teigen appeared on her Instastory in nothing but a bath towel while whipping up a casual lunch that would probably take me five hours to prepare. She remarked to the camera, “I feel like I should have a face mask on.”

With the disappearing act of Instastories mitigating the risk of an embarrassing post, it seems everyone is forgoing the outdated beauty notion, “Don’t let them see how the sausage is made.” Instead a quick scroll on any given #MaskMonday will deliver a woman mugging in a facemask and looking damn good while doing it.

I find myself jealous of this preening as my weekly beauty routine renders me looking like Gollum (yes that Gollum), a small, slimy creature that survives on cave fish.

There must be a face mask that can deliver results and act as a de facto filter to hide my pores, obscure my blemishes, and frame my features, so I can peacock with the best of them. I rated a slew of masks on a scale of 1 to 10 for both effectiveness and Instagramability, in the hope that I can be more Chrissy and less Gollum.

First up, perhaps the most Instragrammed mask ever, Glossier’s Moon Mask. With the consistency of lotion, this mask soaks into your skin for a crazy deep hydration that leaves you as dewy as a wood nymph. But snap those selfies fast because the mask dissipates as it hydrates, leaving you with something that, ahem, resembles a different kind of facial. Instagramability: 7. Effectiveness: 10.

L’Oreal’s Clay Mask is as gloriously goopy as mud and cools instantly upon contact with your skin. It has a delicious cucumber-laden-spa scent and the charcoal color made my features pop and furthered my want for a charcoal walled bedroom as charcoal is one of those selfless colors that makes everything around it look better. The downside, the mask adheres so much to your skin that after scrubbing your face to remove it you resemble a peeled grapefruit rather than a Hadid sister. Instagramability: 10. Effectiveness: 5.

I like to think of Kiehl’s Tumeric and Cranberry Seed Mask as the Honda of facemasks. Reasonably priced, works on all skin types, and consistently brightens skin after a single use. The mask contains exfoliating cranberry seeds you can see and feel as you spackle it on. This sucker has got everything going for it except its color, as I stand by my belief that no one looks their best in orange. Instagramability: 5. Effectiveness: 8.

The all-knowing Nora Ephron said, “When you slip on a banana peel, people laugh at you. But when you tell people you slipped on a banana peel, it’s your laugh.” A modern day equivalent of this expression is a sheet mask selfie. You will look about as sexy as Hannibal Lector. You will feel about as sexy as Hannibal Lector. Basically you will be Hannibal Lector as your face is frozen in fear of the mask slipping off into your bowl of soup that is balancing precariously on your chest while you lay in bed and Netflix. I urge you to take and share this selfie to own this thoroughly modern moment and laugh.

May I suggest Peach and Lily’s Three Piece Sheet Mask Set? I love that these masks come in a trio, each promising to deliver something specific from “Drench and Nourish,” to “Lift and Plump,” and “Soothe and Restore.” Together they held my hand and coddled my skin brilliantly during my right-on-time-monthly-hormone-induced-outbreak. If only I was as punctual as my chin zits. Instagramability: 9. Effectiveness: 10.

But after all my peacocking and posing, the mother of all Instagramable masks is barely a mask at all. The KNC Collagen Lip Mask is a collagen filled lip mask aimed to plump, smooth and exfoliate your lips. Upon placing it on your lips you will resemble a long lost cousin of the Kardashians with just the slightest wink to the absurdity of it all. You will want to laugh at yourself, a lot, as you practically hear Kris murmuring in your ear to snap a few selfies. The mask preps your lips for a night of bold lipstick so well that you’re guaranteed to snap a photo worthy enough for the prestige of the permanent feed. Instagramability: 10. Effectiveness: 10.

There you have it! A brief ranking of face masks for the ego and epidermis. You know, depending on your priorities.

Shop the story

4 comments

Add yours
  • Love the humor in this ? Glossier moon mask is my favorite .
    I keep my pampering to myself – no instagramming!

  • This post has humor and wit ! I enjoy getting out the food processer and making natural face masks .
    Jandrew
    Dress The Part
    http://www.jandrewspeaks.com

  • Violaine October, 5 2017, 6:43 / Reply

    Ahahahah :-)
    Merci !!!! Super post super marrant !
    Personnellement je ne suis pas une grande fan des masques, je déteste l’effet de sécheresse du masque qui sèche sur la peau..
    Bisous !

  • Fun take on the intersection of gram-worthy and effectiveness. I’ll take 10’s in effectiveness any day, since I don’t ‘gram my masking, but someone’s gotta do it :)

From the Archives

New York Street Style
  • New York Street Style
  • Three looks
  • Career Stories
  • Morocco!
  • Only the Essentials
  • Style Stories
fashion street style madelynn furlong atelier

Madelynn at The James

Do You Uniform?

Do You Uniform?

Elegant Alice

Elegant Alice

Modern Femme

Modern Femme

Something Old, Something New

Something Old, Something New

fashion sissy atelier dore photo

A Coffee Break with Sissy

fashion street style alyssa coscarelli atelier dore photo

Alyssa in the City

fashion street style ally walsh atelier dore photo

Ally in New York

fashion street style anahita moussavian atelier dore photo

Reevaluating the Ruffles