beauty_braids_atelier_dore_1

Head Games

3 weeks ago by

Photos Asia Typek

Le temps, chaud, lourd et humide donne souvent à mes cheveux un air pas très frais, et encore je suis gentille. Quelques mèches folles s’agitent dans la brise humide avant de retomber, complètement raplapla sur mon visage moite… une réussite, on se sent tout de suite au top !

C’est là que j’ai vu, comme une intervention divine, cette fille sublime à la Fashion Week australienne qui portait les cheveux tressés sur le front. Ça m’a rappelé la tresse oblique de Garance quand elle était en pleine phase critique de repousse de cheveux. Ou Lexie, avec sa tresse sur la partie supérieure de la tête, assez similaire à celles-ci… de quoi achever de me convaincre qu’on tient une tendance.

La météo estivale appelle des solutions qui évitent aux dits cheveux de coller au dit visage… et peut-être celle-ci ne réside-t-elle pas exclusivement dans la queue de cheval. Avec Natalie, on a essayé de décider si la tresse frontale était facilement réalisable : genre, est-ce qu’on est capables de faire ça toutes seules sans problème ? Moi, je pense que oui, elle n’en est pas si sûre. On a aussi toutes les deux un peu peur de ressembler à des figurantes de Game of Thrones (j’utilise cette référence en imaginant qu’il y a certainement plein de gens aux cheveux tressés en arrière-plan mais je ne les ai jamais vus dans la série).

Bref, si je n’arrive pas à maîtriser l’art de la tresse, mon blanc B, c’est de ressusciter le head-band extra-large : il pourra dompter ma chevelure et me donner un petit air de Kate Moss (ou n’importe quel mannequin d’ailleurs), circa 1990.

Au fait, ma mère me tressait les cheveux en couronne quand j’étais petite… parfois même en forme de cœur… une fois, elle avait même intégré un ruban dans la tresse. C’était génial. Et un peu bizarre. C’est peut-être ce qui a inconsciemment déclenché cette passion soudaine. Bon… tout ça ne m’aide pas à savoir si je suis capable de tresser mes cheveux comme ça.

Shop the story

6 comments

Ajouter le votre

From the Archives

On The Road
  • On The Road
  • In her words
  • French Gurus
  • Wellness
  • 10 Years of the Site
  • Pardon My French
vacation garance dore photo

Vacation

Wide Open Road

Wide Open Road

kazu harry makino blonde redhead horse riding equestrian fall garance dore photos

Run Wild

Upstate team retreat Garance Dore studio photos

Smells Like Team Spirit!

road trip maine neada garance dore photos

Road Trip To Maine

road trip beauty photo garance dore

Beauty On The Road

Southampton Getaway

Southampton Getaway

hitting the highway road trip audrey hepburn garance dore photos

Hitting the Highway

upstate guide travel garance dore photos

Weekend Guide : Upstate

beauty_braids_atelier_dore_1

Head Games

7 months ago by

Photos Asia Typek

Hot, muggy weather often leaves the hair atop my head feeling less than fresh, and that’s a generous description. A wild display of hair dancing to and fro in the sticky wind before frantically settling onto my also sticky face – it’s pure delight and great for getting attention.

But then, like divine intervention, I saw this gorgeous girl at MBFWA with her hair twisted and braided across her forehead. It reminded me of the mini side braid Garance wore while she was in the difficult phase of growing her hair out. Or like Lexie’s middle/top of the head braid, quite similar to these, further convincing me that they are onto something…

Anyway, my point is, the impending summer weather calls for options for keeping said hair off said face, and maybe the answer is not simply in a ponytail. Natalie and I were trying to decide if this front braid was achievable on your own – as in, could we actually do it? I say yes, she isn’t so sure. We both are a little concerned that the attempt may result in us looking like a couple of extras from Game of Thrones (I use this reference assuming there are people in the background with braids. It should be noted, I have never actually seen the show.)

If I can’t master the braid, plan B is to bring back the extra wide jersey headband to, at the very least, take charge of my hair, and at the very most, look like Kate Moss (or any supermodel) in the 90s.

By the way, my mom used to braid crowns into my hair, sometimes even in the shape of a heart, and one special occasion that involved a ribbon braided through. It was awesome. And weird. And perhaps the subconscious catalyst to this current contemplation. And definitely doesn’t answer the question: can I actually braid my hair like this?

Shop the story

8 comments

Add yours

From the Archives

Winter Wonderland
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Happy Holidays!
  • #AtelierDoreDoes
  • How To...
  • Things I Learned
  • Three looks
Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

Deb Watson’s Guide to Gifting

The Gift of Giving Gifts

The Gift of Giving Gifts

fashion this or that gloves atelier dore photo

Pick a Hand

Long Coat Lovin’

Long Coat Lovin’

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

How to Wear A Dress in the Winter

gloves winter details accessories garance dore photos

Gloves!

parkas militaire winter chiara baschetti fashion street style garance dore photos

Parkas Militaires

garance dore the coats fw 2015 street style photos

My Coats